? 6/8 Ivy 54/114 +1 Dose Increase, Drop Fast AMPS 146, 102 +.5, 54 +1,69 +2, 103 +3, 252 +5 How boost?

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...18-7-281-9-pmps-249-206-1-232-2-222-3.278351/
Edit: dropped to 53 on Libre at +1 now, checked on Contour next 114.
Gave 1/2 tsp mc 12%. what else to do?? @Wendy&Neko @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Chris & China (GA) @Christie & Maverick

@Bandit's Mom


Dose increase this am up to 3.5 units Lantus. Ivy was dropping at amps at 146 (on Libre 3).
Now at +.5 she’s at 102, dropping (1/2 hour past shot & meal).

I added a 1/2 tsp mc 12% in her am LC 6% meal to give a small boost, but doesn’t look like enough? Any thoughts on amount needed?
She doesn’t get a boost from LC, in general.
she usual has a Rocky first few hours of dropping, until onset calms down. Then after the 3-4th hour, the drops calm down for rest of cycle.
This is exhausting just getting through the first 3 hours per cycle.

Anything else I could bd doing?? Thank you!
 
Last edited:
Good Morning Staci, If you think she's still dropping, put a drop or two of honey, karo or maple syrup on the back of her paw and see if she'll lick it off. Luci used to love that! Of course Luci is very fond of sweets.

That'll give her a little boost if you think she's still sliding down too fast.
 
Good Morning Staci, If you think she's still dropping, put a drop or two of honey, karo or maple syrup on the back of her paw and see if she'll lick it off. Luci used to love that! Of course Luci is very fond of sweets.

That'll give her a little boost if you think she's still sliding down too fast.
Hi Sue, I did a smidge of karo and 1/2 tsp mc, she’s sitting at 53 on her Libre. Contour next meter reads 114 then 135 but she’s not coming up yet. Ugh.
 
upload_2023-6-8_7-44-27.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-6-8_7-44-27.png
    upload_2023-6-8_7-44-27.png
    86 KB · Views: 152
I’m no pro at all! But advice give to me was using an oral syringe with maple syrup can work in the side of the mouth or even in the rectum…
 
You’re doing fine, great job doing a few quick checks with the Contour Next, sometimes the Libre can read unnecessarily low in the lower numbers, which looks to be what you saw this morning. She has done a couple of early drops before, then it fizzles out. I see she’s back up to 64 on the Libre at +3, which is good, what you ideally want is for her to stay above 50 and surf along a little in the greens. I know it is a little scary for you but the more time she spends in greens is a good thing. Keep testing, and offering her a little food.
 
You’re doing fine, great job doing a few quick checks with the Contour Next, sometimes the Libre can read unnecessarily low in the lower numbers, which looks to be what you saw this morning. She has done a couple of early drops before, then it fizzles out. I see she’s back up to 64 on the Libre at +3, which is good, what you ideally want is for her to stay above 50 and surf along a little in the greens. I know it is a little scary for you but the more time she spends in greens is a good thing. Keep testing, and offering her a little food.
Oops, we are only +2.25 now.
I fixed the SS!
I know we want her surfing above 50, but she repeatedly does these very deep drops in first 2 hours of cycles.
**How often do you think I should offer a little food???

I can’t get her to stop these major drops @Christie & Maverick
 
If you are at +2.25 and fed a little then, check her at +3 and if she is still surfing along and not dropping, give her another teaspoon of her LC / MC mix.

I like to follow this info on How To Handle Low Numbers
I gave her Tbsp lc only @ +2
Should I give more lc now or give a mix of lc & mc? (How much?) she’s at 66 on Libre now.
How often do you give a bit of food when they are hanging low??
upload_2023-6-8_8-50-17.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-6-8_8-50-17.png
    upload_2023-6-8_8-50-17.png
    86.8 KB · Views: 151
With numbers hanging above 50, just keep checking every 30-45 minutes, and continue feeding a teaspoon of your LC/MC mix. You want to continue to give her a little food each time to keep her surfing.
 
