6/9 kit AT2. AMPS311, +2 291, +5 350, +7 310, +10 363, PMPS 313

JOJI and Kit

Member Since 2019
yesterday
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...amps-329-3-363-6-5-352-9-430-pmps-345.230654/

good morning,

day 3 in kit's switch to lantus from prozinc.

wasnt able to get a relion meter reading this morning .... two error strips in a row :(
so we only have the alphatrak2 number for AMPS.
we are definitely having a harder time handling the relion. and it seems that we get more errors with it than we typically have w the AT2. we will keep trying to make the switch, but for now kit's a two meter kitty.
 
since we are still trying to make the "big switch" to the human meter, we've got dual readings for most of the day.

at +10
alphatrak 2 says she's trending up.
relion says she's trending down.

marginally all within meter variance?
or reason to be thinking ahead to PMPS?
 
ok. we shot 3.75U

loaded up w strips and food and lots of kitty love
please give us a 20/20 hindsight evaluation on our decision when you get a chance.
tia. ^jw
 
we took a PM +2.5 and were only able to get the relion BG.
she's now at 220, up from the relion PMPS of 202.

@tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko
if there is any guidance for the morning dose that would be appreciated.
also, any feedback on how we handled the PM dose today.
thanks!
 
Hi there ! Welcome to the world of Lantus :)

You will eventually get used to the human meter...it just takes some time. The meter variance is larger in the higher ranges and then decreases as the BGs reach the normal (lower) range.
As far as a dose, I would check a +11 in the am maybe so that when you grab a AMPS - you will have an idea of which way the numbers are trending. I feel better about shooting lower preshot numbers than I was used to when I had data that showed me that my cat's BG was on it's way up - and even continued to rise after I give him insulin. This +11 check will also give you a chance to post and ask for help. Generally with SLGS, you hold a dose for a week, perform a BG curve ( checking every 2 hours for a cycle or every 3 hours for 16 hours) and then adjust the dose based on the nadirs during that curve. You will want to use the Preshot numbers a bit when considering whether it is safe to shoot, but most of the consideration in dosing comes from how low the insulin dose you are giving/going to give is taking your cat's BG.
Since you gave a reduced dose tonight and recently switched to Lantus, I am not sure if you would start the 7 days count over or would just keep going at this dose and check a curve in 3 days ...
 
Last edited:
I meant the 7 days at one dose. For SLGS you hold a dose for a week and then make adjustments based on nadirs.
Since you just started Lantus I don't know if that start date should be where you count the days at 4 units- or if the 7 days starts over now with you giving a reduced dose of 3.75 this evening.....
 
Since you just started Lantus I don't know if that start date should be where you count the days at 4 units- or if the 7 days starts over now with you giving a reduced dose of 3.75 this evening.....
ah, thanks for the explanation.
how do we find out the answer?
and we are especially uncertain about what the morning dose should be?
so, keep it at 3.75U or back to 4U?
when we were on prozinc, we would have gone back to 4U in the morning if the AMPS wasn't too low.
but maybe that's incorrect for lantus? :confused:
 
if there is any guidance for the morning dose that would be appreciated.
also, any feedback on how we handled the PM dose today.
Lantus is a depot insulin. The depot needs 5-7 days of consistent dosing to build. Since you are following SLGS, you keep the same dose for 7 days, unless he goes under 90. I would go back to 4 units tomorrow. Some cats do what we call a "Lantus double dip", where they do a tiny downward curve at the end of the cycle, but not as low as the main nadir. That could have been what you saw today. With new people, you are fine to shoot over 200. Remember, we determine now to change the dose based on the nadirs, not the preshot values - unless of course the preshot is the nadir.
 
Lantus is a depot insulin. The depot needs 5-7 days of consistent dosing to build. Since you are following SLGS, you keep the same dose for 7 days, unless he goes under 90. I would go back to 4 units tomorrow. Some cats do what we call a "Lantus double dip", where they do a tiny downward curve at the end of the cycle, but not as low as the main nadir. That could have been what you saw today. With new people, you are fine to shoot over 200. Remember, we determine now to change the dose based on the nadirs, not the preshot values - unless of course the preshot is the nadir.


thanks.

on prozinc we saw kit nadir not infrequently at PMPS. based on the relion data that’s what happened today. while based on AT2 data, the nadir was at +2

so to recap
1. back to 4U in the AM
2. restart the 7 day count on the 4U dose with the AM cycle
3. the 202 relion PMPS would have been okay to have shot full dose.
 
More a mental state. Especially when you are coming from other insulins, or even just new to insulin, you tend to see big drops from higher numbers. That can happen with Lantus too. But Lantus (and Levemir) are great a keeping low numbers flat and low. So you have to get over the fear of big drops when you see a lower preshot number. Having the data of shooting progressively lower numbers full dose gives you the confidence.
 
Back
Top