Chubba (GA)
Very Active Member
Condo - http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-8-gizmo-amps-470-6-402-pmps-405-advice-needed.178992/
Got a +7 last night = 378
AMPS=379
Got a +7 last night = 378
AMPS=379
The vet just got back to me. He wants me to increase insulin to 5 units! Gizmo is only on 3 units now. I don't think I am comfortable with that much of an increase. My plan is to watch him for a few more days to see if he is dropping low overnight and then go from there. I'm just not sure if I should increase him just a little or to 4 units when/if I decide to increase. I currently draw an extra unit into the syringe and when I squirt it back out (into the sink) it is only 3-4 drops. That seems like such a small amount, but maybe not.
That is unheard of, especially since Gizmo gave you a blue at 3u! And I see you are using an AT meter which registers higher than a human meter. If you do follow your vet's instructions, have a hypo kit ready and test more often, esp at night. Most of us use human meters since the strips are so much cheaper. Most vets will say you have to use an AT, but the more time you spend here, you will see that a human meter works just fine for everybody here. I am no a pro, but I would say increase to 3.5 and hold for a minimum of 6 cycles. Is Gizmo on a 100% wet food diet & all low carb? @Wendy&Neko @Doodles & Karen
I would nod and smile at the vet, and not increase to 5 units!
What type of syringes are you using? There are printedable scales for the BDs for smaller doses. You can make your own without calipers. It's more important that you be consistent than exact on the in between doses. The other thing you can do is count the number of drops in one unit, by twisting the syringe and trying to get even size drops. Practice with coloured water and a used syringe. Then once you know how many drops there are, you can squeeze out 1/2 for 0.5 units, etc. Load the syringe with one more unit than you need and squeeze out the drops to get to the desired dose. With seeing blue on an AT, the most we would increase here is to 3.25 units, provided you don't catch him going lower on your spot checks.
It is 4%.I am feeding Friskies Ocean Whitefish and Tuna. It is less than 10% carbs. I can't remember the exact number.
Never heard that before..but a different vet told me the variations in the food could be enough to not get him regulated
Having internet issues. Could be down until next Thursday! Hopefully not. Using cell data now to update periodically.
Anyways ... +7 = 285
If you are up, a +5 might be interesting. Nadirs can and do change, especially when there is bouncing involved, or clearing a bounce out of their system. If he's in the 100's at +5, you might want to leave some extra food out.