Ok, awesome. For how many hours do you think I should continue that process??
Thanks soooo much for that information!!!
Once you get 2 consecutive tests around that 30-45 minute range, where numbers continue to be stable or rising, you can go back to just checking after an hour. If the numbers continue to rise after that, usually with cats who are getting ear-tested you’d give them a pokie break :)
 
Once you get 2 consecutive tests around that 30-45 minute range, where numbers continue to be stable or rising, you can go back to just checking after an hour. If the numbers continue to rise after that, usually with cats who are getting ear-tested you’d give them a pokie break :)
Ok on the testing, got that.
How about feeding? How long after a drop like this would you continue to feed a little bit, for how many hours would you continue to add food so she surfs?
Again, thanks! (Sorry for so many follow-up questions) :arghh:
 
That’s ok, I don’t mind :). For feeding, once you’ve had numbers rising, I would go back to whenever your regularly scheduled snacks are. When Mav was on Lantus and if he had early drops, I used to continue to feed small snacks up to around +6.
 
That’s ok, I don’t mind :). For feeding, once you’ve had numbers rising, I would go back to whenever your regularly scheduled snacks are. When Mav was on Lantus and if he had early drops, I used to continue to feed small snacks up to around +6.
Oh wow, I only was feeding her small snacks up until +3
I’ve never tried snacks until +6. Do you think that will help reduce some of those +12, +13 drops if I feed till +6.??
And thank you for your patience. I really appreciate it. :bighug:
 
Oh wow, I only was feeding her small snacks up until +3
I’ve never tried snacks until +6. Do you think that will help reduce some of those +12, +13 drops if I feed till +6.??
And thank you for your patience. I really appreciate it. :bighug:
You know, that’s a great question. Ordinarily you want to avoid feeding after nadir, because that can put the brakes on the duration, but it is an every cat is different thing. If you usually don’t feed after +3 it might be worth adding one snack around +5 or +6 although as far as affecting the quick onsets that you sometimes get, I would think those carbs wouldn’t really be in the equation by next shot. It’s interesting to me the variance you had between the Libre and the Contour; she was in the 114-130 range on the Contour.
 
You know, that’s a great question. Ordinarily you want to avoid feeding after nadir, because that can put the brakes on the duration, but it is an every cat is different thing. If you usually don’t feed after +3 it might be worth adding one snack around +5 or +6 although as far as affecting the quick onsets that you sometimes get, I would think those carbs wouldn’t really be in the equation by next shot. It’s interesting to me the variance you had between the Libre and the Contour; she was in the 114-130 range on the Contour.
I know, those variances are crazy, right? But nonetheless, it’s still a very drastic drop, no real matter of the exact numbers (in a way) that I need to stop!!

It’s like her nadir is +13 to +14 (if that’s a way to explain time, lol)
So I do need to feed her small snacks as she’s dropping those first 3 hours of her cycle.
It’s becoming her “norm” and I have to be on top of her as she has these repeated drastic drops, very early each cycle.

I feel like I'm doing something wrong since it’s so much of the time we have these major drops. min not sure what to try! (Cries here)
Any other ideas??
 
Again, a few things to consider. We have seen, from other members’ experiences with using the Libre that it can read artificially lower at lower numbers. Using the Contour to double check seems to be a good idea, because it can help ground you a little in terms of how to really interpret what the Libre is telling you.

Second, it looks like there was a little bounce breaking cycle going on today, which may have provided a little more early momentum. I don’t think you are doing anything wrong at all :bighug:, it takes some time to get a feel for how your kitty responds to insulin and carbs and it’s not always evident or consistent because insulin is a hormone, not a drug so not all cycles will be the same regardless of what we do. So many things can influence how it is metabolized, and variables that affect BG levels from one cycle to the next.

Give sweet Ivy a few belly rubs for me, and hang in there, you really are doing a fabulous job!
 
