6/8 Latte AMPS- 551,PMPS~HI, +1.25~518,+6~496

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolynandlatte

Very Active Member
Last night:
PMPS-335 (dose increase from 1.0u lev to f1.0u lev)
+3-301
+5.5-194
AMPS- 551

yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=16620


:YMSIGH: Here we go again. How does the liver know the difference between a 194 and 205?!!?! :roll: Have we trained our cat's livers to recognize colors on a ss?

I may have given the right concoction of meds last night for her to feel a bit more comfortable. It might take me all day to name them all...so, we will just leave it at that. She ate ok last night (probably from the lower numbers). I saw her eating kibble about 30 minutes before the alarm/shot this a.m. She is pretty much only interested in water right now, which I hope does not end up being a set up for a large drop out of the 500's. Im doing my best to get her to eat a few licks of wet here and there.

Aside from that, yes...she is sitting in the bathroom. She stayed in there last night while I took a bath. Probably too stoned to realize how much she does not like me lately. :?

Two very long days approaching, with little sleep on the way...
 
Re: 6/8 Latte AMPS- 551

Hoping she clears her bounce quickly, and that you can get some rest - of the mind and body.

Latte may be annoyed with the testing, but you know she loves you. Any relationship has their spats....doesn't change the love.

Hang in...sending good eating vibes to the princess...

(Latte - quit being an over acheiver. In this game the ones with the highest numbers do not win, silly girl.)
 
Re: 6/8 Latte AMPS- 551,+1.5~458

I guess we can at least give her body credit for never sticking around such high numbers too long.

She has eaten a little ( 1/4 can maybe). I get a +2.5, then gone until around +10.
 
Re: 6/8 Latte AMPS- 551,+1.5~458

You sound like me..too much work, too little sleep, too much worry.
I’m sure Latte loves you, plenty. I’m glad she sat by the tub last night while you were there. :-D
She does have short bounces, huh? I hope she has a good day, and tbp goes by quickly for you, Carolyn. Thanks for posting in my condo this morning.
 
Re: 6/8 Latte AMPS- 551,+1.5~458

That kibble really does like the high numbers, eh? Well, hope you both have a good day today...she will have the bathroom all to herself while you are at work. :-D Glad to see she is on the way down. what a roller coaster ride you two are on with those numbers, huh?
Sending hugs... :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/8 Latte AMPS- 551,+1.5~458

((((((Carolyn & Latte)))))) Much hugs and love today.
 
Re: 6/8 Latte AMPS- 551,+1.5~458

Jeez - Latte and Kasha are like little rollercoasters lately! Easy there, Latte...

At least they (both Latte and Kasha) seem to be clearing bounces fairly quickly...
 
Re: 6/8 Latte AMPS- 551,+1.5~458, +2~253!

Are my eyes deceiving me? Over 100 points in 30 minutes :o
Latte, SLOWWW Down, NOW!
 
Re: 6/8 Latte AMPS- 551,+1.5~458, +2~253!

my gracious The girl is on the move. Hope you guys have a great day. and never doubt for a minute that latte loves you. She does, no doubt.
 
Re: 6/8 Latte AMPS- 551,+1.5~458, +2.5~253!

How does she do that?? Latte the mysterious cliff diver. I hope she slows down that drop. Sending Latte, appetite vines today. I hope you day goes well, even if it is busier than you'd like.
 
Re: 6/8 Latte AMPS- 551,+1.5~458, +2.5~253!

I swear Latte and Kasha are competing in a cliff diving competition... And on days when both Carolyn and I can't monitor!!!
 
Re: 6/8 Latte AMPS- 551,+1.5~458, +2.5~253!

And there it is!! One of Latte's famous dives!! That girl could be in the FDMB Olympics :lol: :lol: :lol:
With a few others, I can think of :-D --Hope you see nice numbers today from this--Latte show your momma you love her--we all know how much you do!! :mrgreen: HUGS~!
 
Re: 6/8 Latte AMPS- 551,+1.5~458, +2.5~253!

Yep...I think Doodles is wanting to try out :YMSIGH:

Sending you hugs and what a great mama bean you are!!!
Doodles had attitude the other day with me, but we sure do know they love us :-D
 
Re: 6/8 Latte AMPS- 551,+1.5~458, +2.5~253!, +9.5~563

It was expected, but doesnt make it any easier.
Can anyone boost my confidence and tell me this might stop or get better, if I stick with the dose? Sooner than later, too?!

