6/8 Darcy AMPS 141 half dose shot. At vet on fluids.

Suzanne, this breaks my heart. I'm glad you took him to the vet. This certainly has been a rollercoaster for you. Maybe they will put him on fluids. Don't worry about his glucose right now. You need to figure out how to get him to eat and hopefully the vet can help with that. You must have taken him in pretty early this morning and you are probably exhausted. Will wait to see what the vet says. In the meantime, if you are not with him now, try to get some rest.
 
Yes! I knew you’d say that (I think). I just said to my daughter... what do you think.. a half shot? He is at AMPS of 141 +13.25? now one hour and 15 minutes past shot time. I’m sitting in the car and just tested his BG. We are leaving ER vet and going to regular vet now. THANK YOU for this.
 
Last edited:
I wanted to wish you & Darcy the best today:bighug:.
Thoughts & prayers for a better day.

Talk to the staff as well about the dosing…..while I like to be comfortable with my dose, I also want to make sure they are comfortable & each office/hospital is different due to monitoring :).
Best today! Sorry we are all still in parking lots!
 
Oh Mr. Darcy please feel better and eat. I'm so sorry he isn't doing well, Suzanne. I hope all goes well today. Sending prayers for better days ahead for him. :bighug:
@Butters & Lyla what's going on with Butters? Status quo? I was trying to see if you had posted anything lately. Any news on cardiologist appointment or anything that I might have missed? Sending all my good wishes for Butters!!
 
I spoke with the vet. Darcy is there with the IV fluids that were started at the Emergency Vet last night. He hasn't passed any stool yet though. He still has some hours left to go. I hope they won't have to do a manual extraction on him. She would have to sedate him and she does not want to sedate him, she said. I'm frightened of this.
 
Suzanne, you have my complete cheering squad of 6 cats and a dog . . . especially Tina Marie, who wants Darcy feeling better ASAP. She isn't a good surgery/anesthesia candidate, but did need a manual extraction last August. Keeping her on Miralax, and other stuff (fish oil, SEB, and egg yolk powder) has sustained her well. I think Miralax is the most helpful. Her arthritis is better controlled now, which helps her go easier.

Bless you and virtual hugs -- hope to see a good update later.
 
Last edited:
Still lots of time left for those fluids to work. Paws are crossed that they get him pooping.
@Butters & Lyla what's going on with Butters? Status quo? I was trying to see if you had posted anything lately. Any news on cardiologist appointment or anything that I might have missed? Sending all my good wishes for Butters!!
Thanks for thinking of her! That's so sweet. You haven't missed a thing. I've been distracted. Her vet wasn't able to get her a sooner cardiologist appointment or even a dental appointment for that matter. Status quo on everything.
 
QUESTION: what do I do? Darcy is going back to the ER vet tonight for monitoring and more fluids. His potassium is high at 9. She switched him from lactated ringers solution which has potassium to sodium chloride. She also have him R insulin intramuscularly. At about 4:30 pm Eastern. This is because it can drive potassium back into the cells. His BG they said was 221 at 4:30 (about +9). I don’t know what to give him tonight before I drop him off. Another half dose? This ER monitors BG pretty closely. I guess I will post a PMPS soon when I get my meter. @Wendy&Neko ? Are you familiar with what happens when R is used intramuscularly?
 
Oh Suzanne, I am so sorry you are both going through this. As usual I don't have any knowledge, but one thing I can say - when Minnie was in hospital, they monitored the BG but they didn't tell me the numbers until I asked. I hope things get moving soon. :bighug::bighug:
 
QUESTION: what do I do? Darcy is going back to the ER vet tonight for monitoring and more fluids. His potassium is high at 9. She switched him from lactated ringers solution which has potassium to sodium chloride. She also have him R insulin intramuscularly. At about 4:30 pm Eastern. This is because it can drive potassium back into the cells. @Wendy&Neko ? Are you familiar with what happens when R is used intramuscularly?

Potassium of 9 is really worrying, did they happen to rerun it just to be sure it wasn't a false reading? If it is a true reading, it is my understanding in humans with hyperkalemia is that use of R as you say the vet has done will hopefully help reduce the potassium in the bloodstream. Sending lots of vetty vines for Darcy.

That potassium most definitely needs to come down, at this range the risk of seizures and heart issues can be quite high.
 
Still lots of time left for those fluids to work. Paws are crossed that they get him pooping.

