6/9 Mikan AMPS 401、+2 280, +4 197, +7.5 132, +10.25 229: PMPS 195, +2 159, +4 93, +5 98

Sigh sigh sigh. I wish I could understand this.
I've blamed the insulin, the food, contraband, the stray cats outside, the weather, my stress and most recently the phases of the moon!
Then I remind myself that I'm feeding low carb wet, insulin is good and doses are consistent, she's playing (enough for an 11year old cat :rolleyes:) peeing, pooping, preening and purring, weight is stable, and increasing per TR protocol. She's JUST diabetic :cat:.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
She's JUST diabetic :cat:.
Awwww, Angela. Gosh, such truth! I love your deduction.

I've blamed the insulin, the food, contraband, the stray cats outside, the weather, my stress and most recently the phases of the moon!
Lol, oh so totally. I was beginning to blame DH (things are usually his fault :joyful: never mine :joyful::joyful::joyful:)

Thank you for reminding me of THE truth. She is diabetic. No matter how hard I try, I am dealing with diabetes with funny and complicated feedback loops. Must remember this!
 
I was beginning to blame DH
:joyful::joyful::joyful::joyful: I do too ;).

Remember that she saw greens before and she WILL see greens again. My mindset (now after doing this for over a year) is more looking at WCR which means the Whole Cat Report.

Cleo is sluggish and overall looks unwell with higher BGs so I take it personally, who wouldn't right! We love them so much. When she's higher and seems unwell because of it, I put on classical music for her and make sure she has all her cozy warm and favorite blankets and chewy boxes, put out extra fresh water in her favorite cups (she'll only drink out of a porcelain tea cup, no plastic :rolleyes:) give her tsps of LC in bed, and MOST importantly, I give her a break from her stressed out human and pokes!
 
take it personally,

I too take Mikan's high numbers personally! Like you say, it's hard not to when you are putting so much effort to the care! I have to remember, though, without the effort, she will be much worse off! Horrible hyperglycemia will lead to a lot of badness...


I put on classical music for her and make sure she has all her cozy warm and favorite blankets and chewy boxes, put out extra fresh water in her favorite cups (she'll only drink out of a porcelain tea cup, no plastic :rolleyes:)
I love it! Chewy boxes are so cozy for them :) A porcelain tea cup! So dainty of her:kiss: Cleo is a princess, after all! :kiss:

Angela, this is so good! This is like initiating a positive feedback cycle. Much healthier than letting the stress-led negative cycle perpetuate. I'll have to think about how I want to try doing something like that:cat:
 
Stay positive Kit!

FD is hard, especially because we have to advocate for our cats. And you are going above and beyond what most people are willing to do. You are doing everything you possibly can for Mikan, and doing it well!

Like Angela said, we have to look at the whole cat, they are more than their numbers.

Sly's journey has been tough. When he was first DX, my husband was adamant about me not treating him like a science project, but his diabetes is not cut and dry, and he IS a little bit of an experiment! Any cat with health issues are!

Mikan will see green again, its just getting to that sweet spot, and sometimes the sweet spot disappears and we have to chase it down, again. Don't drive yourself nuts on all the why, and focus on what is, she'll get there!
 
Stay positive Kit!

FD is hard, especially because we have to advocate for our cats. And you are going above and beyond what most people are willing to do. You are doing everything you possibly can for Mikan, and doing it well!

Like Angela said, we have to look at the whole cat, they are more than their numbers.

Sly's journey has been tough. When he was first DX, my husband was adamant about me not treating him like a science project, but his diabetes is not cut and dry, and he IS a little bit of an experiment! Any cat with health issues are!

Mikan will see green again, its just getting to that sweet spot, and sometimes the sweet spot disappears and we have to chase it down, again. Don't drive yourself nuts on all the why, and focus on what is, she'll get there!
Thanks Deb!
I am so used to linear things - a simple-minded gal that I am. This FD business is so loopy and looney :rolleyes:

Wow, Deb. That must have been rough when DH saw this very differently. ECID, as they say, and every cat's case is so unique. I know Sly's numbers have been all over the universe and you have done such a great job of achieving amazing progress, even though progress itself can be stressful too (can't win, can we! :rolleyes:). I am just so grateful to this group, you, Angela, Diane, Bhooma and others who are there to get me out of a funk.
 
Wow, Deb. That must have been rough when DH saw this very differently. ECID, as they say, and every cat's case is so unique.

My last sugar cat Luigi had so many health issues, was always on meds, constantly at the Vet, etc. Brian just didn't want it to be a repeat situation where he felt like Sly was being forced to get tested, or me struggling to "try" and take care of him. ECID, and you never know how a cat will personally respond to treatment, or what their threshold of receiving care will be....
DH was surprised how good he is when I have to test him, and that while his numbers are like a roller coaster (very different than Luigi) he is easy to treat.

