6/8 Lucky amps 287; +12 40; shot late;+1 72; +2 36;+2.5 47;+3 56; +3.5 71; +4 47; +4.5 92; +5 89

Charlotte and Lucky’s mom

Member Since 2019
Good evening all. Ugh of course this happens tonight- daughter has her license test tomorrow a.m. at 10:30.:banghead: Daughter didn’t feed either one today bc she was away for the morning and then forgot.:banghead::banghead::banghead: So I fed him a whole can of 20%FF as I had to run over to moms. Had my daughter give him his insulin about an hour and a half later with DM food (9%). Come home to 36 2 hours after shot. Fed him KD pate which is 27%. Why?? I guess I’ll be testing him for the next few hours. Reduction tomorrow or still no?
 
Omg I thought I was having a hard night but you win. Glad to see he is up from that 36. I am a new member so cannot help with dosing just moral support:cat::bighug::bighug:

Just curious, did you do syrup with the 36 number? Only asking because I am seeing this and I am learning as well being a newbie and all

VERY LOW NUMBERS – WITHOUT SYMPTOMS
Retest glucose using a large blood sample to make certain you have enough blood, and if you still get a very low number (under 40 mg/dL or 1.9 – 2.2 mmol/L) administer a teaspoon of corn syrup, liquid glucose, pancake syrup or honey, or INSTA-GLUCOSE and follow with food until the blood glucose numbers rise to acceptable levels. The syrup can be mixed with wet food or poured over dry if the cat will eat the mixture. If using liquid glucose, dilute with water for a thinner consistency.
 
Omg I thought I was having a hard night but you win. Glad to see he is up from that 36. I am a new member so cannot help with dosing just moral support:cat::bighug::bighug:

Just curious, did you do syrup with the 36 number? Only asking because I am seeing this and I am learning as well being a newbie and all

VERY LOW NUMBERS – WITHOUT SYMPTOMS
Retest glucose using a large blood sample to make certain you have enough blood, and if you still get a very low number (under 40 mg/dL or 1.9 – 2.2 mmol/L) administer a teaspoon of corn syrup, liquid glucose, pancake syrup or honey, or INSTA-GLUCOSE and follow with food until the blood glucose numbers rise to acceptable levels. The syrup can be mixed with wet food or poured over dry if the cat will eat the mixture. If using liquid glucose, dilute with water for a thinner consistency.
No I just fed him a very high carb prescription food. I’ll probably pay for that tomorrow but I can’t be up all night with him!
 
Previous post :cat:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-6-lucky-amps-279-pmps-268-2-75-200-3-75-310.264263/
Hi I'm no expert when it comes to dosing but since you are following TR and he's considered a long term diabetic ( over one year since diagnosis ) you would reduce if he drops under 40

I'll tag some experienced members for you
@Wendy&Neko

@Bandit's Mom

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

@Christie & Maverick
Thanks! I think I can too. But I’ll wait for the input.
 
Please don’t ever give insulin to a cat if the BG is under 50. Not even experienced people will do that.
You will have to stay up with him for at least 2 hours after you have fed high carb food to see he can stay up on his own without the support of the HC food.
I can see you have just put in 71@ +3.5. I would not feed any more at the moment but keep testing and see if he can stay up on his own. Please don’t go to bed yet because he could drop again.
He has earned a reduction in dose down to 5units. Any drop into the 30s is an automatic dose reduction.
You need to move the +1 back into the +1 column and the +2 etc back as well into the +2 and then +3 in the SS.

ETA. Your new shot time is 1 1/2 hours later than normal. To get back on schedule you can go back 1/4 hour each cycle or 1/2 hour each day.
 
Last edited:
Please don’t ever give insulin to a cat if the BG is under 50. Not even experienced people will do that.
You will have to stay up with him for at least 2 hours after you have fed high carb food to see he can stay up on his own without the support of the HC food.
I can see you have just put in 71@ +3.5. I would not feed any more at the moment but keep testing and see if he can stay up on his own. Please don’t go to bed yet because he could drop again.
He has earned a reduction in dose down to 5units. Any drop into the 30s is an automatic dose reduction.
You need to move the +1 back into the +1 column and the +2 etc back as well into the +2 and then +3 in the SS.

ETA. Your new shot time is 1 1/2 hours later than normal. To get back on schedule you can go back 1/4 hour each cycle or 1/2 hour each day.
I didn’t shoot at 40, I know that is dangerous; I fed him HC with no shot and waited 1 1/2 hours to shoot him. I know the entries are a bit misleading. Sorry. I will retest again in 1/2 hour.
 
Back
Top