6/9 Lucy's AMPS 106 Confused

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joanj

Member Since 2018
Hi,

Lucy had no insulin since 930 am and the vet said with her numbers down, just plan on once a day of .5 for now.

At 630am her BG was only 106. She's due an anti-nausea at 830 so thought I'd try again then to do BG but what is a good number to go ahead and shoot? Yesterday her high was only in the 170's anyway.

She still won't eat on her own. I have to go walk my dogs as it's going to be really hot here today later so will test and feed her when I get back.

I would appreciate any advice on how to proceed today. TIA! Also, how do I note on SS if I do several AMPS and then don't give the shot til much later?
 
I checked Lucy's BG at 9am and it's 102. I fed her with syringe. Offering tons of food ideas for her and nothing. At least my other cat is getting to try different foods too. Trying to get him off dry also but he's mostly not interested either.
 
If Lucy's numbers go up by evening, should I then give her the .5 Lantus or just wait til tomorrow am and see where I am?
 
If Lucy's numbers go up by evening, should I then give her the .5 Lantus or just wait til tomorrow am and see where I am?
Let's see how the day unfolds.
Take some tests throughout the day - she was lowering towards the end of the AM cycles before and can repeat this pattern today. Take a test at maybe +9 ( for you it is @+33) and then at what your shot time is going to be - you'll see if she heading down w/o dose.
Post for help here sometimes prior to your shot time so ppl get a time to see the post.

I personally would be inclined to shoot half a unit if she goes high by tonight and I knew I could feed her.

@Chris & China any thoughts, Chris?
 
I just did a BG so and it was 117 at +30. She ate about 2 and a half hours ago.

I want to get back to giving isulin at 7 am and pm when needed so will do BG again about 630 tonight and post here. How much does it need to come up to shoot? She's on .5 already so would be possible to come down to .25, I guess, if needed.

Thanks for all your help!!
 
I just did a BG so and it was 117 at +30. She ate about 2 and a half hours ago.
She might be starting to rise but still in very good level.
So, your PM shot time is 6:30 pm Central Time?
If I get home by then I'll log in.
Hopefully some more ppl will be on and we'll talk.

Usually we do not recommend ppl with not a lot of data + Dx being so recent to shot below 200.
But Lucy is a little different case due to DKA and not eating on her own. Have you got a chance to test her urine for ketones?

In case she is high enough - perhaps high enough for a quarter unit dose - do you have enough testing strips, Karo, FF Gravy Foods available?
To shot or not largely depends on whether or not you are prepared.

She did go very low on 0.5U and remained low w/o dose for 30H now.
0.25U might have the same droppy effect and you have to feel confident to deal with Lows if it come and maybe have someone to stay on with you here.

Take some more tests later on and record what she eats and let's meet here a little before your PM shot.
 
I forgot: are you able to stay late at night in case she goes low?
There is no nightly tests in the SS and I do not know why.
If you cannot stay up then it'll be a different dose situation.
Pls let us know.
 
so will do BG again about 630 tonight and post here.

Good plan.....I'll try to check in about then too

If at all possible, try to get a ketone test in today!

How is Lucy feeling? Does she seem better with the added food? How's her activity level?....just in general, how does she seem to be doing?
 
She's still laying around a lot but shes out in the living room with us. I try to give her extra brushing and petting in between all the poking and feeding. She pees on the litter box and goes to the kitchen for water. She does seem to be getting more attentive to her surroundings. She goes into "her" bedroom at times and lays just under the edge of the bed but mosly shes content to be where we all are.

Shes still not her perky self tho.

I will try and catch her on the litter box so i can do ketones.
 
Lantus works best if it's dosed twice a day. Had you considered shooting 0.25u twice a day vs 0.5u once a day? You're likely to see swings in Lucy's numbers with once per day dosing.
 
She started out on 1u, then was cut to .5u. Ill see what her BG is at 630 and ask advice.

We're trying a change of scene on the patio. Shes grooming herself so thats good.
 

Attachments

  • 1528584240743557217705122461860.jpg
    1528584240743557217705122461860.jpg
    89.7 KB · Views: 52
Ok, Just did BG at 630 pm Central Time and it was 108. So no shot, I'm gathering. Is it bad that her BG is staying so low with no insulin?

How should I proceed? I'm going to feed her but should I do BG through the night?

Sometimes nobody is on the forum in the early am. What would be a good number to shoot in am? And then should it be .25 or .5?

I have a tai chi class from 11 to 12 so so I'll have to try and figure out what do do before I leave the house at 1030.

thanks!!
 
I can do that. I didnt catch her peeing yet but will watch when she goes back to the litter box. Almost afraid to do it.

I fed her 10cc at 330 pm and just now 20cc.
 
I didnt catch her peeing yet but will watch when she goes back to the litter box. Almost afraid to do it.
I understand the afraid part very well. But in the DKA cases it is better to catch as early as possible.
I'd feel much more comfortable with NS if I knew there are no ketones in the picture.

Frankly I am very puzzled with the SS - except for that 412 at the vets the numbers are wonderful...:confused::confused: w/o insulin...
ETA: Did the vet run a Fructozamine test or was his FD diagnose based on the single test of 412?

