6/9 Leo-ate at hospital and being sent home with DGpa

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracy & Leo

Member Since 2011
Hi All,

I'm at work and my dad just phoned me, Leo is very sick and has not eaten today besides 2 mice this morning. My parents say he is laying around acting sick, they tried getting him to eat anything, raw meat which he never refuses. My mom said she forced a pepcid down his throat a little while ago. He is not vomiting or anything that they know of. I told my dad to call the vet and get him in ASAP, which he's going to do right now and will phone me back as soon as he speaks to the vet. He did shoot his full dose of insulin an hour ago as well. I'm worried sick and there is nothing i can do from work....... :cry:

Please send all the healing vines you can for my boy.
 
Re: 6/9 Leo-sick not eating, need vines

Other than not having an appy, is there anything unusual? There must be something triggering his not eating. He has not eaten one meal? or since last night?
 
Re: 6/9 Leo-sick not eating, need vines

Oh, Tracy, I hope that Leo will be fine. We are sending him heaps of healing vines. Could he have eaten a mouse that had been poisoned? Or one that had a disease? Please let us know what your father can find out at the vets.

Ella & Rusty

Leo, buddy, I want you to feel better! KTSS will bring you some chicken soup tonight.
your pal,
Rusty
 
Re: 6/9 Leo-sick not eating, need vines

Sending good thoughts for Leo. Please update when you can.
 
Re: 6/9 Leo-sick not eating, need vines

(((Tracy))) healing vines and prayers for Leo. I know how much you love him. I hope GDPa can get hin into the Vet tonght. We'll be waiting an update.
 
Re: 6/9 Leo-sick not eating, need vines

Oh goodness, it's bad enough when you are there and feel like you can at least do something like talk to him and pet him. It's so much worse when you are far away. Leo knows you are thinking about him and he has his DGP there so he is not alone. Hopefully the vet will sort it out toot sweet and your next call will be good news. Here's lots of healing vines for our boy Leo.
 

Attachments

  • healing vines.jpg
    healing vines.jpg
    536.1 KB · Views: 1,347
Re: 6/9 Leo-sick not eating, need vines

They said he is acting very lethargic, hasn't eaten all day except for this morning and has high numbers.

I called the vet clinic we normally see, Dr. Andrea isn't on call and the on call vet is refusing to see him due to his "number of issues" (diabetes and acro). The vet said "there is nothing i can do for him". Ughhhh!!!!!!! Anyway, Leo is going to the university vet hospital, i've already phoned and made sure there is someone there and told my dad and gave him directions to the hospital. Its about an hour drive for them and they were leaving about 5 minutes ago.

I feel sick to my stomach because i can't be there for my boy.
 
Re: 6/9 Leo-sick not eating, need vines

(((((Tracy and Leo))))) I know how hard it must be to be away from Leo now, but you know he is in great hands with your dad. Please keep us updated.

I won't say what I think about that vet. grr_red
 
Re: 6/9 Leo-sick not eating, need vines

Oh, Tracy, it is crazy that a vet won't see Leo because of his "issues". Many, many prayers for you, Leo, and DGp. I'll be watching for an update... :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/9 Leo-sick not eating, need vines

Unbelievable that a vet would say that. And he wouldn't even call Dr. Andrea!!!! I'd talk to her about it for certain.

Sending Leo mega healing vines and snowflakes. Our prayers are with you but Libby is right. Your parents truly love Leo and will do everything he needs until you get home.

 
Re: 6/9 Leo-sick not eating, need vines

Leo get well soon!
Tracy dont worry too much, your parents will take good care of him. Find some work to keep yourself busy for these couple of hours to calm down. Pls keep us posted.
 
Re: 6/9 Leo-sick not eating, need vines

((((Tracy)))) ((((Leo))))
The good news is that there is a university vet clinic within a relatively reasonable distance. Sending tons of vines.

I think when you get back, you need to sit down with Dr. Andrea. What the other vet did is patient abandonment. In the US, that's malpractice. On the other hand, I don't know that I'd want this fool to be treating Leo. I think his saying Leo has "issues" is vet-speak for he's incompetent to manage Leo's FD, etc. Maybe Dr. Andrea would be comfortable giving you her phone number.
 
