? 6/9 Max; Shoot or no shoot? I have two hours until AMPS, but +10 is 119.

Rebecca & Max (GA)

Member Since 2020
Hello again! Yesterday, I stalled Max until I got advice - He went from highs >500 to almost 50 and right back up to mid 400s. He had been on 0.5U but decided to stick with the SLGS and dropped him to 0.25U yesterday AM and PM. I tested him every few hours, but especially near nadir time (+5 to +7 it seems). This morning his numbers are looking great, after holding in the mid to high 400s all day yesterday. I do not want to mess anything up by not shooting, but I also don't want him to drop too low, as the 0.25U dose at 12:15 AM brought him down to the 100s. I will be home today and can test him, but I am using the Libre as we had difficulties testing via his ear - I've been told low numbers can get weird with the Libre. Since he is lower than he's been in a while, I'm going to try to test via ear stick around his AMPS time, and hopefully, he will be willing to participate. SS has been updated with all readings.

*editing to add I will probably stick with SLGS as I'm not sure TR would work with him on such a low dose??
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0661.PNG
    IMG_0661.PNG
    91.1 KB · Views: 54
Hopefully, beautiful Max will go up just a bit, so you feel good about shooting the .25U

If you skip, he will likely go too high like past skips. These kitties don't always make it easy though!!!
I was told to hold the 0.25U for 3+ cycles, but since this was only 2 cycles, could I drop the dose to like 0.1U - not 100% sure I could be accurate but I have the photo of what that looks like had am using a magnifying glass ;-). I really don’t want to skip, but I don’t want him hypoing on me either. Why must they be such difficult fur babies????
 
I was told to hold the 0.25U for 3+ cycles, but since this was only 2 cycles, could I drop the dose to like 0.1U - not 100% sure I could be accurate but I have the photo of what that looks like had am using a magnifying glass ;-). I really don’t want to skip, but I don’t want him hypoing on me either. Why must they be such difficult fur babies????

First - sending very good luck with the ear testing
Next - no dumb questions; clarifications are always good - The stalling IS to see the BG direction, and to post for help and advice like you said.
Being safe is always the most important thing.

Holding the dose for 6 cycles (or 3 days) is what you do under TR, but a kitty going under the BG threshold (under 90 with SLGS and under 50 with TR) means a reduction for the next shot, no matter how many cycles kitty was on that dose. But I think you might be asking about a safe, one time reduced dose? Safety first! Even skipping is better than a hypo. Nothing wrong in giving a reduced dose to ease your mind either.

Since you will be there to test, you will be able to intervene if necessary!! Waiting game on . . . ;) Which way are you heading Max?
 
First - sending very good luck with the ear testing
Next - no dumb questions; clarifications are always good - The stalling IS to see the BG direction, and to post for help and advice like you said.
Being safe is always the most important thing.

Holding the dose for 6 cycles (or 3 days) is what you do under TR, but a kitty going under the BG threshold (under 90 with SLGS and under 50 with TR) means a reduction for the next shot, no matter how many cycles kitty was on that dose. But I think you might be asking about a safe, one time reduced dose? Safety first! Even skipping is better than a hypo. Nothing wrong in giving a reduced dose to ease your mind either.

Since you will be there to test, you will be able to intervene if necessary!! Waiting game on . . . ;) Which way are you heading Max?

Thank you. And yes, was asking about a safe, one time reduction. I was happy to see him stay fairly level all of yesterday, even if he was high. I’m thrilled he’s dropped to a normal range and would like to do what I can to keep him there BUT keep
him SAFE. My fear is if I do a NS, he’ll head right back up and we do this all over again. But since he stayed steady all of yesterday after his AMPS, maybe the 0.25U wouldn’t drop him below 80 (but it did take him from 400s to 100s so I just don’t know). Trying ear pricks again, and scanned him at +11 just to make sure his AMPS isn’t artificially inflated due to stress of me poking his ear. So far it took three tries to stick him, but very littlE blood (insert crying face)...and that’s why we got the Libre.
 
