6/8 Kiki's Charlie AMPS 229 Should I increase dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kiki's Charlie

Member Since 2014
I've been giving Charlie a dose of 1,25 for four days now but it doesn't seem enough. Should I increase to 1,5 or hold the dose for a while longer? Am I too impatient? (She seems ok but definitely not herself).
Would appreciate advice!
Thanks, Kiki
 
Hi, no dose advice from me, but wanted you to know I went to look at Charlie's profile and it said I needed permissions. She's so beautiful!
 
Hi Kiki!

I think i'd give her another 2 shots at the 1.25u dose. She got to 58 on it on the first shot. I highlighted the part below that would apply to her situation. She looks pretty bouncy and most cats don't seem to feel good when their blood sugar is all over the place.

Looking at your comments, I'm wondering if you are routinely giving her food after +5 or +6. The insulin strength wanes after nadir, and if you feed much in the second half of the cycle it can really push up the next preshot number. Are you perhaps feeding her in the second half of the day cycle but not the night cycle? that might explain why her numbers are higher in the pmps than in the amps.

If that's what's happening, you might try feeding her earlier in the day cycle too and see if that helps her pmps not be quite as high.

Do you know what the carb count of her food is?

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Hi Julie, yes you're right. I normally feed her a little bit at around +6! Is it maybe better to give her only two meals per day (and more per meal)?
It's very difficult to work out the exact carb count, and the pet shop run out of the Salmon flavour that I normally get, so picked up other flavours that I thought would also be low-carb (chicken and tuna), but I will change back to the salmon as soon as they have it.
The brand is Almo Nature (I think it's Dutch or German, not sure).
Thanks for the advice, I'll keep the dose for another day or two and then see again!
Kiki
 
Hi Tara, thanks for the tip. I've changed the setting for the profile sheet so that it is viewable for anyone with the link! (She's indeed a very beautiful cat - and the best thing is that she also has a wonderful character : )
Kiki
 
that's elise - max's mom!

it's good to give a diabetic cat more than 2 meals a day. It helps to even out their blood sugar if you spread out the food a little. Most people give at least a couple of meals in each cycle. I fed punkin 3oz of food with his shot, then 1.5oz at +3 - did that both am cycle and pm cycle. Then i gave him plain chicken (boiled chicken breasts) for his post-poking treats. Pure meat isn't supposed to have any carbs.

Sometimes feeding in the second half of the cycle increases the next preshot - that's why i asked about it. I'd just move the +6 feeding to +4 or +3 instead. Charlie might complain at first, but she'll adjust to the new schedule.
 
Hi Julie, thanks for the tips! Today I fed her lunch earlier (at +4)... Luckily she's fine with whatever time (and food) I feed her. I'll try to stick to that routine now. Feeding at night is a bit trickier...
Kiki
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top