Re: 6/9 Leo-sick not eating, need vines

((((Tracy and Leo))))
Sending lots of healing vines and prayers. Praying also for a safe trip to the hospital.
 
Re: 6/9 Leo-sick not eating, need vines

(((((Tracy))))) tons of healing vines for Leo. Thinking of you, Leo and DGps.
Liz
 
Re: 6/9 Leo-sick not eating, need vines

Thinking of you and Leo and GdPa. Sending healing vines and positive thoughts... :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/9 Leo-sick not eating, need vines

Oh Tracy, I'm heartsick, that you would be treated like that. Where is the compassion!
Okay, I deleted what I originally said. Negativity isn't needed here. I'm Pi$$ed for you
Your parents love Leo so much, they will make sure he gets the care he needs. Poor little guy.
I'm sending lots and lots of prayers for Leo's quick recovery and prayers for your peace of mind. I know you're far away and frightened (((Tracy)))
 
Re: 6/9 Leo-sick not eating, need vines

I was so angry with the vet i just hung up on him before i started swearing at him.

Update #1
Leo and his grandpa made it to the hospital, they were waiting outside while the hospital staff went back in to grab Leo a carrier, (of all the weeks i forget to bring Leo's carrier with him when i dropped him off at my parents for the week). My dad said he was his usual self in the car, meowing and looking out the window and trying to sit on his lap. DGpa will take his cell phone in with him and phone me with another update just as soon as they see the vet and come up with an action plan.
 
Re: 6/9 Leo-sick not eating, need vines

Hi Tracy - I am sorry that Leo isn't feeling well. I am sending healing vines and postie thoughts for Leo. I know how hard it is when you can't be there.
I am so very sorry about your vet's office response, and their refusal to see him. That for me is really inexcusable.

Be well Leo!
 
Re: 6/9 Leo-sick not eating, need vines

The fact that Leo was us usual self in the car is awesome news. Still praying here...
 
Re: 6/9 Leo-sick not eating, need vines

I really really really hope Leo is just being a cat and is fine by now!!!!!
 
Re: 6/9 Leo-sick not eating, need vines

Sending lots of healing vines to Leo! I wonder if the mice had eaten something toxic before he ate them?

I agree with Sienne; what the on-call vet did is unacceptable and you should definitely speak with Dr. Andrea as soon as you have the chance. Write down exactly what the on-call vet told you so you have it documented.
 
Re: 6/9 Leo-sick not eating, need vines

Update #2

A nice doctor saw Leo who knew all about his acro, us going to Colorado for SRT, etc. They took him for bloodwork and BG testing. DGpa will call again soon. I'm feeling calmer now that Leo is in good hands at the hospital.
 
Re: 6/9 Leo-sick not eating, need vines

(((((Tracy)))) Sending lots of healing vines and hoping for the best for Leo. So glad to hear he is in good hands now.
 
Re: 6/9 Leo-at hospital getting tests done

I'm glad you're feeling calmer. Between DGpa and the hospital, he's in the best hands possible while you are away.
 
Re: 6/9 Leo-at hospital getting tests done

Tracy, this is good that Leo is in good hands and that he was acting totally normally in the car on the way to the hospital. Your dad and mom are wonderful. We are sending many beautiful healing vines to Leo tonight and prayers that he will be fine very soon.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:s to you, Leo, and your parents,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 6/9 Leo-at hospital getting tests done

I'm glad he is at the hospital and it is a dr who knows his history. Hugs hugs hugs and more healing vines for Leo!!!
 
Re: 6/9 Leo-at hospital getting tests done-update

Ok bloodwork back in, everything looks good except his protein which was a little high, he's also slightly dehydrated so he's getting fluids right now. I asked my dad if the vet had mentioned pancreatitis and he said no. They offered to keep him overnight but DGpa wants his kitty home with him, the vet said to bring him back tomorrow if he doesn't improve. I wonder if this is another pancreatitis episode? I told my dad to get the vet to call me ASAP, i'd like to ask her about pancreatitis and if they would be willing to give my dad some bupe and cerenia just in case. When he had his panc attack last time this was exactly how it started, him not eating.

