? 6/9 Ivy Lo/66 Contour, Dropping preshot +1 53/Libre, 86 Contour +1.75, 71 +2 Libre, 297 +8 Libre

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...102-5-54-1-69-2-103-3-252-5-how-boost.278361/
Edit: Now on Contour next 66/Lo on Libre (doesn’t even show a number on Libre now)
Fed some mc mixed in with her lc meal. Waiting to shoot.

was 66 now! Libre reading
Ivy has Steeply dropping numbers again am getting ready NOW to shoot, second day on Increased dose at 3.5 units Lantus, do I shoot? @Bandit's Mom @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Wendy&Neko @Sienne and Gabby (GA)
upload_2023-6-9_6-1-2.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-6-9_6-1-2.png
    upload_2023-6-9_6-1-2.png
    83.8 KB · Views: 270
Last edited:
I’m looking at the SS and it is for an alpha track meter, but it looks as if you are using the contour next meter and the libre meter which are both human meters. Is that all correct? If so we need to get you out over to a human meter SS.
Did you take a reading with the contour meter at AMPS as well?
 
I’m looking at the SS and it is for an alpha track meter, but it looks as if you are using the contour next meter and the libre meter which are both human meters. Is that all correct? If so we need to get you out over to a human meter SS.
Did you take a reading with the contour meter at AMPS as well?
I’m using contour next human meter to check. Will do that now before feeding.
 
I’m using human meter Contour next. Read was 83
Ok that is lower BG than you normally shoot. It looks like she comes off the bounce and drops quite low.
And she could drop further looking at the SS before she starts to come back up.
I would be cautious and give a smaller dose as a one off…maybe others wouldn’t agree, but that is what I would do.
Can you monitor this cycle?
If so I would give 2 units and test again at +0.5 to see if you need to feed some higher carb food.
Are you happy with that?
If so, I would feed the meal now.
 
Ok that is lower BG than you normally shoot. It looks like she comes off the bounce and drops quite low.
And she could drop further looking at the SS before she starts to come back up.
I would be cautious and give a smaller dose as a one off…maybe others wouldn’t agree, but that is what I would do.
Can you monitor this cycle?
If so I would give 2 units and test again at +0.5 to see if you need to feed some higher carb food.
Are you happy with that?
If so, I would feed the meal now.
Ok will do that! but since this is a one off, it seems like this is a continual pattern. So how do I treated as a one off when it keeps happening over and over again?
 
Ok will do that! but since this is a one off, it seems like this is a continual pattern. So how do I treated as a one off when it keeps happening over and over again?
It is a one off dose.
Becasue this cycle will be influenced by the previous cycle for the first half of the cycle, she could still keep dropping so you will need to be aware of that. I will be around for the next 2 to 3 hours then I will ask @Bandit's Mom to keep an eye on you.
 
Ok will do that! but since this is a one off, it seems like this is a continual pattern. So how do I treated as a one off when it keeps happening over and over again?
Now reading Lo on Libre. Just fed with 1 tsp mc mixed in food
upload_2023-6-9_6-38-38.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-6-9_6-38-38.png
    upload_2023-6-9_6-38-38.png
    80.6 KB · Views: 271
Same. Still low on Libre. She ate but it’s not coming up. Not sure if I shoot?? I’m stalling.
She’s about an hour past normal shot time. do you think I skip or give a half a dose of 1.75??
Just bumped up to 50 on Libre. I would guess that’s probably double on a human meter, approximately. Still low for Ivy!
 
Same. Still low on Libre. She ate but it’s not coming up. Not sure if I shoot?? I’m stalling.
She’s about an hour past normal shot time. do you think I skip or give a half a dose of 1.75??
Once you have fed, you can’t stall, but you can wait a bit longer to see if she will come up.
Because of a history of ketones we don’t want to skip if possible.
What does the contour next say now.?
You could give a half dose or 1 unit if you are not comfortable with a half dose. Either way you will need to monitor.
 
She seems to have late nadirs - like +13 and then head up from there. Depending on where she is now after food and if you can monitor, you could shoot the whole dose.
 
Once you have fed, you can’t stall, but you can wait a bit longer to see if she will come up.
Because of a history of ketones we don’t want to skip if possible.
What does the contour next say now.?
You could give a half dose or 1 unit if you are not comfortable with a half dose. Either way you will need to monitor.
Ugh. I’ll test contour now. Be right back. What dose do I think is best?
 
