6/9 - Olivia - (AMPS 135, 125@3.5, 85@+7) (PMPS 95, 96@+1, 95@+2, 91@+3)

mosi_yazhi

Member Since 2021
EDIT FROM 6/9: SORRY, CONTINUING THIS THREAD FROM YESTERDAY SINCE I WAS SLOW ABOUT MAKING ONE TODAY

(Yesterday) 6/8 - Olivia - (AMPS 105) (PMPS 152)


Previous

On edge this morning.

I'm pretty sure it was she who peed on the floor last night, sometime between +4.5 and +5. I had hopped in the shower, and had my eyes off her, so no way to know for sure. Could have been my mom's dog, but her puddles are usually smaller. Dont know if there was something wrong, or if she felt the litterbox wasn't clean enough for her taste.

She woke me up yowling last night at +9. I scrambled up out of bed panicking, thinking she was about to keel over, but she just looked at me like I was an overdramatic lunatic... which is, you know, a fair assessment Gave her a little snack, which she gobbled up, and immediately laid down and started purring. She even rolled over and showed me her belly while doing so. Maybe she was just exercising her vocal cords? IDK.

Anyway. Vet appointment today.

Was a little nervous about shooting her at 105 when I wont be able to monitor well, but I figure her sugars will probably start elevating once she sees me dragging out the cat carrier.
 
Last edited:
Oh dear. Hope the peeing was a one-time occurrence. Good you gave Olivia the drop because her BGs will probably go up from the trip to the vet but they will come down again quickly once she's home. Sending healing vetty vines. :bighug:
 
BWAHAHAHAHA.

Y'ALL. I got the Levemir script! :cool::cool::cool:

Now I don't have to feel like an prescription criminal by giving it to her every day! Hopefully I don't ever have to use it, and she'll be OTJ by November when this current one I have expires.

But otherwise, doc says Olivia's looking good. They did a urinalysis. Looks like the UTI has finally cleared her system. They said she looked a little dehydrated, but weren't surprised. Gave her subq fluids, and then sent me home with some as well to administer for the next few weeks.

Vet techs all think she's the cutest, most well behaved little lady, because she wasnt screaming all day and didnt try scratching anyone's eyes out. Apparently the bar is low lol.

Oh dear. Hope the peeing was a one-time occurrence. Good you gave Olivia the drop because her BGs will probably go up from the trip to the vet but they will come down again quickly once she's home. Sending healing vetty vines. :bighug:

They tested her bg while she was there and commented that she was in a normal range, so at least I know it was keeping her steady despite the stress... but then, I think they have a broader definition of 'normal range.' Doc seems to think shes already in remission, but I said given the kidney issues, I dont wanna chance taking her completely off insulin, even if shes just getting drops right now.

I am impressed with Olivia's numbers and how she is only on one drop. Might be a candidate for the OTJ trial soon. Good luck with the vet visit!

Haha, I hope so. Hopefully she improves a bit more and we can knock this out of the park! :p
 
They tested her bg while she was there and commented that she was in a normal range, so at least I know it was keeping her steady despite the stress... but then, I think they have a broader definition of 'normal range.' Doc seems to think shes already in remission,
Glad your vet didn't give you grief about keeping her in numbers that were too low. They somehow freak out when numbers are lower than 150! When civvies test in 40-80 range!

Now that you're done with the first week of the starting dose and the depot has built, I'm tagging @Wendy&Neko for her advice on whether the dose can be increased to 0.10U.
 
Mr Kitty is often described as "spicy" by the vet techs :oops: so yes the bar is indeed low. Back when you could go inside, you could hear him anywhere in the office.

When I took him to ER back in March the vet said "his BG was 350, so really not too bad" Apparently our definitions of "not too bad" differ by about 200 pts...

Great about the UTI, and fluids should help a lot!
 
Replying here since I don't see a post for today yet. What do you think about an increase? She's close, but it would be nice to see some more greens in her spreadsheet. Especially if tight regulation, and possible remission, is a goal.
 
Replying here since I don't see a post for today yet. What do you think about an increase? She's close, but it would be nice to see some more greens in her spreadsheet. Especially if tight regulation, and possible remission, is a goal.

SORRY ABOUT THAT! Got back from the vets yesterday and had to deal with some physically taxing home repair junk that took up a lot of my energy. Slept most of the morning, except a brief window earlier to give Olivia her shot and breakfast at the correct time, and check her bg.

We can just use yesterday's thread (this thread) for today, especially since we're talking dose increase and I dont want the conversation scattered.

But: We can try a dose increase, especially since today in particular it's not hitting her as effectively as last week.

I wish there was a way I could give her TWO drops, but I have no idea how to do that without 1) double dipping and contaminating the insulin or 2) having to use two needles each shot time. Plus, I dont think she would like it very much lol
 
Last edited:
I wish there was a way I could give her TWO drops
Try practising first with coloured liquid. Twist the plunger gently to get a drop out. Practice getting the same size drop each time. Then draw something like a 0.1 unit dose. Count the number of drops in it. If it's three drops, then your two drop dose is 0.1 with 1 drop removed.
 
