6/8 Mali AMPS 544 +5.5 266, +8 270

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/8 Mali AMPS 544

Hi Robert. Hopefully Mali will bring her numbers down as the day progresses. I'm sure you'll get him on track. It definitely is a challenge for us to figure FD out. Wishing for the best with the vet visit today.

Have a great weekend.
 
Re: 6/8 Mali AMPS 544

I'll be curious what the vet has to say.

Did you give Mali a shot last night? There's no dose on your SS. I know Marje has mentioned this but it is really important to get at least one test every cycle. A before bed test every night will be very helpful.
 
Re: 6/8 Mali AMPS 544

Also, did you give a shot at PM on 6/4? Sienne, should Mali get an increase? Paws crossed for a good vetty visit!
Liz
 
Re: 6/8 Mali AMPS 544

Liz --

I think the concern here is that Mali may be seeing lower numbers at night and bouncing. I wouldn't want to suggest an increase if numbers are dropping too low at night.
 
Re: 6/8 Mali AMPS 544

Sienne and Gabby said:
I'll be curious what the vet has to say.

Did you give Mali a shot last night? There's no dose on your SS. I know Marje has mentioned this but it is really important to get at least one test every cycle. A before bed test every night will be very helpful.

Thanks, Sienne, for keeping me on my toes...yes on both. I had numbers on my worksheet, but somehow neglected to transfer to SS pc_work
 
Re: 6/8 Mali AMPS 544

Vet did CBC and examined Mali on table. She will call me on Tuesday with the results and email same for my records and I will record them here.

Mali had first sign of FD 4/12 and we blind dosed her for several weeks with 1u of Lantus and she became regulated and had been fine until a year later. Vet thinks she probably had her first sign of pancreatitis at this first event in 2012, but she was not tested at that time. When she started showing classic signs this past March, that is when she was given the fPLI and one more last month with both coming back positive for pancreatitis.
The larger concern is the posibility of lymphoma evidenced by the thickening of intestinal walls, bile ducts, etc., which did show up on the ultrasound. With these signs together with increased platelet count, she has definitley has IBD or lymphoma said the vet.

We are going to start her on Lukeran (chemotherapy) next week. There is a compounding pharmacy here that compounds the generic to this drug at a more more SANE price(dont know what that is yet, will find out next week,Lukeran is about 11 bucks/pill). She will take this every other day for a month and then we will retest her to see if her white count is still climbing along with her platelets, and if so, it will be pretty cut an dried as to the lymphoma.

My wife and I have both fought and beat cancer 15 & 12 years ago respectively and it's no walk in the park, but we are alive and pretty well these years later so we will do like we did...we will gather as much info as we can and do what we can for Mali...a lot of people without pets will say "hey it's only a cat" but all of you on this board know better.
Thanks for all you do :thumbup
 
Re: 6/8 Mali AMPS 544

It sounds like you and your vet have a plan ready when you get the test results back. Hope Mali came down some.

Have a great weekend.
 
Re: 6/8 Mali AMPS 544

Nice to see that yellow after the vet visit. Paws crossed on good test results! And I hope that the Lukeran doesn't work, that sounds weird but it means no cancer. Right?

Yesterday someone mentioned adding a sheet to Mali's SS for her labs. Once you get it setup it isn't hard to update when a new set of tests are done. There is a "+" sign on the bottom left corner of your SS, clicking it creates a new blank spreadsheet. There are 2 major lab systems Idexx and Antech (sp?) you can look at one of us who have the labs up and just copy the names of the tests and the normal ranges and paste them into the first 2 columns of the new sheet, saves a lot of typing! We use Idexx and I think Marje has Antech.
 
Re: 6/8 Mali AMPS 544

I just went back to catch up on yesterday, i had to smile at all the venison raves! :lol: :lol: I still remember the venison jerky a second cousin from SD gave us when we visited. I think I was 5 at the time and I'm not admitting my age now, let's just say the memory has survived a long time! :roll:

If it does turn out to be IBD a unique protein food often helps. You can make your own LC venison catfood! We buy NV raw venison and Tess loves it.
 
Re: 6/8 Mali AMPS 544

Frosty said:
It sounds like you and your vet have a plan ready when you get the test results back. Hope Mali came down some.

Have a great weekend.

Thanks, John..yeah she's still in the yellow at +8

you too!
 
Re: 6/8 Mali AMPS 544

Ann & Tess said:
Nice to see that yellow after the vet visit. Paws crossed on good test results! And I hope that the Lukeran doesn't work, that sounds weird but it means no cancer. Right?

Yesterday someone mentioned adding a sheet to Mali's SS for her labs. Once you get it setup it isn't hard to update when a new set of tests are done. There is a "+" sign on the bottom left corner of your SS, clicking it creates a new blank spreadsheet. There are 2 major lab systems Idexx and Antech (sp?) you can look at one of us who have the labs up and just copy the names of the tests and the normal ranges and paste them into the first 2 columns of the new sheet, saves a lot of typing! We use Idexx and I think Marje has Antech.

