6/8 Munch PMPS 113, +1 136, +2 116, +3 88, +4 110, +5 N/A

Status
Not open for further replies.

PebsNMunchsReagan

Member Since 2011
Good Morning Everyone in LL!

Munch's 6/7 Condo

Yesterday we ended with a consistently blue day, with a PMPS 176. Munch did sit me down though and made me read Dear Mom, Yep, that's me. :oops: What can I say, I'm a work in progress?

Today I will be gone for a few hours from +6 thru +9, so it'll be a lite testing day. This is also why I'm postponing her food change until tomorrow.

Thank you for all the welcomes yesterday and everyones advice on treats! Nice to meet you Libby & Lucy, Ella, Rusty & Stu, and Sienne & Gabby!
Munch, Pebs and I wish everyone a fantastic day & numbers!
 
Re: 6/8 Munchkin AMPS 162,

Hi guys, don't think I have been in munchkin's condo yet, so welcome from us too! I love the blue number this morning, looking really good! Have a great day!
 
Re: 6/8 Munchkin AMPS 162,

Welcome to lantus land, you are in the right place--That is a great beginning number for Munchkin!!
Off to a great start--My advice is to read all the stickys at top of the page, ask questions, be open & be patient..everything will fall into place & it will become easier--
I see you are feeding the D/M--You know it has more carbs than your kitty needs being an FD kitty..
So look in the food lists for the low carb foods--I feed Moonie FF tender beef & FF chicken feast, they are very low carb, and there are many to choose from in the food list--Here is the link:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/diabetic-cat-diets.htm
check out the canned food new lists & old, and find the lowest carb--so many good ones, cats can be picky :lol: :lol: :lol:
Be consistant, shoot at same time every 12 hrs, monitor your baby with human glucometer, and stay with one dose, unless otherwise suggested by our dosing helpers here...There is so much to learn, but your
kitty will be well , healthy & happy very soon..Again Welcome to LL! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/8 Munchkin AMPS 162,

Morning PeterDevonMocha & Roni & Moonie! Nice to meet both of you

Roni, I do know the DM is higher in carbs. I will be changing her to one of the better options in about 8-10 days. We're doing a slow adjust, (She was on Sci Diet Light dry for years) probably much slower than anyone else would do but it's helping me keep better control of the situation. I have an anxiety disorder myself and Munchkin's dx has proven to make that more sever lately so I'm trying to do what I can to make sure I don't go over board & she get's better. DM is not our long term plan. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/8 Munchkin AMPS 162,

Good morning Reagan! Very nice AMPS, Munch is doing great! I'm glad you read the Dear Mom post, it really is important to keep it in perspective. My DD has anxiety issues, too. Keep breathing, one day at a time, one step at a time...you're doing fine.

I see the nice blue PMPS last night too. Please try to get at least a before bed test, ok? That way you will get an idea of which way Munch is heading before you go to sleep. Many kitties go lower at night, and if you see her heading down, you will know that you need to keep testing. The AM and PM cycles can be very different.

If you want to feed wet DM while eliminating the dry food, then change the wet food after that, that's ok. Eliminating the dry food is the priority, IMHO. Does Munch like the wet DM?
 
Re: 6/8 Munchkin AMPS 162,

Hi Reagan and Munchkin! I don't think I've visited your condo yet, so I just wanted to stop in and say "Welcome"! Nice AMPS...looking god Munchkin!

Amy (&Trixie)

PS - I think we've ALL been guilty of the "Dear Mom" post!
 
Re: 6/8 Munchkin AMPS 162,

Hi everyone,
And we're headed down... 100 +3. should I get a +4 or wait for +5?

I completely understand everyone's concern with the Sci Diet Dry, it is actually being eliminated tomorrow. It was scheduled for today, but I have to leave the house for 3ish hours (I haven't left in over a week for more than 30 mins.) and didn't want to risk her dropping too low.

I can definitely get after PMPS tonight. :) & will get a extra early one tomorrow morning.

Nice to meet you Amy & Trixie! I have the Dear Mom bookmarked. I'll probably read it daily! lol
 
Re: 6/8 Munchkin AMPS 162, 100 +3,

Nice! I would get a +4.

