Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey
Member Since 2011
6/8 Recap:
1.5 units bid
AMPS: 249
AM+3: 184
AM+6: 159
PMPS: 254
PM+3.5: 246
PM+5.5: 220
PM+7: 245
Today:
AMPS: 282
AM+2: 248
AM:+4: 187
AM+6: 174
Yesterday's Condo
A long day. I'm beat, physically and mentally. I hope I make sense here.
Another so-so day of BGs for Cinco. I still am unsure if I should increase the dose or wait until next week because of the 18-hr thing we're planning to try this weekend. I'm going to be running around a lot this week during the day, so maybe I should just table it for now? Next week is wide open (at the moment). Cinco is otherwise doing well. He was very restless last night - did not want to settle anywhere and was very talkative. He didn't seem to feel unwell, just kind of bored. At one point I heard him meowing and couldn't find him, but then the blinds moved. He was in the front window (it was closed)! He has never been up there to my knowledge. He really is full of surprises lately. The good kind.
So Sasha saw the Oncologist today. I really like the way they do things at UC Davis. They are so thorough. The student that saw us first had obviously read all the material they'd gathered and knew what was going on with Sasha up to now. Both she and the doctor were very taken with Sasha (everyone is - she is so lovable). They did a thorough exam, discussed the possibilities, answered my questions, and sent me away for the afternoon. While I was gone they did bloodwork, chest x-rays, an abdominal ultrasound, and had her seen by a neurologist - this last was because of the shaking I told them about, both the trembling she's been doing for a couple of years, and the Parkinson's-like episodes last month, and also to make sure the issues with her back legs do not have a neurological component. The Oncologist observed the trembling, but of course, Sasha didn't do it for the Neurologist! She was doing it again later, though! :roll: They felt the back leg issue is purely "mechanical", which is pretty much what my vet said years ago. They said they couldn't find any obvious reason for the trembling and the two episodes of head shaking, but would need to do a brain scan and/or spinal tap to see if there was anything. They did not feel these were warranted at this time and asked me to record her if she does the shaking again. I tried to the last time, but she stopped before I could get the phone on video.
The Oncologist wanted to speak to the pathologist that did the biopsy on the tumor, because his report did not include a grade, or rating, and that is an important factor in determining treatment. She was unable to reach him today and will try tomorrow and let me know what she finds out. She told me the bloodwork, x-rays and scans showed normal age-related deterioration, but nothing concerning. No signs of other tumors. She met with a surgeon and they decided, based on what they know so far, that they would prefer NOT to amputate the leg unless that is the only way to get all the cancer cells. They feel that the shaking and trembling could indicate a brain issue that might get worse later and make it harder for her to function on three legs, in addition to the joint issue in her back legs. What they propose is to do a CT scan of the area where the tumor was. They want to make sure that the thickening they are feeling in the area is scar tissue, and not tumor regrowth. Then they will do another surgery to remove as much tissue as they can. If they feel they have gotten everything, they will close her up and the next step will be radiation. If they don't feel they can remove everything without compromising the function of the leg, they will amputate. Radiation will begin approximately two weeks after the surgery, and consist of 18 treatments, five days a week for 3.5 weeks. Radiation may not be necessary if they amputate, but they will confirm that later. If they amputate, there is a good chance that the cancer will not recur - although it could appear elsewhere, that's not the norm for this kind of cancer. If they do the less aggressive surgery and the radiation, there is up to a 40% chance of recurrence. Again, the grade of the tumor will indicate the likelihood of recurrence. If they don't do surgery and just do radiation (not their recommendation, but an option), they are reasonably sure the cancer will come back. If they do nothing, they are 99% sure it will recur.
So now I wait for two phone calls tomorrow - the Oncologist with the information from the pathologist indicating the grade of the tumor, and the surgical department, to schedule the CT scan. We are hoping that the less aggressive surgical option will turn out to be the way we go, but we will do whatever the doctors ultimately think best. The Oncologist was very optimistic about the outcome of either of the two surgical procedures, but leaning towards the less aggressive approach as the better one for Sasha overall. She agreed with me that QOL was an important factor in the decision making.
I forgot to ask for copies of the bloodwork. ohmygod_smile I do want to see what the values were, for my own info. I wrote myself a note to request it when she calls tomorrow.
The good news is I have not heard Sasha sneeze in over 24 hours!
I am going to back off on the Atarax. The Oncologist did say it was obvious in the chest x-ray that she has chronic asthma, but it doesn't look like it is severe, which is what we had already concluded. I would like to get her off the Pred at some point, but I'll have to talk to her regular vet about that. I may have the chance to do so tomorrow when I take Minka for her annual.
I haven't had dinner yet. Mark went to bowling without me as I got home too late and was too burned out to drive back in to Sac myself. I've already poured a glass of wine, so I'd better get some food in me.
