6/8 Gracie PMPS 253 +2 127 +3 64 +3.5 44 +4 57 +4.5 78

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Gracie's Yesterday

Recap:
AMPS: 270 5th cycle sk1u
+2: 252
+4: 239
+7: 263
+10: 304
PMPS: 267 6th cycle sk1u
+2: 211
+4: 221
+5.5: 272


Happy Hump Day Lantus Land. We're sending healing vines out to Rocket, Donovan, BARB, and Sienne's DS.

Gracie was a really lovey, purry, headbutting baby first thing this morning. I really thought she might be coming down today....right before +2, she was a wild little monkey running and playing and making these cute little Gracie meows. Alas....today is an ugly repeat of yesterday. Gracie earned herself a dose increase back to 1u this morning. Mike and I are discouraged; she has always done really well on a sk1u but she never got any action going on it this time....especially after being down to 36 on 1u. So we waited the requisite six cycles to clear the bounce (aren't you all so proud???) and here we are. I hope since we didn't wait too long, that she will respond to the 1u again and we won't have to go back up to that crazy f1u. But if we have to, we will. This whole dance befuddes me; it hasn't been that long ago that she did awesome on sk.75u and it was the reduction to the f.5u that caused everything to change. She stalled, we went up and up and up, down a little, now back up. I think I will just dip myself in yellow...it will save $$ on the patience pants especially the amount of wear they've been getting around LL lately!!

Got Teddi's bloodwork back.... :? :? :? her BUN is up (40 to 52), creat is up (2.6 to 2.9), phosphorus down (thankfully), potassium up (great news on that), HCT beautiful but T4 up. WHAT??? It doesn't make sense that her T4 would be up but so would her renal values since a higher thyroid allows more perfusion through the kidneys...unless her kidneys are much worse and the thyroid is masking it. I'm going to have them run her T4 over. The MMI brought it down to 3.42 when she was first on it, then we were off just a few days, then back on for a couple weeks now. Vet wants her to have the dose bid now and they are talking to the board certified anesthesiologist about when they can do the dental. I have to keep in mind the CRF group saying "treat the cat, not the numbers" and she seems to feel really great and is eating well.

I'm working from home today....posting late. Mike had to go to the dentist and run errands so between work, feeding cats, medicating cats, etc etc, I'm just now getting to post. Feeling much better today. Will catch a few condos and then back to work. Have a great day.
 
Re: 6/8 Gracie AMPS 284 +2 250 +4 240 NEW DOSE

:thumbup Paws crossed for the new dose. Sometimes I found when I needed to up Tess's dose I found that going up a full step worked better than just adding a drop. When they have to get that nudge subtlety doesn't necessarily work.

Glad you are feeling better, do you think part of the problem could have been smoke? I hear it can be seen in Kansas and you are pretty close.
 
Re: 6/8 Gracie AMPS 284 +2 250 +4 240 NEW DOSE

Hi Marje, I, too, was wondering about the fires and how close to you? I keep hearing about it on the news. I may have missed if you mentioned it in your condo. Good luck on the new dose for Gracie, and I hope this is the one. Keeping positive thoughts for Teddi and the possible dental. I was wondering, what is the CRF group? Enjoy the rest of your day.
 
Re: 6/8 Gracie AMPS 284 +2 250 +4 240 NEW DOSE

Jeeze Gracie, come back down! Silly kitty, I know kitties like to be up in the world but trust me, this is one time it would be much better if you were down with the rest of us.

Paws crossed for Teddi, I'm not too sure what most of that means, tbh, but I know she's in good hands and you will take care of her.

I am glad to hear you are feeling better! The pollen here has been KILLING me and making me feel like I have a cold. It has been so insanely windy for the last few days that there's no real way around it other than to stay inside (and take a zyrtek).
 
Re: 6/8 Gracie AMPS 284 +2 250 +4 240 NEW DOSE

hope this nudge back up will nudge gracie back down. silly girl - she spends a fair amount of time in the greens, wouldn't it be nice if she would just stay put!

good idea to rerun the tests on teddi! hopefully you'll get some answers on what's up with the little girl.

and how is tobey's eye this morning?

every time i see the news i wonder about the fires in arizona and you - are you anywhere nearby?
 
Re: 6/8 Gracie AMPS 284 +2 250 +4 240 NEW DOSE

Work has been a bear lately so I'm just now getting to most condo's!!

I'll be honest, what you're experiencing with Gracie is what I fear each time Champ earns a reduction...it's not going to work and will make matters worse!! I hope she has a turnaround soon!!!