You're doing fine, Reagan....I don't want you to rush the transition if it's going to stress you out. It's a good idea to eliminate the dry when you are there to monitor.
 
Re: 6/8 Munchkin AMPS 162, 100 +3,

I'll update in roughly 45. Thank you Laurie!

I thought tomorrow would be a good day for the food, I'm home all day tomorrow, Friday and will stay home all day Saturday if needed. :)

Give your DD a huge hug from a stranger next time she struggles with her Anxiety, or anytime.
 
Re: 6/8 Munchkin AMPS 162,

Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
If you want to feed wet DM while eliminating the dry food, then change the wet food after that, that's ok. Eliminating the dry food is the priority, IMHO. Does Munch like the wet DM?
Sorry completely spaced answering this. Yes, she loves the Wet DM. She really isn't finicky. I've never had an issue getting her to eat any wet foods. (They use to be used as a random meal substitute as a treat) I do not anticipate having issues with her eating it when we switch to a different wet.
 
Re: 6/8 Munchkin AMPS 162, 100 +3, 114 +4,

114 +4; I can do +6 but then I'll be gone until +9/+10. She'll get a snack after +6 test, unless she asks before hand.
 
Re: 6/8 Munchkin AMPS 162, 100 +3, 114 +4,

That's fine, Reagan. It looks like she will cooperate and let you leave without worrying. :-D

I'm glad she's not a finicky eater, that makes transitioning easier! :smile:
 
Re: 6/8 Munchkin AMPS 162, 100 +3, 114 +4,

92 +6 (Updating SS next)
I'm so confused, how is she having two drops? :dizcat
I'm not panicing, but maybe I should stay home? I'm about to give her her snack, unless I should ride this out and see where it goes?
 
Re: 6/8 Munchkin AMPS 162, 100 +3, 114 +4, 92 +6

Welcome, welcome, welcome. I read the Dear Mom letter when we first started and it was like it was written just for me as well. It is all a learning process so don't be hard on yourself. It is nice to meet you and we hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 6/8 Munchkin AMPS 162, 100 +3, 114 +4, 92 +6

These numbers are all about the same, remember meter variance? It looks like she is surfing (staying around the same number) which is not unusual for Lantus. How about giving her a snack before you leave? If you are really worried, and you can cancel, then do that...it's up to you. These are nice numbers though, anything above 50 is good.
 
Re: 6/8 Munchkin AMPS 162, 100 +3, 114 +4, 92 +6

hey, just giving you a boost of encouragment.

things are looking really good, and there is a bit of a learning curve that comes with this as you learn your cat. it looks like you've also had a really nice flat curve for the day too. things are looking great!
 
Re: 6/8 Munchkin AMPS 162, 100 +3, 114 +4, 92 +6

I did give her her snack, I'm also going to go out. I know the food will bring her up. And like you all keep drilling into me her numbers are looking good.
Stupid Meter variance....pppfffttt... Ok, that was my immature moment! I'll get the hang of this. ;-) Thank you all! Nice to meet you Mococo & Melissa and Tarragon!! I hope everyone is having a good day.
 
Re: 6/8 Munchkin AMPS 162, 114 +4, 92 +6, 110 +10, PMPS 114

Hi all,
I had to take out +3 100.
She's at PMPS 114. She had a snack at +6 & +10.
What are peoples thoughts on shooting? This is the lowest we've seen at a PS.
 
Re: 6/8 Munchkin AMPS 162, 114 +4, 92 +6, 110 +10, PMPS 114

You've been shooting blue, although not this low of a blue. The standard questions: will you be home to monitor? Do you have plenty of strips and high carb food in case you need it to steer the numbers?
 
Re: 6/8 Munchkin AMPS 162, 114 +4, 92 +6, 110 +10, PMPS 114

For the future, if you don't know whether to shoot, try to be more specific in your subject line. There are a couple of conventions that will help.

An AMPS or PMPS implies that you've already given a shot. If you didn't know whether to shoot, you can list the test as your +12.

Your question would have gotten quicker eyes if you's written Shoot? vs. Safe. I wasn't sure what "Safe" meant. Eyes -- will also get eyes on your thread (we call them condos). Or, very specific -- Help -- works very well!!