It looked like she had a party in here. Kibble gone..and all over the floor, one bowl knocked over most likely from eating very quickly and aggressively, wet food bbowl licked clean, water down low, poop in the box, all pee pads soaked around all three of her LB's.

And yes, she is back in the bathroom after a brief hello and sucking down more water.

I suspected she wouldnt go much lower before bouncing after that insane drop...but who knows. Im sure she was in very safe numbers tho.
 
Re: 6/8 Latte AMPS- 551,+1.5~458, +2.5~253!, +9.5~563

Breathtaking! I hope Latte will have a calmer evening (you, too, Carolyn!). Thinking of you both,

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 6/8 Latte AMPS- 551,+1.5~458, +2.5~253!, +9.5~563

Well I like the party description.
I can just picture Latte whooping it up while you are out of the house and
then settles down when you get home just so you can worry about her.

I hope this see-saw she is doing will settle down.
You know you are an amazing mother. Latte knows that too.
((hugs))
 
Re: 6/8 Latte AMPS- 551,+1.5~458, +2.5~253!, +9.5~563

I think Randi is right. Latte must have had Bear over to the house for the afternoon, and he showed her how to express her opinion on Mom going back to tbp after staycation.
 
Re: 6/8 Latte AMPS- 551,PMPS~HI

The assurances...I can't give. I just don't have the experience with Lev.... so I hope those that do have the experience chime in for you.

May just need to wait until you have the break in your schedule where you can get the tests to know what she's really doing at peak. With Lev nadir being even later than Lantus, and Latte tends to peak on the later side of the scale anyway, and her so sensitive to minute changes, hard to know...

Hope she has some "Latte-ness" for you tonight or in the am to ease your heart and mind.
 
Re: 6/8 Latte AMPS- 551,PMPS~HI

This is a hard recap to type:

AMPS-551
+1.5- 458
+2.5-253
+9.5- 563
PMPS- HI (thats OVER 600, for anyone that is not aware or finds it helpful to see a # attached)

Any encouragement would be extremely helpful, as Im between feeling like I did before switching from Lantus to Levemir, and numb. I feel pretty hopeless that there is anything I can do for her. And, Im terribly sad to know that this is likely the way she is going to spend the remaining time of her life. With all she has going on, and the winding down of her existence, I must say...I wonder how fair this is to make her ride this ride.

One drop, guys and gals. ONE drop from a 1u dose to a f1.0 and THIS is what it did. The alternative...sit high in the 200-400 range.


Her vet has no clue what is left to do. He thought she would have stopped this at a lower dose, and possibly even with the lev. He agreed we should have brought it up a bit yesterday, as she was showing some flatter, but higher curves. He thought maybe my meter was going haywire. I did change the batteries a few weeks ago, just in case. And, I have rechecked with the back up meter a few times. It often reads a tad lower, but still in the same range. Her behavior, eating patterns, and fur are always consistent with the range and or drops she may be showing on the meter. I dont think THAT is the problem.

I should have shot an hour early, then been late in the a.m. Probly would have helped slow whatever drop she could have tomorrow. Hindsight is hindsight.


I have to get ready for work now...she probly wont be too happy when I start the shower. I can get a +1ish, then I dont know when I will be back. Sold out concert (black keys) and 4 of us tending bar at my station...Im HOPING to be home around her +6. Not sure if it really sure how much it matters. Blink once, miss her drop. Blink twice, miss her rise.
 
Re: 6/8 Latte AMPS- 551,PMPS~HI

(((Caryoln))) I can relate to some of your frustration (with J.D.'s 500 tonight). But, I know you have way more than I.
Maybe, staying in the 200 to 400 range for awhile is okay, better than red light-green light (what I call what J.D. plays)
I hope you have a good night tonight. Latte will get through the bounce. Hang in there, lady. We are all here with you, and for you (and Latte). Good luck and prayers and thoughts and white light that the bounces get less and less bouncy.
 
Re: 6/8 Latte AMPS- 551,PMPS~HI, +1.25~518

Carolyn, I wanted to talk with Jojo about this first but I haven't seen her around much. It might not even be possible with your schedule, but I was wondering if Latte might be one of those cats who would benefit from shooting a smaller dose more often. I'm thinking of something like what Michelle/Doodle used to do, not necessarily shooting TID but shooting whenever the bounce starts, as long as it's after a certain + hour. June/Riggs is another example - sometimes Riggs' cycles went way longer than 12 hours before he zoomed. That cat could bounce to 500 even when he wasn't on insulin. :roll:

I'm way out of my league even bringing this up and I don't want you to consider it until somebody more experienced can look at Latte's spreadsheet. I can just feel your frustration and wanted to throw this out there for discussion.