I liked what you wrote in Champ's condo about being consistent in the food area. To this point I have been, but that's not to say I wouldn't start messing around with things!! I have so much Wellness still cuz I bought so much online (tested it on him with a can of each flavor from the pet store) and I want to use it, but ever since I let him try Fancy Feast, it has been a real battle to get him to eat it. Even when he's extremely hungry first thing in the morning, he tries to bury it instead of eat it. The only way I can get him to eat it is if I sit in front of him and scoop it up with my fingers and he eats it out of my hand. Even then, he won't eat his entire breakfast. I have better luck with the Turkey/Salmon and Chicken/Herring than I do with the plain chicken and plain turkey, but I'm trying limit the amount of fish he eats so he doesn't develop any urinary issues. Unfortunately, the FF fish varieties are the lowest carb ones!! Just looking at Champ's spreadsheet, I do notice that he started hitting consistent blues and greens when he was on FF all the time. On the Wellness, which he ate exclusively for a long while, he never really made it out of the yellows. There are so many variables in this FD dance that it's hard to know what makes the BG lower or higher...the weather? the food? when he's fed? how much he's fed? the flavor of food?

Enough about Champ!! I sure hope Teddi's cleared for her dental soon and her blood work comes back normal. At least Mike was able to get his dental done? :lol: :lol: I hope Gracie decides to head down tonight for you!

You and Mike had a great evening!!
 
Re: 6/8 Gracie AMPS 284 +2 250 +4 240 NEW DOSE

Good luck with the increase. Hopefully you can retire those yellow patience pants soon!!
 
Re: 6/8 Gracie AMPS 284 +2 250 +4 240 NEW DOSE

Hi Marje, I know about the dose thing. We're going through a version of it with Rusty, too. I had to take him back up to the fat .75 after he "earned" the reduction. He seems to be doing well again on the fat dose, fingers crossed. I hope that Gracie will get back in the groove.
The fires must be awful. We hear about them every day on NPR. Do take care of yourselves and your kitties. Don't breathe too deeply!!

It's good that Teddi's tests will be done over. It will be good to know just what is happening.

Have a good evening, guys,

Ella & Rusty
Hey Gracie, don't forget the party at Camp Stu on Friday. Bring Tobey, OK?
Rusty
 
Re: 6/8 Gracie AMPS 284 +2 250 +4 240 NEW DOSE

Hi guys! Good luck with the new dose. Hopefully this time she will do well on it. Right Gracie? This time you will OK? I can remember a time with Mannie - back and forth up and down with a couple of doses.... I hope she picks one she likes. :cool: :lol:

Good luck with Teddi - I hope all will be OK there. I have heard that thyroid problems can mask kidney issues. I hope not, but it may explain the numbers.

I am glad that you are feeling better - YAY!!!

Sorry to be so late in posting.... longgggggggggggggggg day.
 
Re: 6/8 Gracie AMPS 284 +2 250 +4 240 NEW DOSE

It's the same message with FD -- treat the cat, not the numbers! Sometimes, you need to bring the dose up in order for the dose to come down.
 
Re: 6/8 Gracie PMPS 253

Good evening!!! Well, this is our lowest PMPS in several days but we will not be fooled, Gracie. The proof is in the +2 little girl!!

Many of you asked about the fires and smoke. The fires in the White Mountains that are so bad are east of us and the wind is blowing east so we haven't gotten any of that smoke. However, CO, NM, KS, etc are getting it. Yesterday was very smokey here from the fires that are south of us; today was much better. A few years ago, we had the Aspen fire and it was literally straight north of us and got close enough that we had burnt bark from trees in our pool, ash all over the yard and on our back windows. It was gray/black here for about two months. The Wallow Fire is the one to the east and that area is one of the most beautiful in AZ. In the past, we have often spent time off there in the White Mountains. A large portion of it is on the White Mountain Apache reservation....

Ann: I know you are gone but I'll respond anyway. I toyed with upping her to f1u and perhaps I should have. But that dose is just a killer one for us all. She gets great numbers but we are constantly pcpcpcpcpcpcpc all night and all three of us are worn out. We may have to nudge harder but first we'll try this one.

Ann: not too close to the fires...the closest one is about 20 miles. The CRF group is on yahoo...chronic renal failure. Lots of smart people there about kidney disease....like here in LL and FD. Several members here are also members there.

Stephanie: It just means she has some renal issues and thyroid issues going on. It can be a tough balancing act. I bet the pollen is bad there with the wind!! Hope you feel better. I don't have allergies too much so I think it was just sniffles.

Julie: me, too....we gotta get her back down to her low dose some time!!! It would be nice if she would stay put. Tobey's eye is phenomenal. He's starting to lose the demon look :lol:

Patty: yes....it is discouraging but Champ is doing so well that I would stay with what you are doing until you see it isn't doing well. Gracie has never been good at holding reductions; Champ has been. It is tough to know whether the FF was helping his numbers or not. If you were feeding the 6% or higher WN foods, they could have been keeping him up but .....I agree on the fish flavors...we really limit Gracie on that and she can't have FF...no byproducts. I do hope Teddi gets her dental soon but it makes me nervous. Mike...he passed with flying colors!!! I think they put a big red star on his forehead and gave him a toy :lol:

Amy: girl....don't you know I'm sick of those pants!!!! I need another newbie to take them on :lol: :lol: I'm thinking of green satin/lace :lol:

Ella: yes...I saw Rusty was up and down a bit. I'd love to have his numbers for Gracie!!! He's very nicely regulated! Thanks on the breathing wishes. We're doing fine here! Tobey can't wait to go to Camp Stu....he wants to wear an eye patch just to look debonair!