I fed her 10cc at 330 pm and just now 20cc.
But it is not all she ate today, is it?
I think it'd be good if she eats more.
Any luck at all with other flavors/ foods?
 
The 412 was at the vet and taken when shed just come home the evening before and then had to go to the vet in early am. I didnt have a meter then. Shed been hospitalized for 5 days too. Now shes finally had a chance to relax.

She isnt eating on her own so im only syringe feeding. How much should i be aiming for per day? Ive added a couple extra feedings as its hard to get more than 20cc at a sitting.
 
No, not a single test. She spent 5 days in the Vet ER hosp and was really sick. They diagnosed her. Her BG was all up and down there.
 
Is it bad that her BG is staying so low with no insulin?

It's wonderful!!….it just makes us scratch our heads a bit as to how your vet came up with a diagnosis of diabetes since it's a normal number....time will tell

I'd try to get at least 6 ounces per day into her (A can of Fancy Feast is 3oz)….I might try to get up to 30cc's every 4 hours (as long as she tolerates it)
 
How many cc's is 6 oz? She was diagnosed in the Vet 24 hour ER at the cost of $5k. The 412 reading was taken at my own vets office.
 
Last edited:
as its hard to get more than 20cc at a sitting.
This amount is good for 1 sitting. I think that I fed Ducia 4 times a cycle that much.. I'll check my old log and get back to you.
@Chris & China Chris, do you have conversion formula cc to oz?

She was diagnosed in the Vet ER at the cost of $5k!
I am afraid that paying honestly whatever was asked of you won't guard against mistakes. :blackeye: I do not claim to be an FD expert but I look at Lucy's SS and I see no diabetic.... :confused: We've heard of misdiagnosed cats before but your situation is a little different due to DKA and testing for ketones and BG thru the day even with good numbers such as Lucy's (IMHO) is necessary until you are sure there is no ketones developing quietly.
 
I can get a copy of her record with lab tests. She had to stay 5 days because her BG wouldnt stabilize for them. Maybe its more the pancreatits still getting her down? She wont eat on her own in my biggest problem st the moment.

I would be SO thankful, obviously, if her numbers stay good. I know this Emergency hospital is very well thought of by vets here.
 
I can get a copy of her record with lab tests.
If you can enter the lab results into the LAB tab - it would be great! I always take all Ducia's labs home. Go to the SS and click on LABs tab at the bottom of the screen (Ducia had some - you can see it in her SS). Also if the Urinalysis Test was done (a standard procedure for FD) - include that as well if you can.

So I gather no Fructozamine Test was performed?

Maybe its more the pancreatitis still getting her down? She wont eat on her own in my biggest problem st the moment.
That is my guess why she is not eating.
The P-tits certainly make them innapetant but Cerenia, appy stimulant and pain killer (and perhaps SQF) usually help. There are flares of it - shortly lived - and a chronic P-titis. A lot of ppl on this Board dealt successfully with P-titis - you 'll get help here. Most people will ask to see the Labs and list of meds you are giving - the easiest is to record all meds in the Remark section of the SS like time and doses given. So as soon as you entered it there start a new thread and ask for help w/P-titis.
 
I dont know about the fructozamine test. Ill call the ER tomorrow and see if they can email me the record and I'll fill in the ss.

This board us amazing! Ill definitely ask for help with the pancreatitis.
 
Thanks! That clarifies.

So you basically did 6 feedings of 30cc per 24 hours, even thro the night?
 
Thanks! That clarifies.

So you basically did 6 feedings of 30cc per 24 hours, even thro the night?
Yes, that's right, 20 - 25 - 30 cc/ per sitting every 3 - 4 hours every cycle - including nights - until she started to eat on her own/ gained enough weight. If Lucy continues to refuse to eat on her own then other feeding options might be taken into consideration - like the Etube I mentioned before .We can talk about it when/ or if it comes to it.

Ducia gained a lot on 1 1/4 can 5.5 oz Friskies/ 24 h. It came to approximately 250 - 300 Kcal per 24 h and her being an indoor only cat with minimal activity level helped to gain quickly - 4 - 6 weeks.

Every cat is different and feeding/ nutrition requirements vary. Keep offering some food to eat on her own prior to/ in between the feeding sessions w/ syringe. Cats can start eating on their own out of nowhere. try any trick you know of to make her eat.

It would help a lot if you can get ketone tested.

Tomorrow AM: Have another BG test closer to the end of the 06/09 PM cycle (like +9 or +10 - +45 or +46 for you) and then take the preshot test on Sunday AM and post for help here if Lucy is lower than 200.
I doubt I will be up by your preshot time but others might be.
 
I started a new thread for 6/10. Is that the correct way to do it so you'll see it? Her BG was 132 @+48 hours.
 
Do you have any thoughts on how much water she should be drinking? She was drinking on her own but now goes to the water bowl and stares at it. Even when i pour from a cup she just barely laps at it. I started with droppers of water along with food, with has a little water to blend it.

I realize more is better but if i tried for a cup a day? Just not sure. She isnt minding the water droppers at all so i can do plenty.

Thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top