6/9 Rosy AMPS 373/ 5 272 PMPS 153/ 2 250/ 5 166

Status
Not open for further replies.

tortie58

Member Since 2012
Previous
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=72694
Yesterday: Rosy's 8th cycle on the redced dose to a s1u ended in her failure to hold. During these 8 cycles, she hardly had any blue numbers. Mostly in purple with a bit of blue, PS number raised to red. Dosecreased at PM back to her last good dose which is 1u; the increment is approx 0.15u.
Today: Happy Saturday! A hot & sunny weekend, last night we had heavy rain but that did not bring the temp down.
In Tortieland there are 4 dry food junkies still insisted on their daily dry knibble. I let them all have their canned breakfast, afterwards need to give dry food to those 4 . But since dry knibble is still available, some come after finished their canned. I have to be very careful to take away their bowl after finished so that Rosy cannot get to it. I dont know how Ive managed , but so far still surviving! :roll: It's so tempting to just give in to what everybody in HK's doing. That's letting their DM cats eat anything while trying to control with high dose of insulin. Home testing? Even my vet said I am crazy to do it daily!
AMPS 373 gave canned breakfast & 1u

:?: Rosy was dx around Christmas last year. She was in pretty bad shape then; lost weight, excessive drinking. Her bg taken at the vet office was 400+ precribbed Lantus on 1u SID. Gradual increased to 3u BID in Fed still with free feeding on dry knibbles... Switched to all canned since March '12 after I found info from this forum.
I would like to know how would a cat consider newly dx'd? Within 6 mths?
 
Re: 6/9 Rosy AMPS 373 How is it considered newly dx'd

We consider a cat to be newly diagnosed if the cat is within a year from the date of diagnosis.
 
Re: 6/9 Rosy AMPS 373 How is it considered newly dx'd

Sienne and Gabby said:
We consider a cat to be newly diagnosed if the cat is within a year from the date of diagnosis.

Thanks Sienne! So Rosy still got that 6 mths before she becomes "an experienced sugarcat" :lol:
 
Re: 6/9 Rosy AMPS 373/ 5 272 PMPS 153

Morning and a nice blue for Rosy! Yum, steamed chicken! I think Maggie wants some of it. Have a nice day.
 
Re: 6/9 Rosy AMPS 373/ 5 272 PMPS 153

Hi Helen,
Too bad Rosy didn't hold the reduction, but she wasn't ready and she's in control, so you just have to go along! I'm sure you'll see some better numbers now that she's back on her previous dose.
Good luck with your 4 kibble addicts! It's amazing how much the switch to wet food contributed to Rosy's better numbers. Keep up the good work. And yes, you have 6 more months before Rosy is "experienced"!

Have a good weekend. It sounds hot there in Hong Kong. I'm hoping it won't be too hot in NYC when we go there next Wednesday (here in the mountains it never really gets hot, but it does in the city).

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 6/9 Rosy AMPS 373/ 5 272 PMPS 153

Hi Helen,

Sounds like we have similar households! We have four cats as well. 3/4 eat kibble once a day and we have to be on Ella alert so she doesn't get into any. Sometimes she runs out of her room and straight to Nestor's bowl to grab a nibble. She's a dry food addcit at heart.

Sorry to hear that Rosy didn't hold her reduction. She will let you know when she wants to try again:)

Wishing you a nice weekend!
 
Re: 6/9 Rosy AMPS 373/ 5 272 PMPS 153

Ann & Maggie11 said:
Morning and a nice blue for Rosy! Yum, steamed chicken! I think Maggie wants some of it. Have a nice day.

Thanks Ann, Im sure Rosy would love to have Maggie share their steamed chicken!

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) said:
Hi Helen,
Too bad Rosy didn't hold the reduction, but she wasn't ready and she's in control, so you just have to go along! I'm sure you'll see some better numbers now that she's back on her previous dose.
Good luck with your 4 kibble addicts! It's amazing how much the switch to wet food contributed to Rosy's better numbers. Keep up the good work. And yes, you have 6 more months before Rosy is "experienced"!

Have a good weekend. It sounds hot there in Hong Kong. I'm hoping it won't be too hot in NYC when we go there next Wednesday (here in the mountains it never really gets hot, but it does in the city).

Ella & Rusty


Yes Ella, they are always in control! We are the passanger who got to ride along. Hope you will have an enjoyable trip in NY, bet the city is much hotter!

tpr said:
Hi Helen,

Sounds like we have similar households! We have four cats as well. 3/4 eat kibble once a day and we have to be on Ella alert so she doesn't get into any. Sometimes she runs out of her room and straight to Nestor's bowl to grab a nibble. She's a dry food addcit at heart.

Sorry to hear that Rosy didn't hold her reduction. She will let you know when she wants to try again:)

Wishing you a nice weekend!

Thanks Tamara! There are 21 cats in my home. This is a full house already!


PM+2 250
+5 166 gave canned supper
 
Good luck with the dosecrease, Helen. I hope it gets Rosy back in good numbers.

You are such a great mamabean to not do what others do. I wonder how many of them find their kitties in hypos? How sad.

I hope you have a great day!
 
Marjorie and Gracie said:
Good luck with the dosecrease, Helen. I hope it gets Rosy back in good numbers.

You are such a great mamabean to not do what others do. I wonder how many of them find their kitties in hypos? How sad.

I hope you have a great day!

This is so true Majorie. I was very pissed off with the attitude of the "best" feline vet in HK. She scolded me for making things complicated with those home testing! And this is not the only vet we've visited with Rosy. Yes, scolded. When I asked about Rosy's clean blood test results, She said Rosy is not a healthy cat. She's DM & anything can happen to her which will cause sudden death. That will sure clear her off any responsibility if anything happen to our DM cat while on insulin w/o home testing as instructed. This is really amazing. Yes, people here are busy but still we have the right to know & choose what's best for our cats' safety. I am not surprised when friends around me said DM kitties in HK seldom live for more than 2, 3 yrs.
 
Helen, much better numbers this evening. I can't believe how you are surviving with everything you have to keep up with. I would love to see a picture of all of your kitties!

You are doing such a great job with Rosy, especially since most vets in HK don't believe in homestesting. What a shame, but wonderful that you stood up to them and are doing what is the right thing for Rosy.

Stay cool!! It has not been as hot as usual here the last few days so I am enjoying it although the hot, humid air is just around the corner.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top