I don't think it would necessarily have to be a very rigid schedule, but I might be wrong about that. I would really like Jojo or Jill to have input.

Seems like if you could get a little bit of insulin in the minute you see the bounce starting, even if it's only +9, that might help a little, maybe? But you would have to reduce her dose to be able to shoot more often, because you would be playing with extra overlap. That's where my experience falls way short.
 
Re: 6/8 Latte AMPS- 551,PMPS~HI, +1.25~518

The turning point with Jez was eliminating all dry kibble and treats. Once I did that...she settled in... I had no idea that food could really make that dramatic a difference.

We're rooting for you Latte!!!

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 6/8 Latte AMPS- 551,PMPS~HI, +1.25~518

(((Carolyn))) and (((Latte)))

My heart goes out to you. I know how much those bounces can make you crazy...

But on the brighter side, sounds like she ate and partied like a rock star...
 
Re: 6/8 Latte AMPS- 551,PMPS~HI, +1.25~518

My only thought.... go lower. Seems like she's b*uncing from supposedly yellow numbers now. After seeing what happened going from 1.0 to f1.0, back off and try 0.5U for a few cycles. Maybe she'll surf pink for a while.
 
Re: 6/8 Latte AMPS- 551,PMPS~HI, +1.25~518

Libby and Lucy said:
Carolyn, I wanted to talk with Jojo about this first but I haven't seen her around much. It might not even be possible with your schedule, but I was wondering if Latte might be one of those cats who would benefit from shooting a smaller dose more often. I'm thinking of something like what Michelle/Doodle used to do, not necessarily shooting TID but shooting whenever the bounce starts, as long as it's after a certain + hour. June/Riggs is another example - sometimes Riggs' cycles went way longer than 12 hours before he zoomed. That cat could bounce to 500 even when he wasn't on insulin. :roll:

I'm way out of my league even bringing this up and I don't want you to consider it until somebody more experienced can look at Latte's spreadsheet. I can just feel your frustration and wanted to throw this out there for discussion.

I don't think it would necessarily have to be a very rigid schedule, but I might be wrong about that. I would really like Jojo or Jill to have input.

Seems like if you could get a little bit of insulin in the minute you see the bounce starting, even if it's only +9, that might help a little, maybe? But you would have to reduce her dose to be able to shoot more often, because you would be playing with extra overlap. That's where my experience falls way short.

hmmm, have to think about this. kibble, karo, and not being able to count on latte eating at any given time are all part of the mix.
let me see if i can roundup a few peeps for an old-fashioned brainstorming session...
 
Re: 6/8 Latte AMPS- 551,PMPS~HI, +1.25~518

good points, Jill. Guess I'm feeling Carolyn's desperation and wanting to try *something*.
 
I will take a guess she has been high and flat since her +1 drop tonight.
I got 1 jar of baby food in her before leaving, but she has not eaten anything since. Im sure she wont eat overnight either. Will probly give an appy stim in a.m. first thing.

Thank you for the encouragement. Im really trying to stay positive, but this is hard and frustrating. Everything is so intertwined. I dont know why she did so well, relatively speaking until a month or so ago. I guess its her overall condition deteriorating.

Thank you Jill and Libby for putting effort into thinking outside the box and reaching out to other resources. It means a lot to me.

I would like top clarify the kibble situation. For those not familiar, she has gi disease and spent nearly 1 yr being syringe fed. she is nearing her end, and if kibble is what she will eat, then kibble it is. I work very hard when I am home to get her eating wet. And it helps. But when I am at work or sleeping it is what she will eat. I have put away the kibble in the past, but she wont eat at all. For a cat that is so difficult to get eating in the first place I dont think she would survive without it. I do not like it, and it complicates the complicated even more. I dont know what else to do.

The karo is not always used. I try to use it to slow her drops. I did not today, and maybe it would have helped. She still has monumental drops even with karo some am's..

She is ok this evening. Kinda stoned from the bupe I gave earlier. Tail is wagging and she was happy to see me.

K, off to get some babyfood in her and hit the hay myself. Im around until +4.5 tomorow am
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top