6/8 Tidus AMPS 311 +2.5/232 PMPS 260 +2/245 +6/198 +8/223

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/8 Tidus AMBG 311 DOSING ADVISE NEEDED

Hi guys .. Gosh, I hate to give dosing advice and based on yesterday's condo it looks like you are dealing with some stuff the vet mentioned? I hope others come along soon to help you out .. this should bump you up though .. have a great weekend!
 
Re: 6/8 Tidus AMBG 311 DOSING ADVISE NEEDED

I shot .5u. That is what I had started with the day after I got him (although his BG was lower) Since I don't know where he will go I didn't was to over dose.
 
Re: 6/8 Tidus AMBG 311 shot .5u

Oh, yes. you see how out of practice I am :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 6/8 Tidus AMPS 311 shot .5u +2.5/232

Sorry I missed your condo yesterday, great news on no distemper! The GI issues can be so frustrating, paws crossed the novel proteins help and Tidus finds them yummy!
 
Re: 6/8 Tidus AMPS 311 shot .5u +2.5/232

Sorry I missed your condo yesterday, great news on no distemper! The GI issues can be so frustrating, paws crossed the novel proteins help and Tidus finds them yummy!
 
Re: 6/8 Tidus AMPS 311 shot .5u +2.5/232

I created some expensive monsters :lol: :lol: :lol: I still have 2 cats that I am trying to get off dry food and guess what I just got them BOTH to eat...Stella and Chewy's!
 
Re: 6/8 Tidus AMPS 311 shot .5u +2.5/232

Looks like we need to get tough with you
whip.gif
on the rules :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: JK!

Glad you arae giving him some insulin and hoping things settle down for him. Hugs to you, Jenn, and Mikey of course (and Tidus and Marc and all the others ;-) ).
 
Re: 6/8 Tidus AMPS 311 shot .5u +2.5/232 PMPS 260

Yeah, you know a few months away and I now I'm a slacker ;-)
 
Re: 6/8 Tidus AMPS 311 shot .5u +2.5/232 PMPS 260

Tidus is not feeling well. I can just tell. He barely can walk a few feet with out plopping down and doesn't want to move. Is sleeping in his water/food bowl even. ( I read something about that somewhere but I don't remember where or what it said it meant if anyone knows)

This is what I emailed Venita if anyone has any thought/ suggestions.

"I'm waiting for him to poop today. His poop last night was the firmest it's been since he's been back from Dr. T. I am giving the nuggets both wet and dry. He (and 1 of my other cats that I'm trying to get off dry food-yeah!) like it both ways.

Something is still "off" with him. I gave 100ml at 3am I think he was getting dehydrated as his skin was showing it slightly with that skin test.

Is there a CT scan for cats? And also is the U/S 100% to show what's going on inside? My colon issue was this. I ended up with a twisted colon and that was after 6 years of discomfort and having U/S and a CT and taking Miralax, prune juice, even the "prep stuff you take for a colonoscopy" for my symptoms. What would happen is by the time I would get a test done my colon would become "untwisted" so they would "see" nothing. It was not until it twisted into the size of a grapefruit that the ER Dr's were able to see it on a CT scan. Could that be a possibility?

I'm going to get the B12 RX today and see where I can get it today. Do I use the same needles as for Insulin?"
 
Re: 6/8 Tidus AMPS 311 +2.5/232 PMPS 260 +2/245 +6/198

And this is what I responded back by email, JennF.

I worry a bit about giving Tidus the S&C dry. That is because it seems to me that could add to his dehydration, just as dry food would. If he eats it reconstituted, I would think that is the better way to give it to him.

I can totally understand that something is still "off" with Tidus. I told you yesterday when we spoke that it usually takes about a month of good nutrition and supportive care for a cat to get over the physical stress it has been enduring before it got to DCIN foster. Give him some time on a better diet, and a stress-free, loving environment, and I think you will see a big turnaround.

Cats can get CT scans. MRIs too. But those imaging procedures are very expensive, more expensive than I would like to consider at this time in Tidus's care. We have had three vets, including a radiologist, give us similar suggestions for his care. Let's plan on sticking to that path unless (1) it doesn't work or (2) Tidus crashes again (and maybe more than once). (OK, yes, we aren't going with their suggestion for WD canned, but I think they are just plain wrong with that.)

I am so sorry to hear about your twisted colon. It hurts just to type "twisted colon." OUCH. Are you all taken care of now?

Yep, you can use insulin syringes for the B12. Hopefully, Dr. Thayer will prescribe a dosage and frequency. When I gave it to Ennis, I took JJ's recommendation and gave Ennis 12U, every two weeks I think.

How are his BG levels?

Well, I see his BG levels now that I come here. I also see that you wrote:

Tidus is not feeling well. I can just tell. He barely can walk a few feet with out plopping down and doesn't want to move. Is sleeping in his water/food bowl even. ( I read something about that somewhere but I don't remember where or what it said it meant if anyone knows)

That kind of lethargy and lethargic attraction to the food and water bowls for a diabetic cat usually means uncontrolled hpyerglycemia. Given that his numbers yesterday were not terribly high, he might be (1) very sensitive to hyperglycemia, (2) working on ketones (have you tested his urine recently?), or (3) preparing for another GI crash. Are you and Marc able to take Tidus's temperature rectally? As I recall there was a fever the first time he crashed while with you.

You know I won't be in today, but if Tidus needs veterinary help, Jennifer J can work with you. Breath deeply. Deep breaths are calming. And try not to think "twisted colon" when you look at him. The radiologist would have seen a twisted colon with the ultrasound. Tidus didn't do any GI prep for that US.
 
Re: 6/8 Tidus AMPS 311 +2.5/232 PMPS 260 +2/245 +6/198

Do you know if the vet took blood for a spec fPL -- it's a pancreatitis test. I also agree with Venita -- please test for ketones. Tidus was off insulin for enough days that DKA could be an issue. Numbers do not have to be high for ketones to develop.
 
Re: 6/8 Tidus AMPS 311 +2.5/232 PMPS 260 +2/245 +6/198

Sienne, Tidus has not had an fPLI test done. DCIN generally does not have that test done on foster cats unless the vet insists on it because of cost and because the treatment for probable pancreatitis based on clinical symptoms would not differ from the treatment for probable or confirmed pancreatitis based on the fPLI test results.
 
Re: 6/8 Tidus AMPS 311 +2.5/232 PMPS 260 +2/245 +6/198

Venita I'm glad you saw this post. Between here and our emails and talking to the vet I try to tell everyone the same thing.

I will check for ketones although he is a quiet pee-er I don't know when he's in the box but I'm home today. I did pick up the thermometer. I will get his temp.
 
Re: 6/8 Tidus AMPS 311 +2.5/232 PMPS 260 +2/245 +6/198 +8/22

Good thoughts and healing vines for Tidus. Hang in there Jenn and breathe :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top