6/8 Oliver +10 206 +11 403

Status
Not open for further replies.
I haven't stopped by before, so hello and sorry you had to return here. Here's hoping it's a short stay. Nice to see Oliver getting down to those low yellows today. (Removed bit on holding for 6 cycles as Oliver is returning from the falls).

I mix a decent amount of water into my cat's food too, even though she's pretty good at drinking on her own. It does seem to help.

Normally we don't feed the cat any food after +10, and only at most a small snack after nadir. After nadir the insulin action is waning, so it's best not to feed much then or you'll get the spiking you saw today. I do my preshot test, then feed dinner, then do the shot. Is there anyway you can change your schedule so that dinner time is at shot time?

ETA: Since Oliver is returning from the falls, usually a more aggressive method of increases is used. From a post by Libby & Lucy on PeePee's condo:
Sorry to see that you're back. If it helps, what we usually see in cats returning from the Falls is a) it usually pays to be a bit aggressive. The more quickly you can get them back into normal numbers, the better the chance of going OTJ again, and b) often they end up needing a higher dose than they did the first time around. Not always, of course, because that would be too easy.
Although the protocol calls for holding a dose for 6 cycles, for those starting insulin again, holding for 4 cycles is better for Oliver as long as you continue to test as frequently as you have been.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top