Again, a few things to consider. We have seen, from other members’ experiences with using the Libre that it can read artificially lower at lower numbers. Using the Contour to double check seems to be a good idea, because it can help ground you a little in terms of how to really interpret what the Libre is telling you.

Second, it looks like there was a little bounce breaking cycle going on today, which may have provided a little more early momentum. I don’t think you are doing anything wrong at all :bighug:, it takes some time to get a feel for how your kitty responds to insulin and carbs and it’s not always evident or consistent because insulin is a hormone, not a drug so not all cycles will be the same regardless of what we do. So many things can influence how it is metabolized, and variables that affect BG levels from one cycle to the next.

Give sweet Ivy a few belly rubs for me, and hang in there, you really are doing a fabulous job!
So is there anything you think I should be doing ahead of each cycle when it looks like she’s gonna drop (possible bounce break, which is often) to prevent these huge drops??
 
I have a couple of thoughts and suggestions. Given that you have the ability to monitor, what you did today with mixing the LC/MC seemed to flatten her out pretty quickly. Sometimes we can see flat yellows as an indication of some action to follow, but not all cats give this indication, and those that do, not always consistently. You could next time try feeding just the MC with shot, and see if that gives her a food bump. Of course, any time you aren't sure whether she might have an active cycle AND you aren't able to monitor, that might change the approach with what carbs to give.

Again, remember that with TR and using a human meter, we do want her to achieve BG levels within the normal range which is 50-120 mg/dl. While I don't want to minimize or be dismissive of the Libre readings, since it is extremely helpful to you to be able to monitor so closely, as I said before, I do feel that since you managed to get a couple of Contour tests which showed her being above 114-130ish, the low 50s seems a bit debatable on the Libre, and knowing that many other members have experienced inaccurate lows as well.

Speaking of cycles, I'd like to suggest you start looking at the numbers the way the SS is set up, which is how we look at numbers here. A cycle refers to the period of time between shots. There are 2 cycles in 24 hours. While it is good to look back at previous cycles particularly to see if you can establish some patterns, I do feel like the Libre graph perhaps continues to confound the situation a little. For example, I wouldn't look at it as that she dropped from 300 (midcycle last night) to 53s (early today) quickly, since that isn't quite right given the time frame in question and the number of hours involved. In "today's am cycle" she dropped from 149 preshot to 53 by +1 (and again, if you aren't inclined to question the validity of the 53), which is indicative of an active cycle. I think I mentioned this before, but it is a bit of an experiment, since it takes some time to see whether the carbs you are feeding are working or not. If it were me, I would say today's cycle and how you fed was fine, since you managed to stop the early drop.
 
I have a couple of thoughts and suggestions. Given that you have the ability to monitor, what you did today with mixing the LC/MC seemed to flatten her out pretty quickly. Sometimes we can see flat yellows as an indication of some action to follow, but not all cats give this indication, and those that do, not always consistently. You could next time try feeding just the MC with shot, and see if that gives her a food bump. Of course, any time you aren't sure whether she might have an active cycle AND you aren't able to monitor, that might change the approach with what carbs to give.

Again, remember that with TR and using a human meter, we do want her to achieve BG levels within the normal range which is 50-120 mg/dl. While I don't want to minimize or be dismissive of the Libre readings, since it is extremely helpful to you to be able to monitor so closely, as I said before, I do feel that since you managed to get a couple of Contour tests which showed her being above 114-130ish, the low 50s seems a bit debatable on the Libre, and knowing that many other members have experienced inaccurate lows as well.