You can always put the question mark icon in your subject line, as well.
 
Re: 6/8 Munchkin AMPS 162, 114 +4, 92 +6, 110 +10, PMPS 114

PMPS +.5 116
(100 +3, 114 +4-removed from subject)
I have not fed her or shot insulin.
I do have plenty of strips and HC food.
 
Re: 6/8 Munchkin AMPS 162, 114 +4, 92 +6, 110 +10, PMPS 114

Sienne and Gabby said:
For the future, if you don't know whether to shoot, try to be more specific in your subject line. There are a couple of conventions that will help.

An AMPS or PMPS implies that you've already given a shot. If you didn't know whether to shoot, you can list the test as your +12.

Your question would have gotten quicker eyes if you's written Shoot? vs. Safe. I wasn't sure what "Safe" meant. Eyes -- will also get eyes on your thread (we call them condos). Or, very specific -- Help -- works very well!!

You can always put the question mark icon in your subject line, as well.
Thank you.
 
Re: 6/8 Munch 92 +6, 110 +10, 114 +12, 116 +12.5-Shoot?

Yes, I can change her schedule. I am just skittish because we haven't gone through this before.
 
Re: 6/8 Munch 92 +6, 110 +10, 114 +12, 116 +12.5-Shoot?

I would get a test at +13. Right now, Munch is surfing. If you'd been here a little longer, I'd suggest shooting but I'd prefer that we see the surf a little longer or that numbers head up for your comfort level.

Post the +13 and we'll go from there.
 
Re: 6/8 Munch 92 +6, 110 +10, 114 +12, 116 +12.5, 119 +13-Sh

Munch is on a surf. If you are comfortable shooting, I would go ahead and shoot. You are going to need to get a +1 and a +2 and probably a few more tests tonight.

Remember, your shot time will be 12 hours from when you shoot tonight. You can start to move your shot time back by adjusting each shot by 15 min. So you would shoot tomorrow at +11.75.
 
Re: 6/8 Munch 92 +6, 110 +10, 114 +12, 116 +12.5, 119 +13-Sh

Thank you for your input Sienne and Gabby, that's what I was leaning towards after the 119.
I'm going to feed, shoot, and will get take multiple tests all night. Plus put on a pot of coffee.
 
Re: 6/8 Munch 92 +6, 110 +10, 114 +12, 116 +12.5, 119 +13-Sh

I'll be off and on the Board tonight and will keep an eye out. Remember, there are west coast people who are around late if you need help -- Marje/Gracie and Michelle/Mannie are often here late.
 
Re: 6/8 Munch 92 +6, 110 +10, 114 +12, 116 +12.5, 119 +13-Sh

Hi Reagan and Munchkin!!!

Welcome to Lantus Land. So you've already had a lovely day of dancing with Lantus!! Great job. What a very, very nice cycle!!! We know you've gotten lots of info so we'll just welcome you and let you know you are in the best place to be if you have to deal with FD. Please ask us lots of questions. We are here to help and we have lots of fun, too.

Nice shooting tonight!!

ETA: Reagan....if you shot the 119, could you please start your subject line over with PMPS 119 please so we can track you. I'll be around to help tonight. I believe Sienne asked you to get a +1. I'll check back in around then. Thanks!!
 
Re: 6/8 Munch 92 +6, 110 +10, 114 +12, 116 +12.5, 119 +13

Hi and welcome aboard!! nice shooting tonight - you've done well today.

what a lovely string of numbers - very nice!
 
Re: 6/8 Munch PMPS 113

Thank you again Sienne!
Nice to meet you Marje & Gracie and Michelle & Mannie. I will be back in 45 w/Munchkin's +1 number. I appreciate everyone's input and support.
 
Re: 6/8 Munch 92 +6, 110 +10, 114 +12, 116 +12.5, 119 +13

Nice shooting, Reagan! Marje and her DH Mike, Michelle, and others are well versed on how to handle lows, and if you look in my signature, the link in red is to a post that will help you with what to do, if no one is around. I would print that out, so you have it handy for the future. I'm glad Marje and Michelle are around...have a good night, guys! :-D I'm off to bed in a few minutes.
 