Thanks for thinking of her! That's so sweet. You haven't missed a thing. I've been distracted. Her vet wasn't able to get her a sooner cardiologist appointment or even a dental appointment for that matter. Status quo on everything.
Hi Lyla, happy to hear status quo, I worry. What ever happened to Dolly’s cancellations vibes that she sent to the cardiologist? I really trusted they would work. Well they still might.miss you and Butters but totally understand distracted, my whole life is that way, I can never remember what I was about to do or say, for me it’s scary. Take care you two and I hope and pray Dolly’s messages are finally heard. :cat::bighug::bighug:
 
He is now 101 30 minutes later and it is still not +12. I’m not shooting. I may leave my Lev pen with them. If L not down they may give more R IM so I will not shoot.
Sending prayers Suzanne. I wish I could do more. I hope the ER can get his bowels flowing, poor thing must be hurting a lot. Poor Darcy that he’s not home with his mom. I hope they get his labs where they need to be. I hope for everything to get resolved and Darcy can return home and continue living a healthy cat’s life. :woot: I can’t even imagine the stress you are under. Many hopes, prayers and hugs to you both. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
How long before they discuss manual extraction?
When Tina got into trouble, two enemas were done, then IV fluids all night. With no results the next morning, doc did manual, under very light anesthesia (what I was told).

I know anesthesia can be hard on the kidneys, but all the IV fluid will help. I just worry the wait is quite long to empty his bowels. But with his other challenges, maybe anesthesia is even riskier.
Do you know if and how much lactulose Darcy might be getting?
So much concern, and many prayers and best wishes to hear something soon.
 
Thanks. It was very depressing to just now drive into the driveway without him.
I know that feeling but you have so much more to worry about. Really Suzanne, I wish I could wave a magic wand and make it all better. Life is just so full of challenges, learning lessons, a reason for everything, I don’t know about that. I hope and pray for some good news for a change. Always remember you are not alone on this journey, it’s obvious how many people care about you two, have your back, want to help. Gratitude is how we make things better for ourselves. Gratitude for the people caring for Darcy, for all of your friends here and probably a lot of other things. I bring this up because I struggle with it in my own life but know when I find it, fears lessen, stress improves, I get stronger knowing I can deal with whatever comes my way. I bring it up because I want you to feel better. Sending loving prayers and big hugs and let you know I am grateful you are with me on this journey. You make me laugh and let me know you care. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

I wish I had answers to Darcy’s problems but I don’t know enough about his Acromegaly.
 
He was feeling a lot better this evening. very chipper and wanting to get out of his cage. Nothing like last night when he was so unhappy and crying. A different cat altogether. It was hard to leave him. I hope to hear from the doc soon.
It's good that he was feeling better! :bighug: We are rooting for him, Suzanne. I'm sorry you had to leave him but he is exactly where he needs to be.:bighug:
 
Sending tons of healing vines for Mr. Darcy. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

I skipped Neko's dose once or twice when she was in intensive care. I could rely on them to test like I could, and I just wasn't trusting what the numbers were doing. He has a depot that will help him out a bit until he comes home, which I hope is soon.
 
Suzanne, it's so hard to leave them behind but everyone is right - there is a tiny upside that you can hopefully rest a little easier that he is in the right place and in good hands. The times I took Minnie into the hospital, along with that empty feeling of leaving her behind there was also a sensation that a little weight was lifted since I was not entirely responsible for her wellbeing. I hope you are feeling that relief too right now and get some rest. Hoping and waiting to read your next update hopefully with good news of an evacuated Darcy. Pleased to read that he was feeling better and trying to make a break for it. :bighug:
 
Oh that's such good news, thanks for the update!! I think Darcy is winning R roulette tonight...but the house always wins :cat:. Now we hope they will win a well-earned evacuation from Mr D. And you can sink into a long and well-deserved sleep. :bighug:
 
Hello, anyone who is still awake. I spoke to the ER vet tonight. Darcy’s potassium level was down to 4.6, which is really an excellent level. I don’t know what’s going on... but I will take it!!! I can now go to sleep without worrying about heart attacks and strokes. Thank you everyone for your thoughts and prayers!!!
Hi Suzanne, so happy :joyful: to hear about Darcy’s improvements. :woot: (Not sure woot woot is a good thing but to me it is :p) Will be looking for more news today. Sending loving prayers :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh Suzanne so sorry you and Darcy are going through so much!!!!
What a trooper you are. Glad you were/are able to get a little peace and rest.
Hope Mr. Darcy will improve enough to come/stay home very soon.
Love to you both:bighug:
 
Back
Top