Speaking of cycles, I'd like to suggest you start looking at the numbers the way the SS is set up, which is how we look at numbers here. A cycle refers to the period of time between shots. There are 2 cycles in 24 hours. While it is good to look back at previous cycles particularly to see if you can establish some patterns, I do feel like the Libre graph perhaps continues to confound the situation a little. For example, I wouldn't look at it as that she dropped from 300 (midcycle last night) to 53s (early today) quickly, since that isn't quite right given the time frame in question and the number of hours involved. In "today's am cycle" she dropped from 149 preshot to 53 by +1 (and again, if you aren't inclined to question the validity of the 53), which is indicative of an active cycle. I think I mentioned this before, but it is a bit of an experiment, since it takes some time to see whether the carbs you are feeding are working or not. If it were me, I would say today's cycle and how you fed was fine, since you managed to stop the early drop.
Hi Christie, thanks for such an insightful analysis!!
I have a few issues with her on these points
1) I can usually see when she’s going to do a deep dive at the beginning of a cycle because the hour before food/shot time she starts diving. Like the graph below.
upload_2023-6-8_16-57-51.png

The early steep drop on graph usually tells me it’s going to be a very active cycle/1st three hours.
upload_2023-6-8_16-57-51.png

2) I do believe the medium carb foods (canned Fancy Feast, which I would prefer not to feed her, but do for these emergency situations) definitely give her a bump. Way more than her regular LC diet.

I’m not sure what to do about feeding her a full meal of medium carb canned FF.
She has some IBD& kidney disease and eats a very specific novel protein lamb diet, which I home cook.
It was formulated by a veterinary/ nutritionist for her multiple conditions.
While I will use medium carbs canned goods when needed, to bring up her glucose in small amounts, I figure I don’t have a choice.
I’m not really sure if it would be good for her condition to feed a full meal of canned, medium carbs, whenever she’s diving (which is quite often these days!)

However, maybe I just need to bite the bullet and do it and see what happens. Maybe I feed a can to her before her shot, and then for the next few hours, give her some small snacks of her low-carb, regular home cooked food?

I’m not sure if that makes any sense or not I’m just guessing and making stuff up here.
I don’t really have any guidance on what to do about diet in this regard.
I was told when she was diagnosed to feed her the LC diet I cook for her. I don’t have anything in place for mc if I need it, so I’ve try to follow what other people are doing and using canned medium carbs as needed.
(I may have to go back to my nutritionist and have her formulate me a medium carb recipe for these purposes.)
3) obviously, I would love to have her reach numbers under 100, but it seems that the only way she reaches them is in a deep dive. She’s not reaching them by her overall graph just coming down to lower numbers.
So, that’s my confused state in how to handle these rapid dives which are generally the first 3 hours of many, many cycles.
Doesn’t this seem to be a lot of rapid drops over and over again??

I agree the Libre may show some lower than reality lows, however it definitely shows the steep drop about to happen! (buckle up is how I read it)

Thank you again for your time & help :bighug::bighug:
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-6-8_16-57-51.png
    upload_2023-6-8_16-57-51.png
    84.3 KB · Views: 132
Oh I see, I was so focused on the Libre testing, I’m sorry to say I didn’t notice IBD in your signature, my apologies for missing that. I have seen many members here for various reasons, preferring to add a drop or two of karo or honey in the food they make to bump up the numbers, rather than feeding MC or HC food, particularly because their cats have food sensitivities. You can give that a try if you don’t want to introduce foods that could cause digestive issues. Some cats like to have early nadirs, although nadirs can and do move around. One of my favourite sayings from @Sienne and Gabby (GA) is that Gabby’s nadir was usually around +3, except when it wasn’t ;).

Unfortunately I’ve never used honey or karo to manage curves and lower numbers, so I’m not that helpful there.

Speaking of lower numbers, technically the 48 you saw on the Libre would mean a reduction, but I’m reluctant since you immediately tested with the Contour and it wasn’t even close to under 50. Perhaps let’s see what others say.
 
Oh I see, I was so focused on the Libre testing, I’m sorry to say I didn’t notice IBD in your signature, my apologies for missing that. I have seen many members here for various reasons, preferring to add a drop or two of karo or honey in the food they make to bump up the numbers, rather than feeding MC or HC food, particularly because their cats have food sensitivities. You can give that a try if you don’t want to introduce foods that could cause digestive issues. Some cats like to have early nadirs, although nadirs can and do move around. One of my favourite sayings from @Sienne and Gabby (GA) is that Gabby’s nadir was usually around +3, except when it wasn’t ;).

