6/9 Jinx PMPS 90... +2.5 58, +3 58, +3.5 67, +4.5 80, +6 114

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/9 Jinx AMPS 400

Pre-shot numbers don't matter as much as nadir (mid-cycle) numbers do when tracking progress.
Also, every time you make a change to Jinx's routine, like adjusting the Flagyl, that will effect BG levels.
 
Re: 6/9 Jinx AMPS 400

I have these incredibly sexy yellow patience pants with spike heels that I have loaned out to other members via the Sisterhood of the Travelling Patience Pants :lol: :lol:

Unfortunately, I don't have them in red or pink and I'm pretty sure they wouldn't fit you anyway :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 6/9 Jinx AMPS 400, +5 322

Cathy, thanks for the post. I'll get over being concerned with high pre-shots and will just focus on nadirs. Also, haven't confirmed Jinx has loose stools (his civvie sister does right now) since taking him off the flagyl but I have a feeling that's the case. Will try to confirm today.

Marje, I'll pass on the pants and heels, but, point taken :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 6/9 Jinx AMPS 400, +5 322, PMPS *90*

That definitely got my attention! Will get a +1 and post right away.
 
Re: 6/9 Jinx AMPS 400, +5 322, PMPS *90*

Well, you told Jinx you didn't like the red pre-shot from the AM. He aims to please!

A +1 sounds like a very good idea.
 
Re: 6/9 Jinx AMPS 400, +5 322, PMPS *90*

Hi, Sienne! Yeah, it certainly appears that way. Although, he'll really please me if he doesn't bounce. We'll see very soon.
 
Re: 6/9 Jinx AMPS 400, +5 322, PMPS *90*

Goodness!!!! Someone has decided that the extra dose was enough. That's what I was a little concerned about.....

I'll be around for your +1 and +2.
 
Re: 6/9 Jinx AMPS 400, +5 322, PMPS 90, +1 73

Oh boy... Thanks for staying on, Marje. I really appreciate it.

Will post the +2 right away. Have some HC standing by just in case.
 
Re: 6/9 Jinx AMPS 400, +5 322, PMPS 90, +1 73

What you want to do is feed him a couple of tsps of his regular food after you test. We call that lather, rinse, repeat so test, feed, post his number.

I hope you have the coffee on!
 
Re: 6/9 Jinx AMPS 400, +5 322, PMPS 90, +1 73

I agree with Sienne and should have told you that. I'll keep an eye out for that +1.5.
 
Re: 6/9 Jinx AMPS 400, +5 322, PMPS 90, +1 73, +1.5 52

Tested 52 at +1.5. Giving 1tsp HC unless someone advises otherwise real soon.
 
Re: 6/9 Jinx AMPS 400, +5 322, PMPS 90, +1 73, +1.5 52

Do it...try just the gravy. See you in 30.

He's at a safe number...we just need to get him slowed down.
 
Re: 6/9 Jinx AMPS 400, +5 322, PMPS 90, +1 73, +1.5 52

I did Marje, except I gave food and gravy. Let me know if I should give more gravy now. I'll check again at 11MST and will post right away.

Also, my internet was just down for the past 10min. If you see me logged off this board or not responding when I say I'm going to, my number is 720-234-3979.
 
Re: 6/9 Jinx AMPS 400, +5 322, PMPS 90, +1 73, +1.5 52

Also, I used my last AT test strip at +1.5. On the OT he tested at 52. It was 66 on the AT.
 
Re: 6/9 Jinx AMPS 400, +5 322, PMPS 90, +1 73, +1.5 52

Good comparison on the meters.

You don't want him to get too full..the night is young so I'd stick with gravy and just a tiny bit of food.

Thanks for the number.
 
Re: 6/9 Jinx PMPS 90, +1 73, +1.5 52, +2 50, +2.5 58

Better. Has he had any dinner or is it time for a LC meal? If so, I'd give it to him. If not, just give him a couple tsp LC.
 
Re: 6/9 Jinx PMPS 90, +1 73, +1.5 52, +2 50, +2.5 58

He had dinner 2.5 hours ago so he's not due for another 3.5 hrs.
 
