6-9 Gizmo AMPS=379

Status
Not open for further replies.
Even with the 1u syringes, you can judge a half if you don't have a caliper yet if the folks here or vet thinks you should do an increase.
 
The vet just got back to me. He wants me to increase insulin to 5 units! Gizmo is only on 3 units now. I don't think I am comfortable with that much of an increase. My plan is to watch him for a few more days to see if he is dropping low overnight and then go from there. I'm just not sure if I should increase him just a little or to 4 units when/if I decide to increase. I currently draw an extra unit into the syringe and when I squirt it back out (into the sink) it is only 3-4 drops. That seems like such a small amount, but maybe not.
 
The vet just got back to me. He wants me to increase insulin to 5 units! Gizmo is only on 3 units now. I don't think I am comfortable with that much of an increase. My plan is to watch him for a few more days to see if he is dropping low overnight and then go from there. I'm just not sure if I should increase him just a little or to 4 units when/if I decide to increase. I currently draw an extra unit into the syringe and when I squirt it back out (into the sink) it is only 3-4 drops. That seems like such a small amount, but maybe not.

That is unheard of, especially since Gizmo gave you a blue at 3u! And I see you are using an AT meter which registers higher than a human meter. If you do follow your vet's instructions, have a hypo kit ready and test more often, esp at night. Most of us use human meters since the strips are so much cheaper. Most vets will say you have to use an AT, but the more time you spend here, you will see that a human meter works just fine for everybody here. I am no a pro, but I would say increase to 3.5 and hold for a minimum of 6 cycles. Is Gizmo on a 100% wet food diet & all low carb? @Wendy&Neko @Doodles & Karen
 
I would nod and smile at the vet, and not increase to 5 units!

What type of syringes are you using? There are printedable scales for the BDs for smaller doses. You can make your own without calipers. It's more important that you be consistent than exact on the in between doses. The other thing you can do is count the number of drops in one unit, by twisting the syringe and trying to get even size drops. Practice with coloured water and a used syringe. Then once you know how many drops there are, you can squeeze out 1/2 for 0.5 units, etc. Load the syringe with one more unit than you need and squeeze out the drops to get to the desired dose. With seeing blue on an AT, the most we would increase here is to 3.25 units, provided you don't catch him going lower on your spot checks.
 
That is unheard of, especially since Gizmo gave you a blue at 3u! And I see you are using an AT meter which registers higher than a human meter. If you do follow your vet's instructions, have a hypo kit ready and test more often, esp at night. Most of us use human meters since the strips are so much cheaper. Most vets will say you have to use an AT, but the more time you spend here, you will see that a human meter works just fine for everybody here. I am no a pro, but I would say increase to 3.5 and hold for a minimum of 6 cycles. Is Gizmo on a 100% wet food diet & all low carb? @Wendy&Neko @Doodles & Karen

Thank you for all of your support. Gizmo is on 100% wet food. I am feeding Friskies Ocean Whitefish and Tuna. It is less than 10% carbs. I can't remember the exact number. That is all he eats besides the treats he gets with shots and ear pricks. I was feeding a variety of low carb wet food, but a different vet told me the variations in the food could be enough to not get him regulated. So we stuck with the one both of my cats ate the best.
 
I would nod and smile at the vet, and not increase to 5 units!

What type of syringes are you using? There are printedable scales for the BDs for smaller doses. You can make your own without calipers. It's more important that you be consistent than exact on the in between doses. The other thing you can do is count the number of drops in one unit, by twisting the syringe and trying to get even size drops. Practice with coloured water and a used syringe. Then once you know how many drops there are, you can squeeze out 1/2 for 0.5 units, etc. Load the syringe with one more unit than you need and squeeze out the drops to get to the desired dose. With seeing blue on an AT, the most we would increase here is to 3.25 units, provided you don't catch him going lower on your spot checks.

Th syringes are human syringes. They are lite touch. 29 gauge; 1/2cc; 12.7mm length
Thanks for all of your support, especially last night.
 
Having internet issues. Could be down until next Thursday! Hopefully not. Using cell data now to update periodically.

Anyways ... +7 = 285
 
Internet is working again (for now at least).

PMPS=387

What is a good moderate to high carb food to have on hand for hypo? I have dry food, but after learning more realize it isn't the best because it stays in the cat's system longer.
 
For high carb food (greater than 15%), many people here use the Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers. The carbs (wheat) is in the gravy and you just need to give them a spoon or two if the numbers drop low. I didn't use the FF, cause my Neko's GI system didn't like wheat, and it was too high phosphorus for her when she got her kidney diagnosis. I used some of the Weruva (Grandma's Chicken Soup) and Cats in the Kitchen pouches that get their carbs from potato.

Is there a reason you are testing a lot at +6 during the day? Some people have lunch break then. Although +6 is the typical nadir on Lantus, many kitties nadir at different times. It's good to mix up those "mid" cycle tests if you can. Somewhere from +4 to +7 is good.
 
PMPS = 387
+3 = 291

Guess I'm going to be checking him again tonight. When should I check again? He has only been in the 100s twice during the day. He is not used to numbers in the 200s or lower, so should I try to give him extra food if he drops any lower during the night. His nadir has been anywhere from +3 to +9. I am guessing that he was bouncing the other nights.
 
If you are up, a +5 might be interesting. Nadirs can and do change, especially when there is bouncing involved, or clearing a bounce out of their system. If he's in the 100's at +5, you might want to leave some extra food out.
 
If you are up, a +5 might be interesting. Nadirs can and do change, especially when there is bouncing involved, or clearing a bounce out of their system. If he's in the 100's at +5, you might want to leave some extra food out.

I have my alarm set for a plus 5. Thanks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top