Unfortunately I’ve never used honey or karo to manage curves and lower numbers, so I’m not that helpful there.

Speaking of lower numbers, technically the 48 you saw on the Libre would mean a reduction, but I’m reluctant since you immediately tested with the Contour and it wasn’t even close to under 50. Perhaps let’s see what others say.
Hi Christie, no apologies needed. How could you possibly catch every detail for every kitty! That would be impossible!
I just increased her dose this morning with the new 3.5 u dose, but even before I got out of bed at 5:30 am I could see on the Libre that she was already heading downward, so I suspected she was going to drop hard & fast.
And then I was increasing the dose, so I figured it was gonna be a very bumpy morning. Unfortunately, I was right.

I think it’s OK at the moment if I use a small amount of canned carb food in these extreme drops because she does react to them and bump up, which is what we are aiming for when needed.
( I’m just hesitant to use them as a complete meal.)
I will contact my nutritionist and see if I can get her to formulate a medium carb food for me, but that will take me a little bit to get that done, so I have to have a plan in place for the immediate next week or 10 days.
I guess what you’re saying by adding a little Karo syrup might be another experiment I could try, good point.
I’m kind of thinking that if I see on the libre graph that she’s going in a downward direction I will add more medium carbs to the meal upfront, in the hopes that I can curb the drop.
Maybe I just need to add a little more of the medium carb into her regular food and see if that will assist.
There doesn’t seem to be anyone who weighed in on this discussion today, so not sure how to get more eyes on it for other ideas.
Do you know how to get more help? Im still new here and learning !
I do appreciate all your help today. You’ve given much time and thought and we appreciate you so much. Sending a hug and purrs from Ivy :cat:
Here’s how her day ended up (major bounce high, & probably NDW also, I suppose)
upload_2023-6-8_20-24-40.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-6-8_20-24-40.png
    upload_2023-6-8_20-24-40.png
    88.6 KB · Views: 128
Staci -

That's a big difference between the readings on the Libre vs your Contour. If you Google "low readings on Libre CGM" there have been reports for some time about false lows. Apparently, heat or cold can have an affect (e.g., you're kitty is sleeping in the sun), if there's too much pressure on the sensor (e.g., your cat is sleeping on the sensor), the sensor is coming loose, or placement in a well muscled area can also be a cause. (All of this is with humans, not cats.) Apparently, these false lows have been an issue since 2019.

I would use either Karo or honey to boost Gabby's numbers. She was sensitive to gluten and most of the gravy-type of foods contain gluten. I would give her a drop or two or three -- and I mean that literally -- in her low carb food. You will likely need to experiment to see how much you need since it depends on how fast numbers are dropping, where you are in the cycle, and how low numbers appear to be going. Any type of syrup (like maple syrup or corn syrup like Karo) is fine. While this is obvious, avoid any sugar substitutes as they are not good for cats and these days, I'm not sure they're good for humans, either. In a pinch, you could always make a sugar solution (equal parts water and sugar) and use that.
 
You are very welcome :). Was the IBD associated with a sensitivity to certain proteins? There may be some foods on that list I shared yesterday, that have novel proteins which may be higher carb, but if you are working with a nutritionist that sounds like a good plan.

Use the libre to your advantage, if you start seeing that drop that may be a good indication of the active cycle to come.

We did talk through a lot today and it might be that your tags at the beginning didn’t work, so perhaps if you have a couple specific questions that you’d like some more opinions on, maybe do a quick summary post and add a question mark on the title and tag a few others who have helped you on last posts, sometimes when there is a lot to read through it can be harder to catch up, not knowing maybe what you may want some additional input on.
 
