6/8 HELP New:Peyton Intro AMPS111, PMPS 430

Status
Not open for further replies.

jcc1531

Member Since 2014
Hi everyone! Thank you for this group! I have been on the feline health forum for a little bit and we are ready to move on...I think?
Peyton was diagnosed on May 28, 2014 and spent most of the time at the vet after that. First they had him on Novolin N. He was put on Lantus this past Tuesday PM. He also has been in kidney failure for 2 years with stable numbers.
We did not shoot this morning and I will update my spreadsheet later with his BG. I haven't been able to check his level regularly stay becaus I have just been trying to get him to eat and I knew I wouldn't get a true reading after food. My mind is a jumble of numbers and figures right now so I don't know exactly what to say :)
I'm just happy to have people out there to help. Thank you!
Julie and peyton
 
Re: 6/8 New:Peyton Intro AMPS111

Welcome to the Lantus Land family, Julie and extra sweet Peyton!

Don't forget to add the link to your prior condo in the current one (so tomorrow, you'd want to add this one into the body of tomorrow's) so people can quickly go back and see what's been going on

6/8 post

6/8 post

6/4 post

5/30 post

I think the 1.5 may still be too much for Peyton! At only 8.5 lbs, his starting dose should have been 1 unit. We do need to find a dose you can give every 12 hours that doesn't send him below 50, as well as a dose that doesn't make his pre-shot so low that you won't shoot. Here in Lantus Land, we drop the "no shot" limit to 150...and eventually, as you get more data on how Peyton responds to both insulin and food, that drops even lower! Most of us that have been here awhile will shoot anything over 50

Let's see what some of the others say and where he's at tonight for his Pre-shot and then decide on a dose for him
 
Re: 6/8 New:Peyton Intro AMPS111

Sounds great Chris! I will be checking his BG in about 15 minutes.
I do most if the posting from my phone so I hope I can post everything correctly tomorrow, meaning links etc.
Thank you for all of your help!
Julie and Peyton
 
Re: 6/8 New:Peyton Intro AMPS111

Sorry I haven't been on; still recovering from sinus surgery on Friday and had to nap.

Glad you've found the Lantus folks; they'll share their knowledge willingly. Do read over the stickly posts here, several times, as repetition will help you learn the material. And because the board can be wonky at times, print out whatever you need - how to handle low numbers, the protocol you are using (Tight Regulation or Start Low, Go Slow).

And remember always - "Better too high for a day, than too low for a moment."

Looking at the numbers so far, keeping in mind that Lantus has carry over effect that builds up over several days, I'm thinking that you might go with 1.0 unit so that he can level out and stabilize, and you can shoot safely twice a day. Then, as you collect data, you can tweak the dose as needed per the protocol.

How does that sound?
 
Re: 6/8 New:Peyton Intro AMPS111

Thanks BJM! I hope you are feeling better soon! I am headed to get Peyton's PMPS right now. Be back in a moment...
:) Julie
 
Re: 6/8 HELP:New:Peyton Intro AMPS111, PMPS 430

Just got PMPS of 430. Today I did not test between because I have been trying to get him to eat most of the day. He would nibble here and there but not really eat. Looking at his spreadsheet what should I shoot now? I think the overall census says 1u?
 
Re: 6/8 New:Peyton Intro AMPS111

I'd stick with 1 unit. At 1.5, it looked like he would build up to an unshootable number (for now - as you get data, that may shift)
 
I agree

Let's go with 1 unit...especially if he's not too interested in food.

I know it's hard to see those high numbers and not want to shoot more, but that's just not the way Lantus works
 
We are done :) Gave him 1u and he ate all of his food...probably because I snuck in freeze dried pure bites chicken flakes. I will check his BG again before I go to sleep in +2 or +3. Hope to have more data for tomorrow. All the little pokes in his ears makes me so sad :( He can't stand it either. I immediately put Neosporin with pain relief on it and give him a little freeze dried treat. I know it has to be painful to be poked over and over again. I'm trying to do left ear then right ear so I don't stick the same ear twice . He looks up at me with his sweet little eyes like "why are you doing this Momma?" It just breaks my heart! Oh dear...here come my tears!
 
They really have very few pain receptors in the edges of their ears. He's probably just not liking that you're fooling with his ears period

It WILL get better! We promise!
 
Welcome to LL. I'm sorry you have to be here, but this is a great place to get advice and support. I know it is hard to have to poke their ears, but remember you are doing it to help Peyton. Things will get easier as you go along. I learned to give Furball lots of loving at test time to make it easier for her and for me. I pet her and love on her before each test. Then she sits down for me and I test. I use the neosporin with pain relief after each test and giver her freeze dried chicken treats. She will finch sometimes if I hit a sore spot on her ear, but most of the time she doesn't seem to mind. She looks forward to the loving and the treats. You're lucky you can poke both ears. Furball gets recurring ear infections in her left ear, so I can only poke her right ear.
 
