6/9 Cody AMPS 382, +9 243 +10 294

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nancy and Cody

Member Since 2010
Hi All,
Today is Cody's 1st day on Lev, switching from Prozinc. He is an acrokitty.

As expected, his AMPS was high because he didn't get any insulin last cycle. He is acting pretty normal for him when he has numbers in the 300's for any length of time (= drinking water). He had his normal breffis of 1/4c of mama's special recipe & blood pressure med, which he inhaled as usual.

I need to run to Sam's to get more LRS and some longer syringes. I felt like a NEWBIE trying to use the u100 short syringes again, sweaty palms and all! Wow this stuff really has a strong smell, so I'm pretty sure we got it in (although I forgot to draw back for blood).

DD will be checking for the +4 and giving breffis #2 (1/4c), if I'm not back.

AMPS 382 7units (1/4c breffis & pill)
+1.5 379
+2.25 347
+ 3 336
+4.5 296 (1/4c lunch)
+6 292 ( 100ml LRS )
+8 247 (1/4c lunch #2)
+9 243 cruising/napping/ happy
+10 294
+11.75 286
+12.25 7units; then Hurray! dinner 1/4c & blood pressure pill
PM +2 318
pm+3.25 289



yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=16750
 
Re: 6/9 Cody AMPS 382, +2 347

Do not draw back for blood Nancy.. it's not necessary :)

Remember to find a vice to occupy your thoughts for the first few cycles.. we're gonna get you moving extra fast though. For people watching this condo, Nancy is going to be moving faster than protocol would normally allow for since she has a diagnosed acrocat and she is starting Levemir at half the dose of her previous insulin. She may well be increasing harder and faster than previously seen on FDMB... unless Cody REALLY likes his Lev :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/9 Cody AMPS 382, +2 347

Another PZI/ProZinc deserter! I'll be watching with interest. I think you guys are the first to go with Lev instead of Lantus ... or are there more of you out there?

Wishing you guys the best of luck. I'm gearing myself up to butt heads with the vet over an insulin change. My second vial of ProZinc is mostly empty and I think its time.
 
Re: 6/9 Cody AMPS 382, +2 347

Donna,

I think Prozinc is a good, long acting, very durable insulin, but on the doses Cody uses, we went thru a 10ml vial every 2 weeks ( or about $2500 / year). Levemir, being a u100 insulin has 2.5 more units in a vial, and since were hoping it has longer duration for him, maybe he won't need quite as much, and maybe he will stay more level throughout the cycles- hoping....

It took awhile to get my vet to write the script. She had to do her research, check around on VIN, and the turning point for her was that she respects and trusts a feline consultant/advisor on VIN, named Alice West DVM, who apparently endorses it. So you might suggest your vet look into that.
 
Re: 6/9 Cody AMPS 382, +2 347

that +9 is still dropping is impressive since he's a piggy and inhaled another 1/4 cup at +8.5.

The shooting on a falling number is a bit scary. I know its still 3 hours off , but it just occurred to me :oops:
 
Re: 6/9 Cody AMPS 382, +9 243

Welcome to LL, Nancy. I hope Cody likes the Lev. The way you handle the syringe/insulin is very different than PZI, so I know your stress. It will just take a little practice.
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!

I'm also of the opinion that drawing blood again is ... well, i don't do it!

The hardest thing with switching insulin is to reprogram the human (bean)... really... mark my words, I'm not kidding.

I hope Cody will like his new insulin.
Again... Welcome!!!
 
Thanks, I am pretty pleased so far. 7u (with food every 4 hours and some LRS) and he came down a nice slow 140 points. He seems to be feeling pretty good-

the overnight time is a bit more of a worry- (a moms job and my middle name :lol: )

Cody is begging for food big time tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top