I will be around for the next hour and then Bhooma will be around after that and then I think @tiffmaxee might be around so someone will keep an eye on you. In all likelihood Ivy will shoot back up higher. She is a diver and a bouncer like my Sheba was!
Remember you can manage any drops with higher carb food and/or honey. If you are testing, you are in control.
 
She seems to have late nadirs - like +13 and then head up from there. Depending on where she is now after food and if you can monitor, you could shoot the whole dose.
So knowing this late nadir is her pattern VERY OFTEN, (almost most days!!!) how do I operate to reduce this situation on a daily basis????
I can see her diving an hour ahead of shot time. How do I deal with this? :arghh:
 
I am also going to tag @Angela & Cleo to watch out for you since I too have to step out for a couple of hours.
Like Bron said, feed small snacks every hour.

Also, once you have caught a breath, please share the edit link of Ivy's SS so I can make the changes from pet to human meter.
I think I changed the red banner on SS to just read Contour & Libre. If I didn’t do correctly, how do I share that link with you?
 
So knowing this late nadir is her pattern VERY OFTEN, (almost most days!!!) how do I operate to reduce this situation on a daily basis????
I can see her diving an hour ahead of shot time. How do I deal with this? :arghh:
Are you up at PM+10 to get a test and give her a snack? The other option is to give her higher carbs at AMPS to prevent a dive later.

I think I changed the red banner on SS to just read Contour & Libre. If I didn’t do correctly, how do I share that link with you?
You would also need to change the formatting of the cells so that they turn lime only below 50 and not below 68. Do you use a computer/laptop or a phone to update the SS?
 
So knowing this late nadir is her pattern VERY OFTEN, (almost most days!!!) how do I operate to reduce this situation on a daily basis????
I can see her diving an hour ahead of shot time. How do I deal with this? :arghh:
I’m not entirely sure if the big drops is coming off the bounce or a late nadir. It’s not happening every day and it does look like she is bouncing on other days.
There is nothing you can do about bouncing, except if you see the BGs dropping you can feed the drop so it is not so dramatic.
If it is a late nadir, there is not a lot you can do with it except learn to shoot lower preshots. Then you will most likely get lovely flat green cycles, which everyone wants.
It is scary at first so just ease into it slowly.
 
Are you up at PM+10 to get a test and give her a snack? The other option is to give her higher carbs at AMPS to prevent a dive later.


You would also need to change the formatting of the cells so that they turn lime only below 50 and not below 68. Do you use a computer/laptop or a phone to update the SS?
Are you up at PM+10 to get a test and give her a snack? The other option is to give her higher carbs at AMPS to prevent a dive later.


You would also need to change the formatting of the cells so that they turn lime only below 50 and not below 68. Do you use a computer/laptop or a phone to update the SS?
I’ll send you a pm and you can tell me what you need to correct my SS and thank you!

I’m not up at 4 am which is +10. So I guess I’d have to feed higher carbs.
Would I add a some mc into her lc food (how much?)
or would I just feed mc only? I’m not sure how to accomplish bumping up the carbs for what she needs.
Plus she’s on a special homemade diet because she has some sensitivity and some IBD, it’s complicated with her and she’s also got kidney issues so I have to try not to feed too too much commercial made food if I can help it I suppose.
 
I’m not entirely sure if the big drops is coming off the bounce or a late nadir. It’s not happening every day and it does look like she is bouncing on other days.
There is nothing you can do about bouncing, except if you see the BGs dropping you can feed the drop so it is not so dramatic.
If it is a late nadir, there is not a lot you can do with it except learn to shoot lower preshots. Then you will most likely get lovely flat green cycles, which everyone wants.
It is scary at first so just ease into it slowly.
If it’s a late nadir, not sure, or a bounce breaking??
, I still don’t know the difference. I just know she dives in the hour up to dose time, very often.

And full dosing at those low numbers just send her lower.
I’m at + 1 and she’s only at 53 on Libre. (And I gave karo plus some mc mixed in her regular LC food)
She’s barely come up in an hour!
It takes her hours to recover from these dives, then she shoots high for rest of cycle. )

It seems there has to be a better strategy to keep her from diving all the time at +12 and thereafter!! I just don’t know what it is and hope a more experienced member can advise!
 
Update: At +1 she’s only at 53 on Libre and sleeping. (Probably around double on a human meter). Low for her to not get a rise at +1.
Gave a small lc snack @ +.45 with dab of karo. (No bump)
 
Back
Top