6/8 Dosage help, again.

adrianaa

Member Since 2026
Hi guys, I apologize if I’ve been posting too frequently but as a new diabetic cat mom im freaking out. My 8 year old cat Lola was just recently diagnosed. The vet prescribed her 2 units in the morning 2 units at night after feeding each time. I think the 2 units was too much for her so I switched down to 1 unit per advice of the group. I feel like she was doing good today but after this last reading she’s a bit high. I’m worried but should I still stick to the schedule of 1 unit after feeding her later on? I do have my spreadsheet linked if anyone could take a Quick Look please and thank you.
 
I do want to add that Lola does have a curve test appointment at the vet this Friday. Super nervous about that since it’s our first one :(
 
Just stick with the 1 unit for a week, only decreasing to 0.75 units if your cat goes below 90 if you're following the Start Low Go Slow protocol. If you're following Tight Regulation, decrease if the bg is under 50. It's normal for levels to fluctuate daily. Insulin doesn't work magic after one dose. Lantus in particular needs to build up the depot and that can take a week. Who has the patience pants? @Wendy&Neko ?

If you're already testing at home, you can do a curve yourself and save the money. You test approximately every 2 hours from AMPS to PMPS. If the cat doesn't want to cooperate, it's ok. Just get as many tests in as you can.
 
Hi guys, I apologize if I’ve been posting too frequently but as a new diabetic cat mom im freaking out. My 8 year old cat Lola was just recently diagnosed. The vet prescribed her 2 units in the morning 2 units at night after feeding each time. I think the 2 units was too much for her so I switched down to 1 unit per advice of the group. I feel like she was doing good today but after this last reading she’s a bit high. I’m worried but should I still stick to the schedule of 1 unit after feeding her later on? I do have my spreadsheet linked if anyone could take a Quick Look please and thank you.
It's very scary at first! I'm definitely not a dosing expert, but I know I started at 1 unit and was advised to increase by .25 unit at a time. It's a marathon, not a sprint, and it's important to be safe. It's hard when you see high numbers but it takes time for their body to adjust to the insulin and it's much more dangerous to have low blood sugar than high blood sugar.
 
Just stick with the 1 unit for a week, only decreasing to 0.75 units if your cat goes below 90 if you're following the Start Low Go Slow protocol. If you're following Tight Regulation, decrease if the bg is under 50. It's normal for levels to fluctuate daily. Insulin doesn't work magic after one dose. Lantus in particular needs to build up the depot and that can take a week. Who has the patience pants? @Wendy&Neko ?

If you're already testing at home, you can do a curve yourself and save the money. You test approximately every 2 hours from AMPS to PMPS. If the cat doesn't want to cooperate, it's ok. Just get as many tests in as you can.
Okay thank you! I’ve just had bad anxiety and stress and thinking that I could be messing something up for her. I’m going to contact her vet and ask if it’s possible for me to do the curve test at home and provide them with the results.
 
The home curve will be much less stressful and more accurate than the vet office one. Just share your spreadsheet with the vet so he / she can view it. Many members share their spreadsheets with their vet. My vet doesn't always take a look at it but when he does he says I know what I'm doing so he has no other advice for the diabetes.
 
Are you still feeding the DM dry food? It's higher in carbs that you should feed a diabetic cat. If you are feeding any dry food, then the Start Low Go Slow dosing method is the one for you. As squeem3 suggested, patience is very important with Lantus. Not my best feature, I know how hard it is to wait. Lola didn't get diabetic overnight, nor will she be regulated overnight. Their bodies have to learn how to use the new hormone called Lantus.
 
Are you still feeding the DM dry food? It's higher in carbs that you should feed a diabetic cat. If you are feeding any dry food, then the Start Low Go Slow dosing method is the one for you. As squeem3 suggested, patience is very important with Lantus. Not my best feature, I know how hard it is to wait. Lola didn't get diabetic overnight, nor will she be regulated overnight. Their bodies have to learn how to use the new hormone called Lantus.
Yeah I am still feeding her dry food but I'm slowly taking it out of her diet. I want her to only be on the wet food but wasn't sure if I should completely take out the dry food or slowly do it. TY for the reassurance about having to wait for her levels to regulate. I just feel so bad thinking that she feels sick throughout the day but I know it's going to take time.
 
Back
Top