Try practising first with coloured liquid. Twist the plunger gently to get a drop out. Practice getting the same size drop each time. Then draw something like a 0.1 unit dose. Count the number of drops in it. If it's three drops, then your two drop dose is 0.1 with 1 drop removed.

Ok! I'll do some experimenting today and see if I can nail it!

Probably wont try on her until tomorrow morning, though, so I'll be awake and better able to monitor.
 
Just check the zero markings on the syringe. They can be off by as much as half a unit.

In the pic below, there is half a unit above the plunger (when fully pressed) in the syringe on the left and 0.25U in the syringe on the right.



upload_2021-6-9_23-19-48.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-6-9_23-19-48.png
    upload_2021-6-9_23-19-48.png
    272.1 KB · Views: 210
Just check the zero markings on the syringe. They can be off by as much as half a unit.

In the pic below, there is half a unit above the plunger (when fully pressed) in the syringe on the left and 0.25U in the syringe on the right.



View attachment 61188

I feel like they should make insulin colored, if just because of the potential inaccuracy of the print on the barrel :blackeye:

Or at least make sure the syringes are accurate.

(Somewhere, alpha trak is scheming up a $2 per pop syringe.)
 
85 @ +5!

This is interesting! Usually by now she'd be on her way up! I actually thought it might have been a furshot/she went low and went up in the hours between the AMPS and +3.5 readings.

Neko's dose was under the zero line on my last box of syringes. :rolleyes: A lot of use end up using calipers to measure doses: Dosing with calipers

Yeeeeeeeah, I was reading about that a little in a different thread. That's nuts.

Adding it to the list of 'Unexpected things you buy when you have a diabetic cat,' along with 'meat grinder' I suppose.
 
@Wendy&Neko

Thinking about it just now, and on second thought, I think I might hold the single drop dose for a little longer.

1) I'm curious to see if the nadir is moving back and will start hitting later, and want to hold the current dose just to see what happens,

2) I have a bag of alnutrin coming in the mail in a few days, and plan on trying to feed raw. Admittedly, I've been giving her kidney considerations a bit more priority over the carb content, and shes been eating things a bit more carbier than before because those selections just happened to have the lowest phosphorus (4% max before, vs 8% max now) With the raw having virtually 0% carbs, she might drop down even more than where she's currently at after a few feedings, and maybe the dose adjustment wont even be needed then.

Maybe after a solid week of raw feeding, we'll try dose adjustment if shes still mostly in the blues.
 
The first part of Levemir you were building the Levemir depot, it's possible it's built now and showing you it's true nature. Increasing the dose wouldn't change that.

Have you tried her on plain raw, just as a snack? Just to make sure she likes it.
 
The first part of Levemir you were building the Levemir depot, it's possible it's built now and showing you it's true nature. Increasing the dose wouldn't change that.

Have you tried her on plain raw, just as a snack? Just to make sure she likes it.

I gave her some minced beef the other night as a trial, and she seemed to like it? She ate something like 2? 3? ounces of it. She also held it down and didnt seem queasy. Haven't tried other meats just yet.
 
That is ALWAYS the way it goes. Just remember, it's not Vetsulin with the crazy drops. As long as you're keeping an eye it'll be ok :D

Ok, ok - trusting The Process.

Unless The Process takes her down to the 50s.

In which case F The Process, The Process can shove some HC up its ass.

Got it o7
 
Last edited:
Ok, ok - trusting The Process.

Unless The Process takes her down to the 50s.

In which case F The Process, The Process can shove some HC up its ass.

Got it o7
Ah the 50s aren't so bad!

Remember 50s is 1-2tsp MC, retest in 20-30. Hopefully stays flat, maybe small rise. Once rising hold off on food, if she rises without food for 2 hours then you should be done poking.

Below 50 is 1-2 tsp HC, retest in 20-30. Honey/karo if below 40 for sure, or still a ways til nadir, or struggling to get numbers up - but remember that wears off quickly.

"Bron and Sheba" and "Bandit's Mom" are usually on during the time you may need help.
 
Ah the 50s aren't so bad!

Remember 50s is 1-2tsp MC, retest in 20-30. Hopefully stays flat, maybe small rise. Once rising hold off on food, if she rises without food for 2 hours then you should be done poking.

Below 50 is 1-2 tsp HC, retest in 20-30. Honey/karo if below 40 for sure, or still a ways til nadir, or struggling to get numbers up - but remember that wears off quickly.

"Bron and Sheba" and "Bandit's Mom" are usually on during the time you may need help.

Ok, cool, cool, cool! Got it!

91 @ +3! Presumably 9 hours in the green. Heal, pancreas, heal!
 
Flat cat. :D

Aaaaaand shes coming back up.

Considering it never really dropped her below 60 before the depot was built, it shouldn't now, right...? Like, it's just kind of averaging her out a bit?

Think it might be safe for me to sleep tonight, or will she dip again?
 
Back
Top