6/9 Lucian +3.75/80,+5/54,+6/64,+7/70,+8/114,+10/HI,PMPS 381

Status
Not open for further replies.

nckitties3

Member Since 2013
I've been up since his +6 last night and he's been running about 125 all night. I gave him 1T MC @ +10 to bring him up a tad.

I'm curious about his numbers, he's never been flat, that low, before.

Thoughts?
 
Re: 6/9 Lucian AMPS 164,+3.5/94 ??

You started the "R" two weeks ago. Can't tell from the SS if the dose of R has stayed he same each time or has been different. Maybe a notation in the Remarks column?

You've been catching the bounce sooner and giving the R at lower numbers. You started giving the R in those high 400's and blacks. Now you're giving the R at the mid-pinks and high yellows.

So, as you are catching those bounces earlier, the R is given sooner and the bounce is not as high. Liver training school is in progress and lessons being earned slowly but surely.

Lucian stayed low all night AND dipped early into the greens today, by +3.5. I'm betting he'll go even lower by +6 , even with the MC food. I expect he'll then shoot back into the high yellows/pinks by +8.
 
Re: 6/9 Lucian AMPS 164,+3.5/94,+4.75/80

I'm guessing it is doing what we want it to then? Not a reason to be concerned? Just very odd numbers for Lucian, didn't know what to think about it.
 
Re: 6/9 Lucian AMPS 164,+3.5/94,+4.75/80

Debbie, you are making fabulous strides with him and the 'liver training'. Awesome!!!
 
Re: 6/9 Lucian AMPS 164,+3.5/94,+4.75/80

I've never used R before. Just looked at a lot of spreadsheets. I'm reading the spreadsheet and seeing improvement.

So yes, the R is doing what we want it to.

Look back a couple of weeks, at Lucian's SS, to the end of May. Lucian's numbers are all over the place.

Now look back at the last 3 days. Lucian's numbers are usually in the mid-high yellows at pre-shot and then dip down to the blues and greens. Yes, a couple of aberrant pinks. But overall, the numbers are looking much better. Still room to get them down more. But lets hold here for a bit.

Just my 2 cents worth.
 
Re: 6/9 Lucian AMPS 164,+2.5/94,+3.75/80,+5/54

Had to fix the numbers, I was off by an hour, been trying to nap between tests since amps, because I was up since his pm+6, so had them messed up. Correct now.

Deb- the R dose has stayed the same except for yesterday, where I tried to make it smaller, but have no idea how well I did with that.
 
Re: 6/9 Lucian +2.5/94,+3.75/80,+5/54,+6/64,+7/70,+8/114???

How long should I continue to keep him from earning a reduction? There's no doubt in my mind, he would have today had I not kept boosting him with MC every hour.
 
Re: 6/9 Lucian +2.5/94,+3.75/80,+5/54,+6/64,+7/70,+8/114,PMP

Big bounce, but no surprise considering how low he has run the last couple cycles.

Gave R.
 
Re: 6/9 Lucian +3.75/80,+5/54,+6/64,+7/70,+8/114,+10/HI,PMPS

Lucian stayed low all night AND dipped early into the greens today, by +3.5. I'm betting he'll go even lower by +6 , even with the MC food. I expect he'll then shoot back into the high yellows/pinks by +8.
I said this earlier today and, gosh darn it but Lucian did exactly as I expected.

I was hoping you could catch that +8 and give a shot of R to stop that steep rise. Hindsight is great isn't it?

nckitties3 said:
How long should I continue to keep him from earning a reduction? There's no doubt in my mind, he would have today had I not kept boosting him with MC every hour.
I agree with you that he would have earned a reduction today without all that MC food.

But now he is going to bounce again tonight. We need to hold that 2u dose at least through tonight. Shoot through the bounce as they say.

Only if Lucian is <250 tomorrow am, would I consider dropping the dose to 1.75U. I'm looking for those lower yellows and maybe into the blues at AMPS. If he is not that low, I think hold that 2U dose one more cycle.

What do you think?
 
