6/9 Mali +8 236, +10 270, PMPS 278, +3 322, +5 383 +9 493

Status
Not open for further replies.

RG & Mali (GA)

Member Since 2013
Previous Condo


Good morning all,

Looks like Mali is starting this Sunday off on a "sugar high". Probably protesting the trip to the vet yesterday :lol:
Thanks for all the very good feedback and conversation in yesterday's condo...it is all very much appreciated :!:
Hope all is well in LL and everyone has a great day :thumbup
 
Re: 6/9 Mali AMPS Hi

Morning! ~O) ~O) ~O)
I don't think we've met so i wanted to stop by and say hi Howdy. I hope Mali has a nice slide down for you today. "sugar high" :lol: I guess there's got to be a chuckle in this ol FD.

Well, Mali - sweetheart ... what..in heavens name... are you doing way up there?? Come on back down. please and thank you!

Hey Mali, dude....it's me...Oliver. I guess all us kittehs will head over with the ropes to pull you back down! I don't blame you for getting waaay far away from that box and the vet! We'll be there in a sec. - oliver
 
Re: 6/9 Mali AMPS Hi

Really, Mali, nothing interesting up there. I hope you can find some better numbers today. Have a great day!
Liz
 
Re: 6/9 Mali AMPS Hi

ecurie said:
Morning! ~O) ~O) ~O)
I don't think we've met so i wanted to stop by and say hi Howdy. I hope Mali has a nice slide down for you today. "sugar high" :lol: I guess there's got to be a chuckle in this ol FD.

Well, Mali - sweetheart ... what..in heavens name... are you doing way up there?? Come on back down. please and thank you!

Hey Mali, dude....it's me...Oliver. I guess all us kittehs will head over with the ropes to pull you back down! I don't blame you for getting waaay far away from that box and the vet! We'll be there in a sec. - oliver

And back atcha, Mary! Thanks to you and Oliver for stopping by to check on us.

Hey Ollie, I sure will be glad when I can come to the lagoon and maybe surf with you, too dancing_cat . You wear those colors really well, kitteh.
 
Re: 6/9 Mali AMPS Hi

Anne & Zener said:
Really, Mali, nothing interesting up there. I hope you can find some better numbers today. Have a great day!
Liz


And she knows that, too. She just thought she would start off the day on the high bar cat(2)_steam
 
Re: 6/9 Mali AMPS Hi

Angela & Blackie & 7 Others said:
Wishing for better #s for Mali today. Be patient. It'll happen. Have a good day!


Thanks, Angela..."patience pants" right? Glad you stopped by today!
 
Re: 6/9 Mali AMPS Hi

ecurie said:
Morning! ~O) ~O) ~O)
I don't think we've met so i wanted to stop by and say hi Howdy. I hope Mali has a nice slide down for you today. "sugar high" :lol: I guess there's got to be a chuckle in this ol FD.

Well, Mali - sweetheart ... what..in heavens name... are you doing way up there?? Come on back down. please and thank you!

Hey Mali, dude....it's me...Oliver. I guess all us kittehs will head over with the ropes to pull you back down! I don't blame you for getting waaay far away from that box and the vet! We'll be there in a sec. - oliver


And BTW, Ollie....keep yo sef inside that sleeper cab and don't let me catch you tryin' to get out again cat(2)_steam
 
Re: 6/9 Mali AMPS Hi

Robert

:oops: :oops: :oops: I didn't get back yesterday. Actually...I did last night but by the time I did, I figured you were in bed so decided to post today.

We have to figure this girl out! Ok...so my Gracie is on lev. If her BG is down at +2 or +3...when it should likely be going up because lev generally onsets at +4, then I definitely test again. I think if you can manage it at night next time her before bed test is lower than PS, it might be worthwhile to get back up at +6 and see where she is.

I know she has alot going on and I'm not sure where all of that fits in with her BG. But (and I'm assuming that 346 last night was at +3.25 instead of +9.25) she was down almost 100 mg/dL by +3 last night. Even with meter variance, it's still down. So my brain tells me if she onset at +4, and if she was clearing a bounce (because I'm wondering if she is coming down at night fast), it could be why she is so high this morning. I don't know. On "paper" one would think she needs more insulin but unless you can know for sure that she isn't coming down really low at night, I'd be concerned about raising the dose and having her continue this up/down roller coaster. Cats often like to go lower at night.