Edit, his BG was 22 something or around the area of high 300's to low 400's.
 
Re: 6/9 Leo-at hospital getting tests done-update

What a shock to see the mighty hunter is not well. I'm glad your parents were so quick to get him to place that knows him and will do the best for him. Hugs for you, lots of healing vines for Leo.
 
Re: 6/9 Leo-at hospital getting tests done

I'm glad Leo is at a vet hospital that cares. I hope Leo will be back to his normal self very quickly.
Even though it must be so hard to be away from Leo, your dad and mom are taking great care of Leo.
(((Tracy & Leo))) I hope you can get the bupe and cerenia for him, just in case it is pancreatitis.
 
Re: 6/9 Leo-at hospital getting tests done-update

Paws crossed you get an answer soon. Poor Leo, poor DGPa, and poor you, so far away. :YMHUG:
Sounds like Leo is in a good place with great care.
 
Ok Dr. Johnston just called me, a very nice lady with an english accent called. Leo is doing much better, all tests were good and he got some fluids, she said he presented very well and she had no concerns there, he's alert and bright, gums look good, and tummy felt good on palpation. His BG was 18.1mmol/L which is normal for him. No ketones in his urine and his electrolytes and blood pH was good as well. She was worried it could have been DKA but she ruled it out. She said he was very talkative and they thought they'd try feeding him some royal canin recovery fuds and he gobbled it all up and wanted more. She figured he had some slight GI issues and thought it may have been another pancreatitis attack but his tummy palpation was so good she wasn't worried about that either. She said "your dad is very worried about him" i told her i was too!!! I told her that my mom gave Leo some pepcid around his shot time and that could be the reason he's feeling better, she agreed. DGpa is supposed to watch him tonight and tomorrow and bring him back tomorrow if he doesn't want to eat and they will continue with fluids and more in depth testing to find out what's wrong. I think i'll tell DGpa to feed Leo some junk food (HC FF fuds) if that's what it takes to get him eating tonight.

The receptionist called shortly after to settle the bill and told me what a sweetheart Leo was and how they all hoped he starts feeling better soon........awwwwwww.

Thank you so much everyone for your kind thoughts and prayers tonight, i appreciate it very much and it helped me to get thru tonight while i was doing all this waiting. Love you all!!!!
 
I am so relieved that Leo is feeling better. I can imagine how awful you felt being away from him. Thank goodness he is in good hands.

continued vines for Leo...
MJ
 
Worst feeling in the world, not being able to be with Leo while he's not feeling good. I haven't eaten either and doubt i'll be getting to sleep anytime soon. I'd give anything to be home with him right now, but am so happy he's feeling better and ate a bit. He eats like such a horse that its very worrisome hearing he hasn't eaten all day.

Thanks again everyone, i'm going to wait for DGpa's call when they get back home, then hopefully get some zzzzzzz's.
 
I just got home and had to check. So happy to see a good report. Still sending good thoughts for you guys. Hope you all get some sleep and Leo continues to eat.
 
I am so happy and relieved to hear the news of Leo! What amazing parents and they truly love him, too. I can imagine your relief getting the good news. More healing vines for Leo continued recovery. Hope Leo is enjoying all the FF and good food. Cant' wait to hear how good he's feeling today. (((Tracy and Leo))) :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
I'm very relieved to wake up to this news! I hope Leo continues to feel better today, and I hope you were able to get a bit of sleep.
 
What good news! Your parents are simply amazing to take such good care of Leo and feel just like you do about him. Of course, who wouldn't love Leo?!!! I am hoping that he ate lots of the good fuds last night and is doing better this morning.
 
This was my first condo to go to this morning and I'm so happy to hear a good vet report! Sending more feel better vines for Leo. You are so lucky that your parents are just as devoted to Leo as you are.
 
oh wow tracy .. I'm so sorry leo was not feeling well and you had to deal with all that being away from home .. so glad he is doing better and that he's back in his comfort zone .. I know your parents love him very much and would do anything to keep him feeling 100% so focus on that and try not to stress ok? I know, easier said then done!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top