Re: 6/9 Lucian +3.75/80,+5/54,+6/64,+7/70,+8/114,+10/HI,PMPS

You think I should have given the R at +8?? That seems like normal rise to me. I should have tested at +9, but he's getting PO'd at me with all the testing. :o Guess 1 more wouldn't have made any difference anyway.

Maybe I should hold the dose until he drops again like he did today? Make him earn it twice? He may have been dx'd in Jan, but have no idea how long he was diabetic before then.

Oh yeah, I was expecting the bounce, that's his norm.
 
Re: 6/9 Lucian +3.75/80,+5/54,+6/64,+7/70,+8/114,+10/HI,PMPS

My apologies Deb. I counted the cells wrong and was off by one hour.

Yes, +8 today was normal rise. So we know he popped up really quickly sometime between +8 and +10.

I would certainly shoot through the bounce tonight and keep him at the 2U for tonight.

We aren't trying to keep him from earning those reductions with the feeding of the MC food. We're trying to minimize that bounce, keep the bounce from going so high. I'd still keep with the MC food management with those fast, steep drops. Try to keep him surfing at a more even keel.

And using the R when needed and you can catch the rise.

The bounce is king right now, trumping all other factors.

Please get that +2 tomorrow morning. We'll see if it's much less than pre-shot and likely to be a very active cycle with an early drop. We may need to pull out the HC food to keep the drop from going so low.

ETA: What do you use as your MC food? What do you use as your HC food?

We are trying to flatten out that curve more. We are not there yet.
 
Re: 6/9 Lucian +3.75/80,+5/54,+6/64,+7/70,+8/114,+10/HI,PMPS

nckitties3 said:
I've been up since his +6 last night and he's been running about 125 all night. I gave him 1T MC @ +10 to bring him up a tad.

I'm curious about his numbers, he's never been flat, that low, before.

Thoughts?
it's what you want to see, deb. :mrgreen:
a flat cycle (whether it's pink, yellow, or blue) will often precede an active cycle. obviously the lower the flat... the more we have to pay attention.

nckitties3 said:
I'm guessing it is doing what we want it to then? Not a reason to be concerned? Just very odd numbers for Lucian, didn't know what to think about it.
this is progress! a flat in the blues... this is what you've been working your butt off for! :lol:

nckitties3 said:
How long should I continue to keep him from earning a reduction? There's no doubt in my mind, he would have today had I not kept boosting him with MC every hour.
this was a beautiful cycle!!!

lucian is not the typical newly diagnosed kitty. because of that... i wouldn't change a darn thing right now. not one thing. what you want is for lucian to do it again... and again... and again. as he spends more and more time in normal numbers his body will stop freaking out. his body will think, "hey... this is ok. no need to panic. no need to bounce into the upper stratosphere. i can relax. "

you know this dose can bring him down into normal numbers and you have R to deal with the bounce! this is a good thing! progress! yaaaaaaay!


here's the thing... he wouldn't need R if the lantus dose was sufficient to keep his numbers down throughout the cycle... cycle after cycle. however, you're now at a point where there really isn't much wiggle room to increase the lantus dose right now because he'd drop TOO low. his cycle was easily managed with food today. when you have to fight to keep his numbers up OR if he should drop too low... that's when i would reduce the lantus dose... and not before then.

make sense?



to anyone following along... these comments are made for lucian only. please don't apply these principles to your cat. lucian is being fed to slow drops in an effort to help with bouncing and he's also being fed to prevent him from earning reductions in order to keep enough insulin in him to help flatten out the cycle(s).
 
Re: 6/9 Lucian +3.75/80,+5/54,+6/64,+7/70,+8/114,+10/HI,PMPS

Thanks ladies, as long as I know I'm on the right track. :thumbup

Deb, I use Friskees Beef @14 carbs and Tuna/egg @8 I think, but it effects him like MC. Those are the 2 I keep for MC. The HC, I have 3 in his hypo kit that are 22-23 carbs. Need to get to the store tomorrow and get more food, if he'll stay calm for a while and let me get some stuff done.

Wish I had gotten +9 today, I was so exhausted from being up most of the night sick and trying to nap between tests today, it slipped my mind.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top