I hope :thumbup Yes, I will get that set up when I get everything back..might have to send up a flag for some help ;-)
Thanks, Ann
 
Re: 6/8 Mali AMPS 544

Ann & Tess said:
I just went back to catch up on yesterday, i had to smile at all the venison raves! :lol: :lol: I still remember the venison jerky a second cousin from SD gave us when we visited. I think I was 5 at the time and I'm not admitting my age now, let's just say the memory has survived a long time! :roll:

If it does turn out to be IBD a unique protein food often helps. You can make your own LC venison catfood! We buy NV raw venison and Tess loves it.

yeah, it's been while for that good ole venison jerky...it is might fine :!: Use to make it "back in the day" but now just beg my little brother for some :lol:
 
Re: 6/8 Mali AMPS 544

I just tried it out (it's been awhile since I did Tess's) looks like you have to copy the whole SS to get all the rows. But then you can just delete the results columns the other cat's SS.
 
Re: 6/8 Mali AMPS 544

Hello,

I am not a regular poster here any more, as my diabetic kitty passed away a couple of years ago, but I did want to say that my civie, Teddy, who was not a diabetic, did very well on Leukeran for small cell intestinal lymphoma. He had a 7 year remission from his disease, and passed away from a different (pancreatic) cancer. His lymphoma was diagnosed by biopsies obtained by colonoscopy. In reading your previous posts, I understand why you do not want to do invasive testing on Mali. Teddy took Leukeran continuously from the time of his diagnosis until he came out of his remission many years later. He tolerated it very well. He did sometimes experience some inappetance and nausea which we managed by treating sometimes with Cerenia (which I believe you are using) and primarily with Ondansetron (Zofran). Ondansetron may be "layered" or used simultaneously with Cerenia if needed. We used Ondansetron as his primary nausea drug, and added Cerenia when he was going through more difficult times, and particularly for vomiting.

Leukeran is used to treat both IBD and lymphoma. The diseases may be thought of as different points along a continuum. I did try it with my IBD/diabetic kitty but he did not do as well on it as Teddy did. The chemo protocol for treating lymphoma with Leukeran also calls for simultaneously treating with Prednisolone. Obviously, with a diabetic cat, this is something that you and your vet must discuss and decide if it is right for Mali. Teddy also used a different dosing scheme initially with his Leukeran, which involved using a high dose for several days followed by a break of several weeks, known as pulse dosing. This schedule is much more likely to cause nausea, as it involves the use of higher doses. After he was deemed to be in remission, he transitioned to the every other day schedule that you have described. Prior to going onto Leukeran, Teddy had been treated with three rounds of IV chemotherapy with the big gun drugs. I do not know if this helped jumpstart his chemo, leading to his very successful long remission.

Your vet sounds very on top of things, so I am sure that you will be advised that Mali's red blood cell count will have to be checked frequently, as Leukeran can sometimes cause anemia. Teddy was checked every 3 weeks, and only once did his RBC count dip low over the years.

I qualify all of the above by saying that my experience with Leukeran and lymphoma is by now two years in the past for me, and I may not be up to date on current thinking with the chemo protocols. I did hear that the price of Leukeran had gone through the roof lately. I just wanted to pop in and say that my experience with this drug over the years was a very positive one for me and my cat, and that it saved his life and gave us very many happy years together that we would not otherwise have had. I am wishing the same for you and Mali.

p.s. I have not read all of your condos, but I think that both novel diet and raw diet have been mentioned. I know that many people have had success with these. If you are considering a raw diet, I would very much advise that you discuss it with your vet first, as an immune compromised cat (i.e. as a cat on chemotherapy would be) may not be a good candidate for a raw diet. Just something to keep in mind.
 
Re: 6/8 Mali AMPS 544

Ann & Tess said:
I just tried it out (it's been awhile since I did Tess's) looks like you have to copy the whole SS to get all the rows. But then you can just delete the results columns the other cat's SS.


Thanks, Ann...I will check it out I'll probably be looking for help @-)
 
Re: 6/8 Mali AMPS 544

A bit of housekeeping: could you update the subject line of the very first post with new values? That shows up on the board and everyone can celebrate Mali's nice yellows today. :-D :-D It would look something like this.
6/8 Mali AMPS 544;+5.5 266;+8 270

Linda is too modest. She is in vet tech school, so she's getting the academic viewpoint too.
Liz
 
Re: 6/8 Mali AMPS 544

Linda and Bear Man said:
Hello,

I am not a regular poster here any more, as my diabetic kitty passed away a couple of years ago, but I did want to say that my civie, Teddy, who was not a diabetic, did very well on Leukeran for small cell intestinal lymphoma. He had a 7 year remission from his disease, and passed away from a different (pancreatic) cancer. His lymphoma was diagnosed by biopsies obtained by colonoscopy. In reading your previous posts, I understand why you do not want to do invasive testing on Mali. Teddy took Leukeran continuously from the time of his diagnosis until he came out of his remission many years later. He tolerated it very well. He did sometimes experience some inappetance and nausea which we managed by treating sometimes with Cerenia (which I believe you are using) and primarily with Ondansetron (Zofran). Ondansetron may be "layered" or used simultaneously with Cerenia if needed. We used Ondansetron as his primary nausea drug, and added Cerenia when he was going through more difficult times, and particularly for vomiting.