You are very welcome :). Was the IBD associated with a sensitivity to certain proteins? There may be some foods on that list I shared yesterday, that have novel proteins which may be higher carb, but if you are working with a nutritionist that sounds like a good plan.

Use the libre to your advantage, if you start seeing that drop that may be a good indication of the active cycle to come.

We did talk through a lot today and it might be that your tags at the beginning didn’t work, so perhaps if you have a couple specific questions that you’d like some more opinions on, maybe do a quick summary post and add a question mark on the title and tag a few others who have helped you on last posts, sometimes when there is a lot to read through it can be harder to catch up, not knowing maybe what you may want some additional input on.
I’m actually not certain about the ibd specific details.
We had been feeding chicken and salmon recipes (also homemade for several years and my prior vet thought she was having some ibd so we switched to a lamb recipe and things improved).
Ivy also had an ultrasound and they felt there was some evidence of IBD.

Then when she was diagnosed with diabetes last Fall, I had the recipe reformulated to be better for a low carb and kidney geared focus.
It just doesn’t bump her up if I need a boost in her numbers.

I’ll see if I can do another post with more specific questions and try again! Thanks for your hard work and time today :bighug:
 
Happy to help! I think you did a great job today, managing fast onsets isn’t easy, and can be a bit of trial and error. As a side note, I forgot to ask how Ivy was doing, did she seem happy in her brief swim in the lagoon (aka those greens)? Mav used to be happiest when he was in pinks, then slowly got used to getting into lower ranges.

I see Sienne offered some suggestions on her experience with using syrup, and a few years ago, I remember a member used those prepackaged potato flakes! Talk about experimenting lol, but it sure seemed to do the trick for that caregiver’s cat.

And keep asking questions, it may be sometimes the answer will be every cat is different, but over time I think things will start to fall into place ;)
 
Staci -

That's a big difference between the readings on the Libre vs your Contour. If you Google "low readings on Libre CGM" there have been reports for some time about false lows. Apparently, heat or cold can have an affect (e.g., you're kitty is sleeping in the sun), if there's too much pressure on the sensor (e.g., your cat is sleeping on the sensor), the sensor is coming loose, or placement in a well muscled area can also be a cause. (All of this is with humans, not cats.) Apparently, these false lows have been an issue since 2019.

I would use either Karo or honey to boost Gabby's numbers. She was sensitive to gluten and most of the gravy-type of foods contain gluten. I would give her a drop or two or three -- and I mean that literally -- in her low carb food. You will likely need to experiment to see how much you need since it depends on how fast numbers are dropping, where you are in the cycle, and how low numbers appear to be going. Any type of syrup (like maple syrup or corn syrup like Karo) is fine. While this is obvious, avoid any sugar substitutes as they are not good for cats and these days, I'm not sure they're good for humans, either. In a pinch, you could always make a sugar solution (equal parts water and sugar) and use that.
Hi Sienne, I know what you mean about the Libre and lows.
I am aware of those lows maybe not being super Low. However, even if she’s only 106/114/135 on an human meter and not 50, that’s low for her.

And since I just installed the new Libre 4 days ago I know her fur isn’t too long (freshly shaved) and she wasn’t in sun or lying on the sensor. She was right in front of me. (I know these are all real issues, you’re right!)
But I feel if nothing else, it shows me trends, like when she’s dropping super fast, which she does A LOT!!
That’s the biggest problem is not being able to keep her from diving so fast and so often. And for the first 3 -4 solid hours of a cycle. Often, in the same day, both cycles! Exhausting for her and me.
Thanks for the info on adding syrup to the food. Maybe a better idea for Ivy. I will have to try it and let you know.
Thank you! :)
 
Happy to help! I think you did a great job today, managing fast onsets isn’t easy, and can be a bit of trial and error. As a side note, I forgot to ask how Ivy was doing, did she seem happy in her brief swim in the lagoon (aka those greens)? Mav used to be happiest when he was in pinks, then slowly got used to getting into lower ranges.

