6/8 TASHIE AMPS=519+5+542+11=497PMPS=480+3.5=424

Status
Not open for further replies.

BorisV

Member Since 2013
She is a pistol this morning! And HUNGRY! Let's hope for a serine day......yeah, right!
 
Re: 6/8 AMPS=519

Going to do a +5 just so I know where we are going ....... I don't like to wear PJ's during the day! Wait, maybe I would PREFER during the day now that I think about it! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 6/8 AMPS=519

pssst... there is no name in the subject line (though with an AMPS like that, I'd wanna hide too :o)

MJ
 
Re: 6/8 TASHIE AMPS=519

Oh! MJ! thanks! Still recovering from sleep deprivation! It's a lot to remember when you are in a FOG! Bear with me....... :smile:

Sometimes this stuff makes me feel like such a ditz! I'm really not though :?: :?: :?:
 
Re: 6/8 TASHIE AMPS=519

Sugarcat fog syndrome includes: having test data where you truly don't remember poking the cat; and forgetting the number on the meter in the few seconds it takes to walk to the computer to enter it on the spreadsheet, so you have to walk back, pick up the meter, and look at it again. Guilty.

MJ
 
Re: 6/8 TASHIE AMPS=519

Then I am fitting right in! TOTALLY can relate to that - been there almost every other reading! Now what did that say? I even have a list to write it down and in seconds ......it's "gone" - ESPECIALLY on the panic numbers!

I have a question (again)

At her mid day feeding I want to start giving her (once a day) FF Tender Turkey KITTEN food. It has 0 carbs - want to put some ounces on that girl - do I have blessings?
 
Re: 6/8 TASHIE AMPS=519

If she needs to gain, low carb kitten food is a good choice. Feeding several smaller meals in the cycle may enable her to eat more, too. Note that increased calories may slightly alter her insulin requirements upward, but that is OK, as she needs the food.
 
Re: 6/8 TASHIE AMPS=519

Hummmm - I am worried about messing things up if it MAY alter the insulin dose. Don't want to make her MORE bouncy than she is????
 
Re: 6/8 TASHIE AMPS=519

More food before mid-cycle (ex at +3) may actually flatten the curve and make her less bouncy as the nadir would come up a bit. This is a way to gradually get the cat used to lower numbers. Then you gradually increase the insulin following the protocol guidelines.
 
Re: 6/8 TASHIE AMPS=519+5+542

Okay - she went up! Could it have been a "fur" shot this morning? TOTALLY confused - or, is this an "active cycle"
 
Re: 6/8 TASHIE AMPS=519+5+542

"Active cycle" is usually an early or fast drop, :roll: I don't think that is the case here, But w/ Tashie you never know! ;-)
 
Re: 6/8 TASHIE AMPS=519+5+542

So it COULD have been a fur shot? My husband jabbed her this morning and I did notice he stuck her TWICE because he "wasn't sure" he got ALL the insulin in - he was half asleep! Gurrrr! This is just what we need huh? Talk about making her bounce! Off to read up on FUR SHOTS!
 
Re: 6/8 TASHIE AMPS=519+5+542

Fur shot = part or all of the dose doesn't go in.
Do not attempt to re-shoot - you do not know how much went in and could unintentionally give too much total.
Wait until the next regularly scheduled time to shoot.
The numbers may go higher; this is to be expected. Just wait it out.
 
Re: 6/8 TASHIE AMPS=519+5+542

Did you mean he stuck her twice without refilling the syringe? That would be OK, but not a second dose! And furshots happen, they recover surprisingly quickly.
 
Re: 6/8 TASHIE AMPS=519+5+542

Yes, TWICE with the SAME syringe - no additional insulin. We are dosing at .25 and for some reason he wanted to make sure it all went in - we did NOT refill the syringe, sorry if I didn't make that clear.

Guess I just like to bring DRAMA to the board, huh? Is there any other possible scenario that is left for us to experience these last 2 weeks?!!! :cool: :cool: :cool:

I'll get a +10 to see what is going on and MAKE SURE we get it RIGHT this evening. Will dose the REGULAR .25U and make sure hubby is AWAKE from now on! Heck, he was like a zombie this morning! Next week, I am learning to shoot! Time to put my BIG GIRL PANTS ON!

Thanks all!
 
Re: 6/8 TASHIE AMPS=519+5+542

Bern

I'm running behind today and have an appt in 30 mins. If you think she got a fur shot and she is still high at +11, you can shoot early. It will mess up your schedule because you will have to shoot 12 hours from that tomorrow and move back slowly. Your choice. If she's coming down alot (like yellow), I wouldn't shoot early.

I have never heard that increased calories changes the insulin needs. Increased % of calories from carbs, yes....but not increased number of calories. There are some days Gracie eats a lot more calories than normal and her numbers will be steady green.

I haven't forgotten your lessons. Some days life just gets in the way. But I will be back by a little after 5 my time and I will post then. I have a wide open evening :-D :-D

BTW, if you go back to the Dosing with Calipers link I left on your condo the other day, it tells exactly how to do it and how to figure it out. You do need calipers that read in millimeters. Inches are too much.

BBL.
 
Re: 6/8 TASHIE AMPS=519+5+542

GO! Get your stuff done. I am under control here (that's a first!) and we can go over details later ......... now, go! run!
 