Michelle: I know....we would LOVE for her to pick a dose and stay on it. PLEASE GRACIE???? Follow your friend Mannie's lead??? Yes..feeling better. And that is true about the thyroid so we'll see.....

Sienne: well that "up to come down" has become our mantra lately! :lol:
 
Re: 6/8 Gracie PMPS 253

marjorie, what exactly constitutes regulated? i was trying to help deb with her profile so i went through to make one for punkin, and it asks if your cat is regulated. is gracie regulated?
 
Re: 6/8 Gracie PMPS 253

What exactly is regulated? If you ask most vets they will tell you 200-150 is regulated, but here in LL,
regulated means cat being in mostly normal numbers which are 60-120.. But I believe that with all the bouncing that goes on, regulated should have a looser meaning..I think Moonie is relatively regulated(dont look at my SS needs update) but vascillates into yellow many mornings..So, I think we must use the term regulated as a generality..Moonie's numbers have been almost constant in yellow, blue & green for years now, with almost no pink(a few)--What does that mean? She's doing fine to me...

Gracie has periods of regulation, but is one of those bouncers..She, on the whole, is doing great & is so well loved & taken care of..I like to look at the Whole Cat--how it is acting? Does it eat well? Healthy? 5 P's..
You must do what is good for the beans & for the cat..Cant stay up nevery night monitoring into the wee hours, though some peeps do..Mostly the kitties do level out __
Please remember FD is an unpredictable disease--
Have a good night & may the fires stay far away from you!! Giant Hugs from Us.
 
Re: 6/8 Gracie PMPS 253 +2 127

Thanks, Roni!!!! Gracie does have moments of regulation!! Like you said..."loosely" :lol: :lol:

They have closed all the forest lands around us in the hopes of preventing human caused fires....
 
Re: 6/8 Gracie PMPS 253 +2 127

and down she goes!! looks like a busy night for you!

I like loosely regulated phrasing from roni - funny thing was my vet used the same phrase the last time I talked with her on Mannie. :shock:

Gracie - hurry up and go green! the lagoon waits - Tess and I are waiting... ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 6/8 Gracie PMPS 253 +2 127

i guess i'm thinking that i would consider punkin regulated - more because he no longer behaves as though he's sick and his numbers aren't completely out of control. perhaps "loosely regulated" is a good term. seems to me if you actually got them that tightly regulated they'd either be on the way to OTJ or non-diabetic.

does gracie have her bungee cord on tonight? ;-)
 
Re: 6/8 Gracie PMPS 253 +2 127

Hi Marje!
Now, that's more like it Gracie, keep right on going down that blue road and turn right at the green one, ok? Marje, I read your earlier post this morning, and boy do I concur about the discouraging days, and the befuddlement (is that a word?) this disease causes. Those darn fluctuating numbers can really start to run one's life. I used to love to go shopping (my favorite therapy) at least once a week. Since FD, I almost never go, and if I do, it's to race to one or two stores for "must haves" and back to check on my girl. On the other hand, I'm saving a fortune! :lol: :lol: Which, come to think of it, I'm spending on FD! :lol: :lol:

Well, I'm off to do a spot check and then zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz. See you in the condos tomorrow,

NiNi!
 
Re: 6/8 Gracie PMPS 253 +2 127

Hmmmm...maybe she DIDN'T want that dosecrease! :roll: :-D

MJ: can't we just forget part of it :lol:

Michelle: green lagoon it is for the trio!!! Mike's on night duty!

Julie: I think loosely regulated works!! Boy she better not rocket back up!

Sandy: I know what you mean....boy do I!! I also used to be out and about ALOT on my days off. Now it's like you said..run out, do necessary errands, run back in time to test. Hope you get some rest!
 
Re: 6/8 Gracie PMPS 253 +2 127 +3 64

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/8 Gracie PMPS 253 +2 127 +3 64 +3.5 44

WOOT!!!!!!!! Welcome to the Green Lagoon! But that is quite far enough! No scuba diving allowed and I have it on the best authority that the mermaids have moved out! -- Ann
 
Nice numbers for Gracie overnight!

For info on definitions of regulation...don't forget that the FDMB home page has a lot of useful links AND traffic to the home page helps support the site! From the FAQs....Regulation

Public service announcement.....please try to remember to visit the home page daily, it helps Rebecca keep FDMB going by generating ad revenue.....

(Sorry to hijack Gracie condo!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top