You're never alone when you have this forum, it truly is the greatest place you never wanted to be.
 
Y'all are making me laugh and cry, all at the same time!! You're so full of humor and wisdom, as well as a great source of long-distance hugs that don't feel so far away after all.

If there is such a thing as reincarnation, I'm coming back as Cleo ... or Mikan, or Sly! I'd say Chispa, but she has me to deal with, and that would be too challenging. :joyful::rolleyes::p

Hang in there, Kit. You're doing an amazing job, and Mikan appreciates you more than you know.
 
If there is such a thing as reincarnation, I'm coming back as Cleo ... or Mikan, or Sly! I'd say Chispa, but she has me to deal with, and that would be too challenging. :joyful::rolleyes::p
Hahaha, Karen, I'll be Chispa, as long as I can have all the crinkle papers! We can do a musical chair sort of thing :p

Hang in there, Kit. You're doing an amazing job, and Mikan appreciates you more than you know.
Thank you Karen :bighug: It really means a lot to hear this. I'll keep chewing your kind words all afternoon today :kiss:
 
It is just an amazing feeling to see and feel this. :bighug: I honestly don't know how I would have dealt with FD if I were all alone!

It's hard. I think the only reason I got through it with Luigi, was because my Vet was a great source of strength. Between the 2 of us, we saved his life more than 9 times, even she had a bond with him.

I knew Sly was going to be a challenge, merely bc he never needed so much attention and care. I'm so glad this Board was available to me as a resource.:bighug:
 
It's hard. I think the only reason I got through it with Luigi, was because my Vet was a great source of strength. Between the 2 of us, we saved his life more than 9 times, even she had a bond with him.

I knew Sly was going to be a challenge, merely bc he never needed so much attention and care. I'm so glad this Board was available to me as a resource.:bighug:
I was thinking the other day about you, about what the odds of having two FD cats are.
My goodness, sounds like Luigi was a tough case with multiple conditions. You are a good cat-mama. :kiss: And I know exactly what you mean. The board has been a life saver for me. :):bighug:
 
I don't know if my reply belongs here, but I just wanted to say that reading this thread makes me feel much less alone in all of this. thank you all! And hurray for you @Mikanmama that you got your blue preshot!

Today we got some blues after a long stretch of pinks. I'm happy with that even though it meant I was on the descending roller coaster for a couple of hours not knowing just how far down it was going! :nailbiting:

What a wild ride! Not sure if I'll ever get used to it!
 
I was thinking the other day about you, about what the odds of having two FD cats are.
My goodness, sounds like Luigi was a tough case with multiple conditions. You are a good cat-mama. :kiss: And I know exactly what you mean. The board has been a life saver for me. :):bighug:

Not a bad PMPS!

Come on Mikan, you can do it!!!

Luigi was very "special" :bighug:

My Vet and I were both shocked, believe me :eek::joyful:
 
I don't know if my reply belongs here, but I just wanted to say that reading this thread makes me feel much less alone in all of this. thank you all! And hurray for you @Mikanmama that you got your blue preshot!

Today we got some blues after a long stretch of pinks. I'm happy with that even though it meant I was on the descending roller coaster for a couple of hours not knowing just how far down it was going! :nailbiting:

What a wild ride! Not sure if I'll ever get used to it!
Hi Stefania!
Thank you for your kind words! And I'm so glad you joined us!
FD is such a confusing thing - I have never experienced this kind of frustration before Mikan's FD!
You know, one is led to believe that as long as you try your hardest, you get an outcome.
There are times with Mikan's care, it didn't seem to matter what I do, how hard I try. Those dark moments, the wonderful people in this forum have always been there for me. We are, indeed, there for each other. It's such a special place:bighug:

Looks like Jessie is getting good numbers in response to insulin. I've been told that unpredictable ups and downs are the rules for newly diagnosed kitties. We all have to wear patience pants :smuggrin:
It's a marathon process but we will get there!

Hope Jessie sails safely tonight :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
). I am just so grateful to this group, you, Angela, Diane, Bhooma and others who are there to get me out of a funk.
Hi Kit I meant to comment here but I passed out lol
Was visiting my dad , he's in a nursing home and has Alzheimer's :(
Makes me sick to my stomach .
Got home and then started to look at the posts ,had to help my daughter with a few things , I don't know if I mentioned it to you but she has a chronic nerve condition for 19 years now called Complex Regional Pain Syndrome , the most painful disease in medical history , no cure and we have tried everything there is to offer to try to help.
It gets very stressful for me at times worrying about my Dad and Ashley .
But I wanted to tell you that you are like family to all of us and you are doing a fantastic job with Mikan , What a great cycle she had last night .
Just hang in there my friend ok :bighug::bighug::bighug:
@Mikanmama
 