Thanks for all the prayers and vines. Please keep them coming. Any thoughts on the question of Cinco's dose would be welcome, too.
Sending healing vines to all in need, and hugs to all their beans. :YMHUG: Prayers also for Chris's DM.
1.5 units bid
AMPS: 249
AM+3: 184
AM+6: 159
PMPS: 254
PM+3.5: 246
PM+5.5: 220
PM+7: 245
Today:
AMPS: 282
AM+2: 248
AM:+4: 187
AM+6: 174
Yesterday's Condo
A long day. I'm beat, physically and mentally. I hope I make sense here.
Another so-so day of BGs for Cinco. I still am unsure if I should increase the dose or wait until next week because of the 18-hr thing we're planning to try this weekend. I'm going to be running around a lot this week during the day, so maybe I should just table it for now? Next week is wide open (at the moment). Cinco is otherwise doing well. He was very restless last night - did not want to settle anywhere and was very talkative. He didn't seem to feel unwell, just kind of bored. At one point I heard him meowing and couldn't find him, but then the blinds moved. He was in the front window (it was closed)! He has never been up there to my knowledge. He really is full of surprises lately. The good kind.
So Sasha saw the Oncologist today. I really like the way they do things at UC Davis. They are so thorough. The student that saw us first had obviously read all the material they'd gathered and knew what was going on with Sasha up to now. Both she and the doctor were very taken with Sasha (everyone is - she is so lovable). They did a thorough exam, discussed the possibilities, answered my questions, and sent me away for the afternoon. While I was gone they did bloodwork, chest x-rays, an abdominal ultrasound, and had her seen by a neurologist - this last was because of the shaking I told them about, both the trembling she's been doing for a couple of years, and the Parkinson's-like episodes last month, and also to make sure the issues with her back legs do not have a neurological component. The Oncologist observed the trembling, but of course, Sasha didn't do it for the Neurologist! She was doing it again later, though! :roll: They felt the back leg issue is purely "mechanical", which is pretty much what my vet said years ago. They said they couldn't find any obvious reason for the trembling and the two episodes of head shaking, but would need to do a brain scan and/or spinal tap to see if there was anything. They did not feel these were warranted at this time and asked me to record her if she does the shaking again. I tried to the last time, but she stopped before I could get the phone on video.
The Oncologist wanted to speak to the pathologist that did the biopsy on the tumor, because his report did not include a grade, or rating, and that is an important factor in determining treatment. She was unable to reach him today and will try tomorrow and let me know what she finds out. She told me the bloodwork, x-rays and scans showed normal age-related deterioration, but nothing concerning. No signs of other tumors. She met with a surgeon and they decided, based on what they know so far, that they would prefer NOT to amputate the leg unless that is the only way to get all the cancer cells. They feel that the shaking and trembling could indicate a brain issue that might get worse later and make it harder for her to function on three legs, in addition to the joint issue in her back legs. What they propose is to do a CT scan of the area where the tumor was. They want to make sure that the thickening they are feeling in the area is scar tissue, and not tumor regrowth. Then they will do another surgery to remove as much tissue as they can. If they feel they have gotten everything, they will close her up and the next step will be radiation. If they don't feel they can remove everything without compromising the function of the leg, they will amputate. Radiation will begin approximately two weeks after the surgery, and consist of 18 treatments, five days a week for 3.5 weeks. Radiation may not be necessary if they amputate, but they will confirm that later. If they amputate, there is a good chance that the cancer will not recur - although it could appear elsewhere, that's not the norm for this kind of cancer. If they do the less aggressive surgery and the radiation, there is up to a 40% chance of recurrence. Again, the grade of the tumor will indicate the likelihood of recurrence. If they don't do surgery and just do radiation (not their recommendation, but an option), they are reasonably sure the cancer will come back. If they do nothing, they are 99% sure it will recur.
So now I wait for two phone calls tomorrow - the Oncologist with the information from the pathologist indicating the grade of the tumor, and the surgical department, to schedule the CT scan. We are hoping that the less aggressive surgical option will turn out to be the way we go, but we will do whatever the doctors ultimately think best. The Oncologist was very optimistic about the outcome of either of the two surgical procedures, but leaning towards the less aggressive approach as the better one for Sasha overall. She agreed with me that QOL was an important factor in the decision making.
I forgot to ask for copies of the bloodwork. ohmygod_smile I do want to see what the values were, for my own info. I wrote myself a note to request it when she calls tomorrow.
The good news is I have not heard Sasha sneeze in over 24 hours!
I haven't had dinner yet. Mark went to bowling without me as I got home too late and was too burned out to drive back in to Sac myself. I've already poured a glass of wine, so I'd better get some food in me.
Thanks for all the prayers and vines. Please keep them coming. Any thoughts on the question of Cinco's dose would be welcome, too.
Sending healing vines to all in need, and hugs to all their beans. :YMHUG: Prayers also for Chris's DM.