Its OK to put a dab of the Neosporin w/ pain relief on before you test, so it has a minute or two to numb the area. Then wipe off well. Any residual ointment will help the blood bead up.

To reduce bruising, apply direct pressure firmly on the area. I use the same tissue I used to brace the ear.
 
I only poke China's left ear ....it "bleeds" much better than her right ear! A lot of cats have 1 ear that will bleed better than the other

It's been awhile since I posted this for you, so I'm reposting it:

Decide where you want your "testing spot" to be..a counter, table, certain spot on the floor, rug..wherever you can access the cat and the supplies. I use a counter that has the wall along the back and to the left so 2 ways of "escape" are already blocked for me...LOL

As many times a day as you can, take Peyton there and just give his ears a quick rub and then give him a yummy treat. The more you do that, the more he'll learn to associate that place with the treats, and not so much that you're fooling with his ears!

I'm happy to hear that he ate better for you too! If the freeze dried chicken flakes helped, there's no reason you can't use them when you need to
 
i've used the neosporin with pain relief on my own foot when my cats ran across me and left scratches. the stuff is amazing. i don't recall how long it took to numb it, but it definitely did. i've heard others suggest 15 minutes prior to poking to put on the neosporin, then wipe off the excess before you test so that you don't goo up your strip. i put it on punkin's ear every night (generously) and by morning his ear was like new again. you do want to staunch it after poking so it doesn't bruise. i don't think they feel that much in their ear either, but i agree, most cats don't like their ears fiddled with.

my best advice is to be firmly convinced that you're doing this for Peyton to keep him safe - both the testing and the shots.

what are you feeding him now? actually, maybe instead of asking you a zillion questions, would you do a profile on Peyton for us? It's basically a google doc that you attach in your signature line. You can look at mine to see what info is helpful - anything medical, what he eats, weighs, any concerns and his story. that'll help us and prevent everyone asking you the same questions you've already answered.

and welcome to Lantus/Lev Land! It's the best place you never wanted to be. Ask as many questions as you want - we know how challenging the beginning is and we're happy to teach you what you need to know to help Peyton.

another julie . . . :-D
 
He looks up at me with his sweet little eyes like "why are you doing this Momma?" It just breaks my heart! Oh dear...here come my tears!

it will get better..... we've all been thru it....
someday he will come sit and maybe even purr when he knows it's test time.....


and I'm so glad to see you came over to the lantus forum.... :-D
 
He has gotten to the point that he does not mind me touching his ears but he flinches and shakes his head every time I stick. He must have some sensitive ears because he ducks after a stick like he's saying "OUCH". I try to hold his ear so we don't lose any of that precious blood but I have had to restick a few times. I rub him, love him and tell him what a good boy he is.

Those that know me fro the Feline Health Board know I am very computer illiterate :) A member there did my spreadsheet for me and then transferred ownership to me. I will try to make a google profile.

At the vet he was eating Science Diet AD and I have been trying to transition him to the lower carb can foods. He was eating a lot of the friskies cans that are listed low in carbs before diagnosis. With him being in kidney failure plus having diabetes he can be extremely finicky at times. Today I have tried Science Diet AD, Friskies supreme supper, Friskies turkey and gilbets and Welless grain free turkey. Since he was used to a higher carb food from the vet I was doing a 50-50 ratio. He only aet twice today and that would be MAYBE half a can. I would feed him again now but I'm waiting to get another BG level before we go to bed.

Thank you all for the nice welcome and helping me to stay positive...
Julie and Peyton
 
Gracie will flick her ear if I don't hold it; then I have to massage another droplet out ... and wipe off the one that landed on me, LOL.
 
hehe, sometimes ya look like a crime scene if they shake their heads! LOL.

if you can quickly get the blood drop off onto your fingernail, you can test from that. sometimes that's a helpful trick.

i can walk you through google docs if you want. Start at the http://www.google.com page. On the top right of my screen there is a grid of 3 squares x 3 squares. (dumb icon, in my opinion.) click on that and you get a drop-down menu.

Choose "Drive."

On the left side of my screen is the choice to "Create." When you click it, you can then choose "Document."

Then you just start typing. When you're done, go to "file" and click "publish to the web." That allows anyone with the link to see it.

The hardest part is finding it again later. You have to go to the google page and look in that grid again to find your documents. It's goofy. When Google changed things last time, I actually googled "where are my google docs?" to be able to find them!?!
 
Thanks for the information. I will work on my profile when I get an extra minute tomorrow :)
Julie and Peyton
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top