JMO.
 
Re: 6/9 Mali AMPS Hi

I agree with Marje.
J.D. is on Levemir and he often goes up until +4 (onset) and then starts to come down until around +8 to +10 or so.
If I test J.D. at +4 and his number is lower then his PS test, then he is probably going to keep coming down through the night. I just set an alarm (which I don't always hear :? , but I do most of the time) and get up and do a quick test and go btb.
If you could do something like that for a couple cycles we would know for sure whether he needs a dose increase of not.

I hope you and Mali are having a good day :-D
 
Re: 6/9 Mali AMPS Hi

Hi Robert. Real bummer with that HI reading this morning. Don't get discouraged, you have some very knowledgeable folks working on this with you so there's no doubt Mali will eventually be putting nicer numbers on the board.

Have a great day.
 
Re: 6/9 Mali AMPS Hi

Robert

Sienne, Dyana, and I were discussing Mali's numbers. As I said above, and the others agree, it looks like she needs more insulin.

If you raise her dose to 1u bid, can you grab some more spot tests at night? Especially if you see her coming down from PMPS to your before bed test? If you can and also continue with the +4/+8 or +9 tests during the day, it is worth considering the increase.

What do you think?
 
Re: 6/9 Mali AMPS Hi

First of all, yes, the reading bfb was +3.25 and not +9.25...I think I was sleepier than I thought I-) . If all of you think the spot checks after bedtime is the way to go, then absolutely I will do it. You think we should stay with her dose until we know something from those numbers? What time(s) do think would be the most beneficial tonight?
 
Re: 6/9 Mali AMPS Hi

Robert

Jill, one of our most experienced members who has used lantus and lev, had a chance to look at Mali's SS. She believes we need to get back to the basics with Mali.

Frequently with spot checks, the caregiver (CG) is able to see the onset, nadir, and duration. These are important concepts that we each need to know about our own kitty as ECID. We know when an insulin "might" onset....for lantus...about +2; levemir...about +4. Nadir? Lantus....we start by looking at +6; levemir....+8/+9. But our kitties don't read the info on the insulins and so not only do we see different curves from different cats but sometimes our own cat's onset, nadir, and duration change.

Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose

I was really hoping we could find out some of this for Mali by getting different spot checks but we're just not getting the data to tell what she is doing. To be quite frank,we don't know right now if she needs a dose increase or not. So let's hold off on increasing the dose and do an "assignment".

You will need to do a little more investigative work which means a bit more testing. Today might be a great day as Mali looks like she is clearing her bounce. It's too late to get an onset for the a.m. cycle but how about getting a +10 today so we can see where she went since +8? Then tonight, let's get a +3. If she is down at +3, let's plan to get more tests. How many? Depends on how low she is. If she's in yellow, retest in two hours. I will be up and online tonight and if you post her numbers in the subject line, I can keep an eye on it and help you decide.

Keep in mind that it takes 72 hours for a bounce to clear but even while she's bouncing, we still need data because maybe Mali doesn't take that long to clear....but we need to know. I think going forward, keep in mind that any time you get a number that is more than 20% meter variance lower than the one before and its the first drop you see in the cycle, you should be testing again sooner rather than later. I don't mean you have to test every single hour in the cycle if you get a lower number each time. However, we need to have an idea of what she is doing, right? (Caveat: there might be a cycle or so that she is coming down into green and you will need to test more often).

Don't be shy about posting and asking for help on when to test next. On 6/2 when you got a 92 in the a.m. cycle, you could have posted and asked when to test again. There are ALOT of experienced members here who can help with that until you get a feel for it.

Let me give you an example. If you look at Gracie's SS on the P.M. cycle of 5/28. Her +2 was 190 and +5 was 128. I have no idea how fast she was dropping. Did she onset at +4 and drop 70 in an hour....believe me, she is more than capable. So I tested at +5 which told me she likely came down a little slower than I thought and flattened out. So keep in mind that if you see a 60 mg/dL drop over three hours, that doesn't necessarily mean she dropped an even 20 mg/dL over that time. She could have done it all in one hour.