Re: 6/8 Munch PMPS 113

i'll be off and all evening too and will watch to see if you need help - but it sounds like you're pretty well covered between michelle & marjorie.

one advantage to having members all over the world on here, usually there's someone online. sometimes i've just been getting off and getting ready to go to bed at 1am here, and people on the east coast are getting on!
 
Re: 6/8 Munch PMPS 113

Reagan...thanks for letting us know when your +1 is. We'll check in then. That's about the time I do a +1 feed for Baby Gracie! See you soon.
 
Re: 6/8 Munch PMPS 113, +1 136,

Perfect!!!! A nice little food spike. We'll see you at +2 which should be somewhat similar to your PMPS number altho some kitties onset at +2, some at +3.
 
Re: 6/8 Munch PMPS 113, +1 136,

+1 136, +1 administered Bupe (Hope I got that abbreviation right). My thought on the rise is the AM insulin wore off finally? I will do a +2, then determine if I should wait until +3, or +4.
 
Re: 6/8 Munch PMPS 113, +1 136,

In case you haven't seen this:

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

Of course, Every Cat is Different (ECID) :lol: Yes...a +2 is good and then we'll see from there. See you at 35 past the hour.
 
Re: 6/8 Munch PMPS 113, +1 136,

Actually, the +1 is usually a little higher than your pre-shot due to the influence of food. (Take a look at the typical curve in the "New to the Group" sticky.) Ideally, the +2 should be around the same as your pre-shot. If it's lower, it could be an exciting evening.
 
Re: 6/8 Munch PMPS 113, +1 136,

Sounds like a great plan - looking good so far, and looking forward to your +2. :-D

Thanks Marje for the insertion of a typical curve - when I first started it was ages before I found that... what a help it was.
 
Re: 6/8 Munch PMPS 113, +1 136,

+2 116. We're back in line with PS. Munch is starting to get irritated. I'm leaning towards she could have a break until +5/+6. Other's opinions?
Thanks for posting the curve, I have it saved on my other comp. So that saved me a little time. I need to get my laptop linked to everything!
 
Re: 6/8 Munch PMPS 113, +1 136, +2 116

If it were me, I would get a +3. If you look on the typical curve, +2 should be close to PMPS; onset at about +3. If you don't have much data, you don't know when she onsets and she could drop at this point. If she will allow it, I would do a +3 and then perhaps a +5 if she doesn't drop much.

Do you use Neosporin pain relief ointment (not cream) on her ears? That helps and it will also bead the blood.
 
Re: 6/8 Munch PMPS 113, +1 136, +2 116

Hi Marje,
I can push her for a +3. I do use Neo +pain relief ointment. I'll update again at +3. Thank you for checking in! I hope you are having a good night.
 
Re: 6/8 Munch PMPS 113, +1 136, +2 116

sorry I missed you - this darn 'puter froze on me again. I too would try for a +3, and see where Munch is. It will give you a good indication of where the cycle is headed.
 
Re: 6/8 Munch PMPS 113, +1 136, +2 116

Reagan: good....sorry to push her. Are you alternating ears? That helps too as well as warming them.

Will check back again at your +3. Thank you...we are having a good night; our little girl is dropping ;-)
 
Re: 6/8 Munch PMPS 113, +1 136, +2 116

glad you're continuing to test. isn't marjorie great? she walked me through punkin's low numbers the first time. she's the best!

the neosporin with pain relief really numbs pretty well. punkin scratched me a few days ago when i somehow ended up with a foot in the middle of the kitty wrestling and i tried the neosporin out. it was better than i ever imagined. so i think if you're using that munch will be ok.
 
Re: 6/8 Munch PMPS 113, +1 136, +2 116

+3 88
We are alternating ears and location on ears. Looks like +4 is in order.
You are all wonderful. I am very grateful you have all been taking your time to help us through this.
 
Re: 6/8 Munch PMPS 113, +1 136, +2 116, +3 88

Definitely a +4 :smile: See...you're already getting the hang of this!! Very nice curve!

Julie: thanks, sweetie!!! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top