:( I'm so sorry about the pricking problem.

Those huge drops do make it seem crazy to give more insulin with a good BG level. Lantus is an insulin (hormone not drug) that is made to keep BG levels stable, but there are still low points during it's cycle that proper timing of food will help. As time goes on, and with experience, you will see that a starting BG of 400, and a nadir of 100, does not mean that starting with a BG of 100, and giving insulin, will take your cat to ridiculous negative numbers. I'm trying, but possibly not making a lot of sense. And I sure don't want to make you nervous or confused by me!!

I think .25u will work. Even if he hasn't come up much, remember he will start going up as soon as the last shot wears off. Let's see if you get that AMPS:bighug:
 
Last edited:
:( I'm so sorry about the pricking problem.

Those huge drops do make it seem crazy to give more insulin with a good BG level. Lantus is an insulin (hormone not drug) that is made to keep BG levels stable, but there are still low points during it's cycle that proper timing of food will help. As time goes on, and with experience, you will see that a starting BG of 400, and a nadir of 100, does not mean that starting with a BG of 100, and giving insulin, will take your cat to ridiculous negative numbers. I'm trying, but possibly not making a lot of sense. And I sure don't want to make you nervous or confused by me!!
Omg, you are totally making sense! I figured just because he went from 400s to 100s didn’t mean he’d drop that much (um, he’d be dead) if I shot at mid 100s. I just sort of needed clarification.
I managed to stick him good on round two and got a ton of blood because I hit the vein (it’s what I have to do), and we put a good sized blood drop on the back of a test strip that I had used and read it immediately from there as he hates the strip touching him. The AlphaTrak 2 read 197 at 11:47, and my daughter scanned him and he read 157 on the Libre at 11:56. I grabbed my Relion since there was so much blood, but kept getting an E13 code- which meant I didn’t have enough blood, even though it took up the full amount both times as far as I could tell (dang it, may have gotten too excited!!!). I’m thinking maybe the blood drop was beginning to coagulate too. My daughter tested the blood drop again at 11:51 and it read 250! Same drop of blood tested 4 minutes later. Hmmmmm.
 
Oh no you have me laughing WITH you. Geez! I feel for you (and I think I heard Max growling? j/k.)

Many people use the Relion. I actually use it myself, and the only trouble I ever had was not pushing the button to turn it on, before sticking the strip in. That's because a lot of other meters (AT included) turn on simply by putting the strip in.
Sending you relaxing vibes:bighug:
Do you feel ok with the .25 dose?! If not, you could give half . . . He did cooperate by going up!

@tiffmaxee if you are around - good to shoot .25u (current dose)<
 
Last edited:
Oh no you have me laughing WITH you. Geez! I feel for you (and I think I heard Max growling? j/k.)

Many people use the Relion. I actually use it myself, and the only trouble I ever had was not pushing the button to turn it on, before sticking the strip in. That's because a lot of other meters (AT included) turn on simply by putting the strip in.
Sending you relaxing vibes:bighug:
Do you feel ok with the .25 dose?! If not, you could give half . . . He did cooperate by going up!

@tiffmaxee if you are around - good to shoot .25u (current dose)<
Oops, I did not turn it on. It does start up when I put the test strip in, like the AT, but maybe it still didn’t like that. And yes, I felt better about his dose. He got a nice lunch and ate it all so he’s got a full belly (been eating 4.6% carbs and boiled chicken as a topper so he eats as his Weruva pate - it’s not his favorite but it’s lower carbs than his fave). I did not see tiffmaxee’s message that I believe recommended me stalling, ugh!! I did shoot the 0.25U around 12:25 and I will test him +1, feed around +3 (that’s what I did at 4 am) and will really watch him between +5 & +7, plus offer a meal then. I have high carb food from my CDK kitty and corn syrup on hand. Did that once before but hoping he doesn’t go there today. But, better today than in the wee hours tomorrow AM!
 
Back
Top