6/8 Lucy's AMPS 172 feed and shoot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joanj

Member Since 2018
Lucy's numbers

630pm last night 100
930 pm insulin time due to late vet visit yesterday 62 advised on forum not to shoot just food
Fed her 20cc a/d
11pm 68
Fed another 20cc at 130am
7am 172

Should I now feed and shoot? She's still on half dose is Lantus .5 no insulin since 930am yesterday

I posted a thread here last night.

Thanks!
 
Joan, I would get a test at +1 since you don't know how she is going to react to shooting that number and then get another one @+2 .

Can you get a SS up and going otherwise it is hard to give advice on dose and shooting. Here is yesterday's post. We link the previous day to each new day so it is easier to follow along.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-to-diabetes-and-lantus-bg-100.196647/

Question: Did Lucy receive steroids before she was diagnosed with feline diabetes? The reason I ask is because steroids can throw a cat into transient diabetes and once they are off the steroids and get some insulin support and a low carb diet, they can go into remission.
 
Im working on the ss. I uploaded it to my drive but mot getting a drop down menu with file, make a copy, etc. Can someone help me with it? Im not excel proficient!

I'm switching fromm tablet to laptop
 
Last edited:
She didnt get steroids. My old vet thought she just had an infection and gave her a 2 week antibiotic shot. As far as i know she never got steroids.
 
Ok, 9am BG was 172, shot ended up being at 930. At 1040 her BG was 165.
Thank you for the update. Good numbers so far!
The test at 10:40am (+1 ) is lower than PS even though she eaten.
I would test her in one hour bc it is when Lantus starts working for most cats and she can lower.

It might be very good idea to check now if she is willing to eat a little more.
Have you tried to offer her food on a plate - heat it or sprinkle w/ Parmesan - to see if she is willing to eat herself?
 
I've tried every trick I've read about. She will lick food from her paws so I've been trying different ones there. On the forum last night, I discovered I hadn't been feeding her enough. At the ER they said make sure she has 15cc a/d before her shot but stupidly, that was all I was giving her. I didn't even think of adding more food. I fed her at 930 last night with syringe and then again at 130 and got about 20ccs each feeding down her.

I've tried various forms and textures, parmesan cheese, heating it, etc. The only thing she's eaten voluntarily is one kitty treat each day. I tried it just to see if she'd eat it and she did. She's peeing, pooping, grooming herself, drinking, everything but eating. I'm hoping the mirtzapine and cerenia helps. I just got the cerenia yesterday so she got it yesterday and today.
 
The only thing she's eaten voluntarily is one kitty treat each day. I tried it just to see if she'd eat it and she did.
good hear it - all good signs!
When my Ducia was fed via Etube she refused to eat on her own for a while but I kept bringing her bowl of food (mixed w/ extra hot water to a soupy texture) and little by little she started to eat from the bowl.
I food feed her half 20cc syringe, then pu t the bowl w/ food under her nose. If she would not eat I'd finish the syringe and discard the food in the bowl until next attempt.

I used Mirt on Ducia only once - it kicked in in about 45 min. I gave 1/4 of the pill and her appy remained up for good 12, maybe 14 hours.
Hopefully it works well for Lucy too.

I used to give Cerenia and Mirt together with no ill effect but I was warned afterwards that Mirt should be given at different times than Cerenia.
Mirt can also provoke "talkativeness" in cats - not to worry, it is common.

Have you ever tried Tiki Cat canned/ pouched food?
It is a bit expensive but of good quality and smells very appetizing.
The texture is pulled white chicken meat in chicken consomme - called Tiki Cat Puka Luau or Koolina Luau - the later has egg mixed in which many cats like. Maybe try that one? I hear more cats liking it than not. Sold at Petco.
 
I bought some Tiki after reading about it on the Feline Diabetes Facebook about it. No luck yet. I have another cat too who is healthy so trying to get him off Purina one. He likes a little Fancy Feast but thats about it so far.

Thanks for the info on the meds!
 
I see...
(I want to throw in an idea.)
Have you got a chance to buy FF Gravy Lovers in Walmart?
Its gravy part is High Carbs (HC) and not to be fed to a diabetic regularly but...

many, if not most of the cats like that gravy part.
What if you try tricking Lucy by squeezing a little gravy out of the can (without meat), heat it and mix with her reg food - like FF you said she's interested in?
It might elevate her BG for a while but she might go for it and start eating on her own. Use very small amount of gravy - I'd try with 1 teaspoon of gravy per 2 teaspoons of FF. It might restart her appy.

Warning: gravy food s aren't good for cats at ll as in addition to high carbs it also contains many known allergens like wheat or soy and it makes some cat's GI upset. But many feed FF for years with no problems.
I just thought if so many cats fall for gravy and this type of food is new to Lucy she might be interested to taste.
 
@Joanj
it might be good idea to test again now.
For many cats Lantus onsets at about +2 or +3.
If the reading is lower than the preshot or +1 - the cycle maybe "active" - with more lowering towards the nadir an d you might need to test more afterwards to make sure she stays in safe numbers.
 
I tried to test about 30 min ago and got an error msg. E-4 i tried it on mt husband and device works fine. Shes getting mad at me. I did feed her another 10cc of a/d
 
I hate to say it but with her history of going down to 49 on the Alpha meter on the same 0.5U dose it is important to monitor her BG levels and intervene with food.(eta: if needed)
She is right at the time of the cycle when Lantus potency growth. She does not eat a lot to have good safety cushion.
So.... sorry, but can you try to obtain another test?

ETA: giving a treat before and after each tests usually helps to make it easy on a cat
 
Just got one now so it's almost +5 . It was 113

I did feed her about 10cc of the a/d an hour ago. Should I try some more +carb food?
 
Just got one now so it's almost +5 . It was 113

I did feed her about 10cc of the a/d an hour ago. Should I try some more +carb food?

The number is safe and very nice. She does not need to eat for that.
But if she shows any interest in food - some cats do when lower than usual - let her eat. Maybe she'll b willing to eat herself now when she is lowering?
 
I took her BG at 630 +9 hours and it was 78 so no insulin tonight. I fed her by syringe. She's licking food from her paws anyway. I talked to My vet today to clarify about the pancreatitis. She said its secondary to her diabetes and if we can get her straightened out the pancreatitis should go away. I'm thinking that may be why she isnt eating but vet said the antinausea should also help any pain.

She said to keep checking numbers but to stick to .5 in the mornings only if things stay the same. Play it by ear.

Thanks for checking. You all have been amazing!
 
Sounds like things are going well. I would suggest getting another test at shot time. If nothing else, it is good data, but she could be moving up.

I have never heard of FD regulation curing pancreatitis, so I would like to see others more experienced with this comment.
 
I'm not sure she meant "cured". I might have misunderstood. Maybe managing FD would relieve symptoms?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top