6/8 Rory +5 97 +8 83 +10 153 pm 131 +2 110 +4 115

Status
Not open for further replies.

Var-ee and Rory

Member Since 2013
this is what happens all the time.. I am already 1 hour later than my last shot and he is still decreasing so Im not giving him a dose.. it seems like this keeps happening. I haven't fed him in at least 2 hours and am holding off to get the higher reading.. this is why I feel I need to decrease. It has happened that I skip the dose completely and he goes very low so now I'm hesitant.

condo http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=97021&p=1039449#p1039449
 
Re: 6/8 Rory amps waiting on an increase #

now Im 1.5 hrs late and he is still the same.. at what point do I just skip the dose.. I will go through this same thing in the PM too.. I am just glad Im entering in the times now so you can see why I skip, he really really wants to eat too but I still have to hold off right :sad:
 
Re: 6/8 Rory amps waiting on an increase #

So far, the greens you're seeing are not all that low. I think you need to consider that a drop below 50 is what qualifies for a dose reduction. Most cats do not experience symptoms of hypo with numbers that are in the 40s. I understand that those numbers can be disconcerting when you've not had to deal with them routinely. Rory's numbers have been coming up since +6 and he's been surfing.
 
Re: 6/8 Rory amps waiting on an increase #

OK well I just gave him the dose even though he wasnt increasing.. ..while he was eating
I guess this will be the test even though my times are all messed up
 
Re: 6/8 Rory amps waiting on an increase #

Good job, Var-ee! Rory needs his regular insulin dose. You are quite good at testing and feeding, which is how you control his BGs. So you can shoot lower numbers, which is how he will stay in better numbers. It's scary, each time you shoot a little lower but you can handle it, with all you've learned how to do. You should be very proud of yourself and of Rory. :-D :-D
Liz
 
Re: 6/8 Rory amps waiting on an increase #

If Rory's numbers are flat at test time, then it should be fine to shoot. What we try to help people to do is to initially, shoot when pre-shot numbers are at 150 or higher. Then, you want to gradually begin to shoot progressively lower numbers.

It sounds like you're tried giving Rory gravy-based food when you need high carb. I think you said you tried Karo, as well. Have you tried using honey or maple syrup? Vanilla ice cream may work, as well. One other form of high carb is dextrose solution although, you could probably do the same by dissolving equal parts sugar and water for a simple sugar solution.
 
Re: 6/8 Rory amps waiting on an increase #

I dont even know what karo is sorry.. I tried to put honey in his gravy but he didnt touch it then I put some on his lip and it was not much.. just a tiny taste...
 
Re: 6/8 Rory amps waiting on an increase #

In the US, they call karo what we call corn syrup. You can also use maple syrup. If you need to just mix a couple of drops into his regular food or you can see if he'll lick it off your finger. Some cats love it.

Looks like a very nice flat cycle today. :-D
 
was a good day but I need sleep.. any suggestions .. Im fighting staying awake.. I have had broken sleep for days now
 
It looks like he's surfing, not dropping now. Can you just leave out some low carb food for him to snack on? If he has access to food, you should be able to call it a night. It was indeed a great day for Rory. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top