6/9/20 - Gideon Blue - AMPS = 450, recent dose decrease

Shiloh567

Member Since 2020
My Gideon's BG is running in the read in AM & PM. We have recently decreased his Lantus from 1 unit BID to 0.75 unit BID, due to low nadir. Hoping in a week or so, we will see some better numbers. We started out with 2 unit Lantus at the vet, and immediately lowered him to 1 unit the next day. He went to the low greens so, dose was changed to 0.75 units. After 1 week, his dose was increased back to 1 unit BID. Now here we are again, back to 0.75 units BID. Hoping eventually we will find the correct dose for my precious tripod.
 
Definitely still bouncing. Once it clears we will see if the reduction sticks. Max had many failed reductions.
 
Elise - What dose of Lantus did your Max end up on? How long did it take for him to settle in to that dose? With that dose, what range did his BG stay in?
 
Have a look at his spreadsheets and not just the first one. He bounced the first year. I tested a lot because I could so don’t let that scare you. Most don’t settle in on a dose. It’s more of a range.
 
Yes, I looked at you Max's most recent spreadsheet. Even if I could, I doubt if I would test as much as you did. How were Max's ears? Did you use Neosporin Ointment with pain relief on them? I am going to try that for Gideon. Also, I have been shooting through his precious ears, so I lowered the lancet device from 4 to 3. I wil probably lower it again, because the 3 just shot through his ear also. He is currently in the sink eating his lunch. He knows he gets treats in the sink, so I think that is why he hopped up there. He really gets around for a tripod. I couldn't find him today and he was sitting on the "kitchen counter!"
 
His ear was fine. I only tested one and did use neosporin with pain relief. Some are allergic but he wasn’t. It sounds like Gideon is feeling good. If I had it to do over again I wouldn’t test as much. I would have been more aggressive at first in hopes of remission and wouldn’t have stopped for the three weeks when my vet felt he was in remission. If he didn’t go into remission I would have still done TR but not kept him as low as I did.
 
Thanks for sharing your experiences with me. I so appreciate it. Have no regrets. You took phenomenal care of your boy, from what I can see. My husband just sent me a pic of Gideon sleeping in the bathroom sink. I guess he got tired waiting for a treat:-)
 
Back
Top