I see Sienne offered some suggestions on her experience with using syrup, and a few years ago, I remember a member used those prepackaged potato flakes! Talk about experimenting lol, but it sure seemed to do the trick for that caregiver’s cat.

And keep asking questions, it may be sometimes the answer will be every cat is different, but over time I think things will start to fall into place ;)
Gosh I sure hope things will get better. Between the broken leg and these dives into the lagoon over and over…. Wow. It’s A Lot!
I’m actually not even sure how she feels. she does love to climb on me and knead and purr. But that’s her norm.
She goes from that cuddle bug to bring a kamoto dragon. She’s a very difficult kitty. Won’t let anyone else handle her. So it’s all on me. (No pity, it’s a labor of love, but it’s rough to be honest. And I don’t have a great vet or guidance at this time, so that sucks).
I have to sedate her to go to the vet with major doses of gabapentin & trazodone. And still she fights them.
She’s got a strong personality, but we love her!
I’m glad you got Maverick in a good place. I just hope I can do the same for my girl! I sure am trying…
 
Hi Staci,
My Sheba used to like to dive as well so I know how unnerving that can be. I used to use honey often instead of higher carb foods and found it effective. I found just a drop or two was enough ….but it will be trial and error to see how Ivy reacts to it as every cat is different.
Good idea to always get a manual reading if the BG is low on the libre as it seems to read lower at around the 60 and lower numbers than the manual meters.
With the early drops I would feed either an extra early snack at around +0.5 to see if that helps, or give some higher carb food or try a drop of honey in with the preshot meal. This won’t always work unfortunately, as there will be cycles where she is not going to drop lower anyway, but you can only try it and see how it goes. Trying to stop the drop before it happens is what we are trying to achieve.
You have had a lot on your plate:bighug:
 
Last edited:
Hi Staci,
My Sheba used to like to dive as well so I know how unnerving that can be. I used to use honey often instead of higher carb foods and found it effective. I found just a drop or two was enough ….but it will be trial and error to see how Ivy reacts to it as every cat is different.
Good idea to always get a manual reading if the BG is low on the libre as it seems to read lower at around the 60 and lower numbers than the manual meters.
With the early drops I would feed either an extra early snack at around +0.5 to see if that helps, or give some higher carb food or try a drop of honey in with the preshot meal. This won’t always work unfortunately, as there will be cycles where she is not going to drop lower anyway, but you can only try it and see how it goes. Trying to stop the drop before it happens is what we are trying to achieve.
You have had a lot on your plate:bighug:
Thank you, Bron.
She’s currently on the same pre shot track for this cycle. I need to buckle up again. Sigh.
the one hour before meal she begins her drop. I will Add 1 full tsp to her meal this morning and give another small snack an 0.5 as you noted.
then I will give a snack at + 1,2, 3 and see what happens.
I feel like I’m pushing a boulder ip a hill.
The BIG. Question is:
* why does she keep doing this same pattern and how do I change it for her???
Here we go again …
upload_2023-6-9_5-31-21.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-6-9_5-31-21.png
    upload_2023-6-9_5-31-21.png
    84 KB · Views: 169
Thank you, Bron.
She’s currently on the same pre shot track for this cycle. I need to buckle up again. Sigh.
the one hour before meal she begins her drop. I will Add 1 full tsp to her meal this morning and give another small snack an 0.5 as you noted.
then I will give a snack at + 1,2, 3 and see what happens.
I feel like I’m pushing a boulder ip a hill.
The BIG. Question is:
* why does she keep doing this same pattern and how do I change it for her???
Here we go again …
View attachment 66989
And she’s really dropping now @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Bandit's Mom
Do I give her full shot in 15 minutes???
She’s at 104 and dropping !!!
upload_2023-6-9_5-51-59.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-6-9_5-51-59.png
    upload_2023-6-9_5-51-59.png
    83.8 KB · Views: 123
Back
Top