6/8 Nikki AMPS 302; +4 339; +6.5 372; PMPS 359

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexis & Nikki (GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo

Morning! We survived the remnants of TS Andrea and will hopefully dry out today. I dragged myself out of bed at 2am to test and COULD NOT get blood. So annoying! :evil:

Going to hold at 1.75 for 4-5 days and see if she flattens out a bit.

Hope everyone has a great Saturday!
 
Re: 6/8 Nikki AMPS 302

Its OK for the nadir to go as low as 50 mg/dL, and it looks like you've got room to do it, as all the midcycle blues are above 150 mg/dL. I must've missed it - what was the reason you dropped the dose from 2.0 units to 1.75 units?
 
Re: 6/8 Nikki AMPS 302

A couple of reasons I think. One is that she seemed to spend more time flat in the yellow/blue range at 1.75 as opposed to bouncing up to pinks/reds on the 2u. Wasn't sure if she has been hitting a low somewhere on that dose that is making her bounce. Plus, I've had to shoot below 200 a couple of times, and since I'm out of the house 11-12 hours on weekdays, I end up dropping the dose back to 1.75 anyway. I'm okay with shooting above 150 since her food is HC, but it makes me a bit nervous. My vet wanted me to up her to 2u but he isn't interested in my home testing data, so I'm a little uncomfortable with that number.

If I have enough data for you guys to give advice, I'm happy to take it! It's hard, since I'm not sure my vet is totally on board with how I want to manage this, I'm feeding her HC until I see if she can tolerate raw, and I'm not home a whole lot. This whole balancing my life (which until a month ago involved being out multiple nights a week and sleeping all night :lol: ) with treating her thing is proving difficult!
 
Re: 6/8 Nikki AMPS 302; +4 339

That's reasonable and makes sense to me.

What you can do, as your schedule permits, is gradually lower your no shot limit from 200 as you get enough data to show her nadir remains at a safe level. I think you might use 180 for a bit and get what nadirs or other mid-cycle tests you can to be sure that is safe.

If/when you start trying a diet change, you'll want to keep everything else as stable as possible so you can see what the impact is and know what adjustments you want to make, insulin or diet.
 
Re: 6/8 Nikki AMPS 302; +4 339

Today's numbers aside :? I'd like to hold the 1.75 for maybe 5 days and get tests when I can. Damn cat just bit me with a mouthful of raw food when I went to test. Thanks cat. :roll: Hoping if I have 5 days worth of numbers I'll know by next Friday if I want to stick with 1.75 or bump back up to 2.

As for food, for right now I'm using the raw as a supplement. In the past I've known within a few days if something was going to cause diarrhea or not. She can use the extra cals anyway. I figure if she's handling it well, about the time I see how the 1.75 does, I'll know how she's taking the raw. If she's ok with it added in, I'll be posting to figure out a schedule for changing her food and lowering insulin!

Thanks so much for the input. It helps to have a more experienced set of eyes keeping an eye on us. I know we held the 1u too long, but my vet wanted to be more cautious. Hoping I haven't done too much damage.
 
Re: 6/8 Nikki AMPS 302; +4 339

I missed seeing Spitzer had a problem for months, so don't kick yourself over it.

You have a reasonable plan. Holding a dose while testing a new food let's you see the impact. Be aware that increased calories may require increased insulin to use them. You'll see that if the numbers go up more.

Alternating between a period of small food changes then a period of small dose changes may let you ladder up or down to a more optimal food and dose pattern. If she does well enough on the raw, gradually switching a teaspoon at a time may prevent major GI upsets.
 
Re: 6/8 Nikki AMPS 302; +4 339; +6.5 372

Might be seeing that now. Either that or a little bounce from those blues yesterday. Why don't they come with a user manual?! @-)
 
Re: 6/8 Nikki AMPS 302; +4 339; +6.5 372

That'd be too easy for the bean!
 
Hi! Not sure if we "met" but wanted to say hello :-D My cat is Gobbles; he was on Lantus for exactly 6 months and then went into remission on 5/17/13. It looks like you're doing a fantastic job juggling Nikki's food and insulin requirements--now if only she would cooperate at test time :lol: Hang in there with the testing; it does get easier. Keep up the good work!
 
Hi, nice to meet you! Thanks for your encouragement and congrats on Gobbles being OTJ, that's awesome. :-D Nikki's just not very nice sometimes unfortunately. She jumped up on the couch and bit me last night for no apparent reason at all. :roll: She's pretty good for her PS tests cause she's hungry and is too busy eating to notice me testing her. :lol: Not ideal, but I get it done. :-D Hopefully I can flatten her numbers out a bit and get her feeling good again. :-D

Thanks again, it's always good to hear that we might be on the right track finally.
 
For "cranky" kitties, it can help to tire them out with some very active play with jumping and running of 10-20 minutes duration once or twice a day, so long as there are no medical reasons not to do so (ex congestive heart failure, arthritis, asthma - then calmer activity would be better.)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top