Last edited:
I had posted this awhile back about Ashley
There is no cure, not enough awareness or research
It's actually known as The Suicide Disease
I belong to many support groups and you would not believe how many moms, dads, teens, people!e in their 20's and 30's who have taken their lives because they just couldn't take the pain anymore
Pain meds just shave a little of the pain off, they really don't help because it's a different pain pathway with this disease
Ashley has been in a very bad flair right now , nothing is helping


It's the most painful disease in medical history
Right now from her neck up, eyes, jaw, teeth, face , temples and ears are killing her
All the nerves are going crazy
I'm sitting here and so angry she has to go through this
Can't leave the house because all noise sets off the pain
Can't escape noise
Even listening to her own voice causes pain.
So we can't have any company over at all
Only leaves the house for blood work
When people cut grass , leaf blowers , snow blower we have to leave the house because the noise just kills her, oh I am dreading the 4th of July ,we have to leave the house for a couple of hours and go park some where until everyone is done with the dam fireworks .
Usually park in another town where I know no one is having fireworks. Maybe a parking lot that's at a hotel or a shopping center
It just sucks !
No way to live, and nothing to look forward to
All she has been saying to me Is why am I still here , why am I still hanging on
Makes me sick to my stomach that my daughter has to go through this

Sorry for the long post about Ashley
@Mikanmama
 
Last edited:
but I passed out lol
Diane :bighug: You totally deserve to pass out!

Was visiting my dad , he's in a nursing home and has Alzheimer's :(
Makes me sick to my stomach .
Got home and then started to look at the posts ,had to help my daughter with a few things , I don't know if I mentioned it to you but she has a chronic nerve condition for 19 years now called Complex Regional Pain Syndrome
I am so sorry to hear about your dad and Ashley. It's just so hard to see someone you have looked up all your life deteriorate and become a person that is no longer him. And CRPS. Gosh. I know it very well. I know someone who has it and is completely debilitated by it. Just a freak fall accident started it. Living with constant pain is just so hard. I hear though there are a lot of biomedical things being tested out - hope they'll develop something new and effective for Ashley. :bighug:

But I wanted to tell you that you are like family to all of us and you are doing a fantastic job with Mikan , What a great cycle she had last night .
Awwww, Diane :kiss: You are such a sweet person :kiss: It really means a lot. Dealing with unpredictable and (seemingly) defiant FD makes you feel very lonely sometimes. It's hard to explain to others; I'm sure they mean well and want to say something to relate to what I am going through, but some people will say something like "Ohh, I know a friend who had to put down her cat because of..." Here, I don't have to worry about it at all! Empathy and compassion is everywhere. I feel so blessed to be a part of this forum. :bighug:
 
@Diane Tyler's Mom

We cross-posted at the same time!

It must be so hard for you too. Nothing worse than seeing someone you love suffer.
Life becomes subservient to pain with CRPS.
Everything you do depends on how things affect the pain.
I pray that people come up with another something to restore the nerves and at least manage pain to some level.

No worries about the long post. You've got to vent out here and there. Don't hold in! We are all here for you :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I am so sorry to hear about your dad and Ashley. It's just so hard to see someone you have looked up all your life deteriorate and become a person that is no longer him. And CRPS. Gosh. I know it very well. I know someone who has it and is completely debilitated by it. Just a freak fall accident started it. Living with constant pain is just so hard. I hear though there are a lot of biomedical things being tested out - hope they'll develop something new and effective for Ashley. :bighug:
Get out you know someone who has it , with Ashley just turning her head on day and heard a loud crack caused it, Took her to the ER and had an x-ray done and they said just was a muscle spasm. Had Mri's ,Cat scans they were all normal.
90% of doctors haven't even heard of it.
I'm sorry about your friend that has it
Thanks for listening :bighug::bighug:
 
@Diane Tyler's Mom

We cross-posted at the same time!

It must be so hard for you too. Nothing worse than seeing someone you love suffer.
Life becomes subservient to pain with CRPS.
Everything you do depends on how things affect the pain.
I pray that people come up with another something to restore the nerves and at least manage pain to some level.

No worries about the long post. You've got to vent out here and there. Don't hold in! We are all here for you :bighug::bighug::bighug:
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
It's hard to explain to others; I'm sure they mean well and want to say something to relate to what I am going through, but some people will say something like "Ohh, I know a friend who had to put down her cat because of..." Here, I don't have to worry about it at all! Empathy and compassion is everywhere. I feel so blessed to be a part of this forum. :bighug:
I know what you mean , some people just think oh well it's just a cat.
You don't ever have to worry about venting here . They are our babies .
Some people just don't get it.
 
Back
Top