Re: 6/9 Jinx PMPS 90, +1 73, +1.5 52, +2 50, +2.5 58

Sorry I didn't respond to your last, Marje. He's still testing at 58. More LC?
 
Re: 6/9 Jinx PMPS 90, +1 73, +1.5 52, +2 50, +2.5 58, +3 58

Yes...I'd like to see him up a bit more before we go to every hour. See you in 30.... Are you both doing ok?
 
Re: 6/9 Jinx PMPS 90, +1 73, +1.5 52, +2 50, +2.5 58, +3 58

Yeah, he's doing well and so am I. He's getting a small treat after each poke so he's happy and surprisingly more tolerant to it than usual.

Thank-you so much for staying up with us, Marje. Especially considering this is a Saturday night. I'll feed him another 2tsp of LC now and will test in 30. As soon as you feel like I can take over, please let me know.
 
Re: 6/9 Jinx PMPS 90, +1 73, +1.5 52, +2 50, +2.5 58, +3 58

I'm up anyway so don't worry. Let's see where he is with the next test and then we'll see how you feel about it. :-D
 
Re: 6/9 Jinx PMPS 90... +1.5 52, +2 50, +2.5 58, +3 58, +3.5

Also, I feel ok taking over unless you think that's being a little overconfident. If he dips in the 50s again, I'll give him a tsp of HC and will test every half hour until he goes up, repeating as necessary. Just let me when you think it's safe for me to go to bed, e.g. two sets of increasing numbers above 200? At the least, I'll be up with him for the next 3 hours.
 
Re: 6/9 Jinx PMPS 90... +1.5 52, +2 50, +2.5 58, +3 58, +3.5

Yes...you can go to hour testing. You need two, rising, non food influenced numbers or if he goes over 200.

Good luck...hope you get some rest. Anything I can help you with now?
 
Re: 6/9 Jinx PMPS 90... +1.5 52, +2 50, +2.5 58, +3 58, +3.5

I assume it goes without saying that he's getting a dose reduction to 3.0u tomorrow morning, right?

Also, am I wrong to think that he could have went dangerously low tonight if we didn't give him the HC when we did? Does this mean that 3.25u (at least for now) is too high for him and we need to see how he does at 3.0u for awhile longer?

Thank-you again, Marje. I really appreciate you being here for us tonight.
 
Re: 6/9 Jinx PMPS 90... +1.5 52, +2 50, +2.5 58, +3 58, +3.5

He didn't go below 50 so theoretically, he doesn't earn a reduction. But see below....

Remember our discussion about the last good dose when you took him up and I was concerned this dose might be too much so we just added some fat? Now you can see what I meant by that. But he was hanging out in pretty high numbers at the f3u.

You can wait it out at this dose and see if in the next cycle or so, he comes back down to where he earns the reduction or, if you are uncomfortable with him at this dose, you can take him back to the 3u and see how he does this time. If you leave him at this dose, like I said the other day, you must get the +2 and before bed tests...and probably some others in between to catch this kind of action.

I try not to make any conclusions about whether they would go dangerously low. You're testing and so you catch it and control it. Some cats go down and bring themselves up with no problem. That isn't a risk I feel safe taking with your cat or mine and so we feed to bring them up. If you are asking because of the dose, then take him down and see what he does.

Sometimes we end up going up and down around a dose until they decide to be successful with the reduction. Does that help?
 
Re: 6/9 Jinx PMPS 90... +1.5 52, +2 50, +2.5 58, +3 58, +3.5

IMHO, because you monitor him, I'd take him up. The challenge is that the protocol states for a failed reduction, take them back up to the last good dose but the last good dose is not the one that got him to 68 on an AT. While the general thought is there is a 30 mg/dl difference between the AT and a human glucometer, it does seem to vary. Have you compared your OT to the AT at lower numbers? If they are close and the 68 might have been near 50, then 3.25u might be his last good dose. If they are not close so that 68 was more like a low 40s number, you might want to try fattening his dose.