Look at other SSs and see if you see any patterns. Sometimes it's easier to see on someone else's SS before you see it on your own cat's SS. (Don't let yourself get overwhelmed with how much some of us test....some of us are very data driven....you don't have to be with strategic testing to figure out her onset, nadir, duration).

How does that sound?
 
Re: 6/9 Mali AMPS Hi

Marje,
That sounds like a plan. I will get her +10 in just a few and post it. I agree with what you are saying about not having enough data. The more I become involved in her caregiving, the more I see the need for more data. I guess sometimes I rationalize the big swings being a result of all of her other ongoing issues and maybe we won't be able to ever get her regulated because of those issues....but, we don't know that for sure, do we? So off I go to give it our best shot.
Back later.
 
Re: 6/9 Mali AMPS Hi

She's actually just flat as 236 and 270 are within meter variance.

I would just get her PMPS and post it. Then we will go from there.

Thanks, Robert.
 
Re: 6/9 Mali AMPS Hi

:-D you're welcome.

And don't forget to keep the subject line updated, please.

We are usually scrolling up and down the list looking at subject lines and numbers for those who might need help. If your subject line isn't up to date, we can't see a number that we might be concerned about.

Thank you!
 
Re: 6/9 Mali AMPS Hi,+8 236, +10 270, PMPS 278

Thank you! I'd you start to run out of space, you can always delete the AM numbers but its fine for now.

I think tonight might be the night! Definitely grab a +3 and let's see where she is :-D
 
Re: 6/9 Mali AMPS Hi,+8 236, +10 270, PMPS 278

Much better PS tonight, Mali. Please continue to come down cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 6/9 Mali AMPS Hi,+8 236, +10 270, PMPS 278

Hmmm....she's still fairly flat. Alot of times when they are flat, they come down. Let me look at her SS. You would think I would have it memorized :lol: BRB
 
Re: 6/9 Mali AMPS Hi,+8 236, +10 270, PMPS 278

Can you get up and grab a +5? I hate for you to poke her again in an hour just "in case" she is onsetting. But if she does onset at +4, she shouldn't be too far down by +5 and she might have a late onset.

You could nap...set an alarm and get back up? Sorry to do this to you at night.
 
Re: 6/9 Mali AMPS Hi,+8 236, +10 270, PMPS 278

That's ok. We need the data. I'll get it and post it.
Thank you for staying up with "Mali" :lol:
 
Re: 6/9 Mali AMPS Hi,+8 236, +10 270, PMPS 278

Great job, Robert! :-D :-D Those yellows are much nicer than those other numbers, Mali.
Liz
 
Re: 6/9 Mali AMPS Hi,+8 236, +10 270, PMPS 278

No problem, Robert. I'm two hours earlier than you and I will be up until 2 am your time anyway.

Now lets hope she makes it worth your while!
 
Re: 6/9 Mali 8 236, +10 270, PMPS 278, +3 322, +5 383

Robert

I'm sorry....just when I was going to check on you, my old kitty, Gus, threw up all his dinner. I got it cleaned and had to check Gracie...I haven't even fed her yet.

Darn! If you see this, if there is any way to try and get a +9 or so, it would be great.

Again...my apologies.

Tomorrow, try to get a few tests during the cycle....a +4 or +5 and if she's down, then keep checking. Absolutely get a + 8/+9. I won't be home tomorrow until 3:30 your time but I will be around a bit in the morning so I will try to check in.

This is just going to take some time to find her onset, nadir, duration. On a day when she looks serious about clearing the bounce, I think going ahead an doing a curve would be a good idea. She isnt sharing her secrets. :-D

Good job...good night.
 
Re: 6/9 Mali 8 236, +10 270, PMPS 278, +3 322, +5 383 +9 493

I knew you were busy and no problem, but I do think we have some mental telepathy going because I went to bed immediately after I fed Mali after the last post and did not see your post till now, and then just woke up just before +9 and thought... I need to get another reading and voila! There was your post :idea:
Doesn't look like she went low at least for this night. I will get AMPS and then try to catch onset, etc. and we will see what she has in store for us later confused_cat
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top