Leukeran is used to treat both IBD and lymphoma. The diseases may be thought of as different points along a continuum. I did try it with my IBD/diabetic kitty but he did not do as well on it as Teddy did. The chemo protocol for treating lymphoma with Leukeran also calls for simultaneously treating with Prednisolone. Obviously, with a diabetic cat, this is something that you and your vet must discuss and decide if it is right for Mali. Teddy also used a different dosing scheme initially with his Leukeran, which involved using a high dose for several days followed by a break of several weeks, known as pulse dosing. This schedule is much more likely to cause nausea, as it involves the use of higher doses. After he was deemed to be in remission, he transitioned to the every other day schedule that you have described. Prior to going onto Leukeran, Teddy had been treated with three rounds of IV chemotherapy with the big gun drugs. I do not know if this helped jumpstart his chemo, leading to his very successful long remission.

Your vet sounds very on top of things, so I am sure that you will be advised that Mali's red blood cell count will have to be checked frequently, as Leukeran can sometimes cause anemia. Teddy was checked every 3 weeks, and only once did his RBC count dip low over the years.

I qualify all of the above by saying that my experience with Leukeran and lymphoma is by now two years in the past for me, and I may not be up to date on current thinking with the chemo protocols. I did hear that the price of Leukeran had gone through the roof lately. I just wanted to pop in and say that my experience with this drug over the years was a very positive one for me and my cat, and that it saved his life and gave us very many happy years together that we would not otherwise have had. I am wishing the same for you and Mali.

p.s. I have not read all of your condos, but I think that both novel diet and raw diet have been mentioned. I know that many people have had success with these. If you are considering a raw diet, I would very much advise that you discuss it with your vet first, as an immune compromised cat (i.e. as a cat on chemotherapy would be) may not be a good candidate for a raw diet. Just something to keep in mind.

Hi Linda,
Thanks so much for your insight and relating your experience with what sounds like a very similar condition. I am very heartened to hear your Teddy did so well on Leukeran and it extended his life for so long. Much like us sitting and listening to our doctors tell us what they have found and what to do about it, it follows much the same when listening to the vet tell us about our pets...you listen intently, try to scribble a few notes and hope you make sense when it is related to someone else. Your recap of your experience clarified what I heard this morning.

After reading all I could find about the novel and raw diet, I was convinced this may be the way to go for Mali and even went as far as getting all the ingredients from Ann Jablonski's site, Cat Nutrition, and making a batch that sits in the freezer as we speak. I mentioned this to the vet some weeks ago and, as you opined, she didn't think it would be a good idea solely because of Mali's condition.

I will keep the board updated as we progress. I hope you will drop in from time to time with any other insight or thoughts.
Thank you for your time!
 
Re: 6/8 Mali AMPS 544

Robert

Great info from Linda, she is amazing. I also had a kitty, non FD, who had large cell lymphoma. large cell lymphoma does not typically respond as well to chemo although the chemo did really help my Teddi Bear and did not make her ill. She was 16 and was also hyperT, and stage 1 CKD. She had a pulmonary embolism and we lost her. But it had nothing to do with the chemo or the lymphoma....it was just an overall system weakening.

I'm not sure if you've seen my Primer on Pancreatitis but I did alot of research and got the most up-to-date info on treating pancreatitis. I would definitely be concerned about the dose of cerenia and the length of time Mali is getting it. I think, if she is nauseous, the ondansetron (zofran) is a better choice and I'd save the cerenia for vomiting.

I will be back shortly with more info.
 
Re: 6/8 Mali AMPS 544

Marje and Gracie said:
Robert

Great info from Linda, she is amazing. I also had a kitty, non FD, who had large cell lymphoma. large cell lymphoma does not typically respond as well to chemo although the chemo did really help my Teddi Bear and did not make her ill. She was 16 and was also hyperT, and stage 1 CKD. She had a pulmonary embolism and we lost her. But it had nothing to do with the chemo or the lymphoma....it was just an overall system weakening.

I'm not sure if you've seen my Primer on Pancreatitis but I did alot of research and got the most up-to-date info on treating pancreatitis. I would definitely be concerned about the dose of cerenia and the length of time Mali is getting it. I think, if she is nauseous, the ondansetron (zofran) is a better choice and I'd save the cerenia for vomiting.

I will be back shortly with more info.

Thanks Marje for this info..I will definitely take it up with the vet on the cerenia...like I've said before, I'm just taking in at it's thrown at me and have no background for rebuttal...and that's where FDMB is invaluable :!:
 
Re: 6/8 Mali AMPS 544

Anne & Zener said:
A bit of housekeeping: could you update the subject line of the very first post with new values? That shows up on the board and everyone can celebrate Mali's nice yellows today. :-D :-D It would look something like this.
6/8 Mali AMPS 544;+5.5 266;+8 270

Linda is too modest. She is in vet tech school, so she's getting the academic viewpoint too.
Liz


Will do, Liz..thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top