I guess what I don't understand is that 3.25u got him to 68 on the AT and earned him the reduction, right? Then, after no greens for 4 cycles at 3.0u, we fattened the 3.0u for one cycle. Maybe, I should have stuck with that a little longer...

Normally we would hold the dose six cycles but he doesn't look like he's going to go much of anywhere on this dose. I think if you want to take himup, that's fine but I'd like to see more +2 tests and the continuance of the before bed tests at night.

Then, I did a dosecrease to 3.25u and here we are. I thought it was safe to say that had we not given him HC, there's a pretty good chance he would have dropped below 50. But, from you said, I probably shouldn't assume that. So, I'm not sure at this point whether to drop him to 3.0u, 3.0u(f), or keep him where he's at. I know it's late so we can continue this tomorrow. I'll think about what I feel comfortable with as far as the dose but if you feel strongly about a dose for him, please let me know. Thanks again for everything, Marje.
 
Re: 6/9 Jinx PMPS 90... +1.5 52, +2 50, +2.5 58, +3 58, +3.5

I understand your concern. I actually wasn't saying he wouldn't go below 50 if you had not fed him the HC...I was saying I didn't know if he would go dangerously low ;-) while I don't like cats to hang out in the 40s or dip their toes in the 30s, it depends on the cat as to what is dangerously low. Most cats are fine in the 40s....it just isn't much cushion to the 30s and I do not like Gracie to be in the 30s.

I think the decision is yours. If the AT is running that close to the OT, maybe he didn't get that low the other night but the fact that he reacted so quickly to this dose tells me he might not be at it much longer if you leave him here. The thing is, if you want to leave him where he is until he earns a reduction, you will have to test him more. I don't know what your schedule is like so if it's not possible to do so, you could try to take him down again.

iMHO, if you can test more, I'd be tempted to leave him at this dose and let him earn the reduction. If you are nervous about that, I understand...take him to 3u and give him some time to see what he does. Yes...we could have left him longer at the f3u but I sensed a lot of worry about those high numbers (nadirs).

If he bounces, I'd shoot the 3.25u in the morning and monitor. That gives you tomorrow to see how he does and if you want to take him to 3u, you can do it tomorrow night.

Thoughts? I'm up for another 15 rounding up cats :-D
 
Re: 6/9 Jinx PMPS 90... +2 50, +2.5 58, +3 58, +3.5 67, +4.5

I'll be able to test him more and will make sure to get +2s. Especially, if I keep on 3.25u. If he bounces by AMPS, I'll definitely give him 3.25u. If he doesn't, I'm not sure but I will still probably keep him at 3.25u. Thanks, Marje.
 
Re: 6/9 Jinx PMPS 90... +2 50, +2.5 58, +3 58, +3.5 67, +4.5

Then again, it's hard to say b/c had we not given him HC today or if he had dropped 1 mg/dL less (than 50), he would have earned a reduction. I'm going to sleep on it....
 
Re: 6/9 Jinx PMPS 90... +2 50, +2.5 58, +3 58, +3.5 67, +4.5

Anyone can say the latter.....if I gave Gracie a reduction every time she "could" have dropped below 40 if zi hadn't managed the curve, we would have been up and down the dosing scale more than we have been.

BUT you make a valid point that he was close. The other thing to consider is that he came up easily. I had decided to give Gracie a reduction the other day even tho she had only gone below 50 twice instead of three times. But my reasoning was because she did not come up easily from the 40s and I was having to feed and test all day long. She took the decision out of my hands by giving me a 44 at +12 so I knew I had been thinking on the right path.

Night Joe. You'll see it more clearly in the morning. Really great job tonight!
 
Re: 6/9 Jinx PMPS 90... +2 50, +2.5 58, +3 58, +3.5 67, +4.5

You're right, Marje. It would be a bad habit for me to get in to -- assuming that he "would have" earned a reduction, had we not have influenced the curve through food. I think I know what I'm going to do but I'm going to sleep on it. Good night and thank-you again.
 
Re: 6/9 Jinx PMPS 90... +2.5 58, +3 58, +3.5 67, +4.5 80, +6

Nice string of greens last night, Jinx cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top