Re: 6/8 TASHIE AMPS=519+5+542

PS. I do have the caliper info bookmarked so I will have Jim study it - as HE claims he uses them daily!

Later..........
 
Re: 6/8 TASHIE AMPS=519+5+542

Lesson One...Feeding Low Numbers

The other day, we fed Tashie HC at 54 @+3.5. Usually we say, feed LC unless they are below 50. But....there are exceptions:

  • a fast drop to a lower number
  • a new kitty with little data and a nervous caregiver
  • a low number really early in the cycle

Take a look at Gabbys SS. Gabby generally has an early nadir and likes to drop early and fast. You can see how Sienne uses HC with her to slow her down.

The goal in a newly dx cat (dx less thwn one year) is NOT to prevent a reduction; it's to keep them safe and try to minimize the bounce that comes with a really fast and steep drop.

If you get a 54 midcycle from a glide down, you would use LC food. You will also learn what Tashie reacts to best. For instance, I used alot of HC gravy, food, karo when Gracie was newly dx and on Lantus. But then I figured out she responded really great to 10% food. I never use HC or gravy and restrict the use of karo to really really low numbers (20s/low 30s) when I want her up fast. ECID...learn what Tashie responds to and use what she needs.

If you get a 54 late cycle, you might not need to feed OR a tiny bit (1 tsp) of LC might work beautifully. So consider:

1. How fast is she dropping
2. Where is the number in the cycle
3. How does she respond

And lastly....feed the 40s. If you get a 40s number at PS, do not feed, retest in 15 mins. If she is not above 50, feed 1 small tsp LC and retest in 20 mins. In the meantime, you will be posting and asking for help :-D

Lesson Two...Feeding the Curve (dives)

We have some champion diver kitties in LL. They especially like to dive when they are clearing a bounce which appears to be Tashies modus operandi. It helps to try and flatten the curve so they don't scream down and then swoosh back up because they took such a dive. If you look around at different SSs, you will see people feeding their cat on a front loaded schedule. This is to flatten the curve.

If a cat doesn't dive and has fairly flat cycles, they can be free fed and don't need a plan to manage the curve. But if they dive, you might want to think about dividing the number of calories/day into the two cycles and then feed mini meals on a schedule.

Most will feed a portion at PS, +1, +2, and +3 to control the dive. I did this when Gracie was on Lantus and Sienne does it with Gabby. (I still feed on a schedule for her lev onset). It doesn't flatten the cycle over night but patience and it does help. You will also have to see what best helps Tashie. Maybe it's PS, +2, +3....and since you work, you may need to use an auto feeder.

Lesson Three...Counting drops

If you are going to use calipers, you might not need to do this but it's a good idea to see how many drops you get to a unit. Typical is five drops to .5u, ten drops to 1u. For a while, I was counting 7 drops to .5u, 14 drops to 1u because that's what Gracie was best responding to....smaller dose changes. But now I use ten drops to the unit so every dose change for her is 0.1u.

Counting drops takes patience. Ideally, you slowly (very slowly) expel a tiny bit of insulin from the syringe and it will form a drop on the tip. When it starts to roll off the bevel, that is one drop. It's the way most of us used to dose until we started using calipers.

Let me know if you or Jim have questions on the post on Dosing with Calipers. If you are using Relions, I'd measure a bunch of them at 1u and see how accurate they are. You might find they aren't but none of them are. Be consistent on measuring from the needle side of the plunger at 1u to where the zero line "should be". The zero lines from syringe to syringe are often off by alot from syringe to syringe.

Lots of info....questions? :-D
 
Re: 6/8 TASHIE AMPS=519+5+542+11=497PMPS=480

Marje, printed out - will digest & ask questions! You know me!

Tash PMPS = 480. Dosed .25U. Was it food that brought her down a bit? She was a Miss Piggie today! Funny, Tashie has NEVER been "into" food - she couldn't have cared less - now, if I say "who's hungry" and tap a knife on a bowl she even comes out of hiding! RE TRAINING!

Took "advantage" of the fur and changed dosing time by 15 minutes - Yes, will KEEP that as her "new" time :-D

toes dry yet? Be careful! For some reason toes always seem to take longer!

Will do a bed time test & post.
 
Re: 6/8 TASHIE AMPS=519+5+542+11=497PMPS=480

She was in a bounce before the fur shot. And it sounded like Jim got insulin into her.

I'm not always convinced what we think is a fur shot actually is.....I mean, by that, that often more gets in the cat than we think.
 
Re: 6/8 TASHIE AMPS=519+5+542+11=497PMPS=480

But can we still start her cycle from tonight? I do think it was a fur shot! Just by the way he reacted and shot again - NOT with more insulin but he jabbed her twice with the same needle - something mustn't have felt right. Off to do a Pm +3 and report back then- if Tashie says so, off to bed.
 
Tashie says night night all - glad my daddy gave me a fur shot because now my mummy can go to bed without worrying if my pajamas are ironed for the photo shoot!

PM +3.5 = 424

Don't think she is going to do "her dance" until at least Monday! Stay tuned!

Night all - and make sure your toes are dry before putting them under the sheets - don't want those crinkles in the polish!

B
 
Oh how this banter amuses me! Funny thing is I am learning all kinds of things just by tuning in. Marje - did you really type ALL OF THAT on your phone at the "spa?" :shock: :o :shock:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top