6/9 Mijo AMPS 559 +1 423 +3 182

DaveL

Member Since 2023
I just can't figure this cat out! If anyone good at reading graphs please let me know if you can take a look.

This has happened several times before also when on prozinc. There will be several days that he goes black in a row and I can't figure it out. I know these aren't fur shots but it seems the insulin is having no effect on him during these days??!!!
This happened again yesterday> Does it look like he bounced? Yesterday AMPS he was 365 and I shot, but that shouldn't have made him bounce?

Also- i am at 7 days of starting Lantus do i continue to watch or adjust his dosage?
 
I think there’s lots of bouncing. First from the green and it started to clear and then a bounce from the blue. Bouncy cats are frustrating. I know because I had one.
 
Should I be holding at 0.75 or move up to 1 unit? He dropped today to 160. I am guessing his nadir around this dose is 150ish when he doesn't bounce...
 
Wouldn't it be better to lower his dose to 0.5 to stop the Somogyi bouncing? I guess that doesn't follow TR. But that would slowly start to lower his numbers down and be less taxing on his kidneys?
 
Lowering the dose won’t stop bouncing. Being able to get used to normal bg and not dropping too fast will tame bouncing. Somogyi has been proven not to happen to cats. When you lower the dose when not earned you will find insulin resistance might very well set in and your cat will need more and more insulin.
 
Thank you @tiffmaxee

Reading now that link you sent that they actually had to increase the dosage to actually break through that barrier of bouncing back and forth. Maybe it would be wise if I increase 0.25 as TR also suggests.
 
Last edited:
Thank you @tiffmaxee

Reading now that link you sent that they actually had to increase the dosage to actually break through that barrier of bouncing back and forth. Maybe it would be wise if I increase 0.25 as TR also suggests.
You are due for an increase tomorrow anyway- unless I counted incorrectly. And even with his nadir being 163, that’s still just out of the target range for SLGS of 90-150. So I think that you can safely increase tomorrow. Even when following TR, doses with blue nadirs are held longer usually- between 6-10 cycles. But I think with your full seven days on this dose, you can go ahead and increase tomorrow.

You don’t want to reduce. I think you see that now. You’re doing everything you can right now, Dave. Keep up the good work!
 
Back
Top