6/9 Shiloh ~ AMBG 57, +5 62, +10 71, PMPS 82, +2.5 108

Status
Not open for further replies.
I don't like skipping the shots, but when I have appointments all morning and have to go to a different office 45 minutes away this afternoon, I don't feel comfortable giving it to her. I REALLY wish she would share her agenda with me!
 
Thanks, Carla. I spoiled her last night, bringing the food to her rather than making her get up and eat. When it was time for breakfast, she didn't want to get up and looked at me like, "What? No breakfast in bed?"
 
If I wouldn't be home to monitor, I would have skipped as well.....She will get back on track before you know it :)
 
Very wise choice. I think there's a good chNce had you not skipped due to low numbers before she would have earned s reduction. She continued on like she got the shot last time. I don't give dosing advice but I wonder if she needs a reduction so you can shoot every 12 hours. No way would I have given her s shot today.
 
I really think that he could use a reduction but I'm not always right about that. To surf this well with a skipped dose would make me be afraid to continue with the current dose without hourly testing. I would want some of the experienced folks to look at your ss before shooting tonight. She is responding so well to the insulin. :):D
 
It might take a little time for the depot to drain after you skip a shot. I'm not surprised she's still green mid cycle. You may see higher numbers at PMPS.

This dose is really working well for Shiloh. I think an occasional skip is not a big deal.

While the protocol shows below 50 for the reduction, if you have to leave and be gone a lot, you might want to consider dropping the dose to something you can safely shoot every 12 hours....perhaps 2.5u? Keep in mind that if you elect to do that, her numbers might go up. If you see that trend, you want to get the dose back up right away to keep her from losing momentum.

She's been in the 50s a few times on this dose so she might be thinking about a reduction anyway, hard to say.

It's definitely your decision.
 
See. I'm wrong again. My reasoning was that she had to skip twice on this dose recently which made me think if she dropped the dose a little she could shoot every 12 hours. What am I missing? How do you decide?thanks Marje.


It might take a little time for the depot to drain after you skip a shot. I'm not surprised she's still green mid cycle. You may see higher numbers at PMPS.

This dose is really working well for Shiloh. I think an occasional skip is not a big deal.

While the protocol shows below 50 for the reduction, if you have to leave and be gone a lot, you might want to consider dropping the dose to something you can safely shoot every 12 hours....perhaps 2.5u? Keep in mind that if you elect to do that, her numbers might go up. If you see that trend, you want to get the dose back up right away to keep her from losing momentum.

She's been in the 50s a few times on this dose so she might be thinking about a reduction anyway, hard to say.

It's definitely your decision.
 
See. I'm wrong again. My reasoning was that she had to skip twice on this dose recently which made me think if she dropped the dose a little she could shoot every 12 hours. What am I missing? How do you decide?thanks Marje.

Actually, Elise, Marje suggested the same thing you did - consider dropping the dose a bit so she could shoot every 12 hours!
 
Actually, Elise, Marje suggested the same thing you did - consider dropping the dose a bit so she could shoot every 12 hours!

But at first she said the dose was really working and an occasional skipped dose wouldn't be so bad. I got the impression that decreasing would take longer to reach her goal?
 
Ok. Her PMPS (a little early, but wanted a chance to ask for advice), 82. I think that I am going reduce to 2.5 and see how she does. I don't think I can handle another night last night. I have a 1 and 1/2 hour drive first thing in the morning.

ETA: I hope that doesn't sound selfish.
 
I just don't know what to do. I have suffered from insomnia for years, and thought I was handling it, but I'm exhausted, and on the verge of tears because I don't know what to do. If I don't give her a shot, I know I don't have to worry about her going low and I can try to get a full night's sleep, but what is that going to do to her progress?
 
As a fellow insomniac, I'd read Marje's comment again on dropping to 2.5 and see what happens. You can always go back up if her numbers trend back up.
 
Rhonda, you gotta take care of you, so you can take care of Shilo. :bighug: I was burnt out last night and though I was pretty sure Neko would be safe, I got the sleep I needed. Sometimes you just have to do that. Skipping, while not ideal, is sometimes what you have to do. Then go to the 2.5U dose tomorrow.
 
Ok. You won't be any good to Shiloh or yourself or your family this way. I really would consider reducing and see what happens. Last time you didn't even see a bounce like I would have expected. Just my opinion of course. :bighug:
 
Well, it's in. I don't know why I am having such a hard time. I shot an 80 and 81 the other day, so why is this different!??

ETA: Have any of y'all ever felt this way?
 
You've got to take care of yourself or you won't be able to take care of Shiloh. Sometimes we just have to skip a shot or shoot a reduced shot to get the sleep we need. Don't feel bad if you need to. There are times I still get nervous shooting low numbers. Hang in there. You're doing great. :bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks guys. I don't know what I would do without you. I'm going to go lay down and try to get a couple of hours of sleep, and have hubby wake me up about 9:30 so I can get a check.
 
Well, it's in. I don't know why I am having such a hard time. I shot an 80 and 81 the other day, so why is this different!??

ETA: Have any of y'all ever felt this way?
Feel free to read pretty much any one of my condos for the first six months of my posting....I was a wreck! Even shooting numbers in the 200s....As you get more testing in and can get a feel for what Shiloh looks like on insulin, it will help feel more comfortable and confident shooting lower numbers, reducing, keeping doses etc

and have hubby wake me up about 9:30 so I can get a check.

Is the hubby able/willing to learn how to test and help out some?
 
But at first she said the dose was really working and an occasional skipped dose wouldn't be so bad. I got the impression that decreasing would take longer to reach her goal?
Elise...I like to spell out what I actually see and what the protocol states but also give an option if the CG has concerns for safety or is just exhausted. You did absolutely great with your suggestion!

Rhonda...yes, we've all felt this way. I had times when Gracie was on Lantus (and sometimes on lev) where I didn't know how I was going to get through the day I was so exhausted. Wendy is correct that you must take care of yourself. I've shot thinking Gracie would go up and she didn't and I fed the curve to bring her numbers up so I could get some sleep. It's not only so you can take care of her but your health over the long term is crucial.

I agree with Molly...is it possible your DH can help? I don't know what I'd do without mine because Gracie likes to surprise us. We have a great system where we both can get sleep but still be sure she is safe.

I hope you get some rest.
 
I doubt there is anyone here who hasn't felt exhausted here or there (or more than that!) and we all understand that sometimes you gotta take care of yourself first. As exhausting & emotional as this phase with Shiloh must be, at the same time be encouraged that he's doing so well.

When a kitty goes all green like this, we take our cues from the cat. Some kitties go down the dosing scale very quickly - some take their own sweet time.

I hope you can get some rest tonight. Sending "surf flat" vines to mr Shiloh! You shot an 80 day before yesterday in the morning and he had a perfect cycle. Let's hope that happens again tonight.
 
{{{Rhonda}}}

You would not be human if this weren't stressing you out. You are doing a fantastic job! Shiloh didn't get back on track tonight because she never got off track. It's like that skipped shot never happened. That is totally awesome.

Everyone else has said it, but it bears repeating: You have to take care of you, or you're no good to Shiloh (or anyone else). She's shown you she can handle a skipped shot, so a reduced dose should be a piece of cake. But even if she goes up now, you have not failed her!!!! It's still early in the dance for you two, and you are learning how she reacts. Data is good! I hope you are getting some sleep. :bighug:
 
I did get a +2 1/2, 108. Got some sleep and feel better this morning. Going to start today's condo. Thank you all again for the words of support!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top