6/8 Chloe - AMPS 514 | +2.5 475 | +5.5 532 | +9 525 | PMPS 516

Hi, Alex and Shane. Sure hope your Chloe starts seeing better numbers soon. Good to have you here on the FDMB site. You will get lots of good advice. May I ask a question? Why did you only give Chloe 1 unit at PMPS on June 4th? Looks like she needed the full 3 units.
 
Hi, Alex and Shane. Sure hope your Chloe starts seeing better numbers soon. Good to have you here on the FDMB site. You will get lots of good advice. May I ask a question? Why did you only give Chloe 1 unit at PMPS on June 4th? Looks like she needed the full 3 units.

That was the vet's instructions (who was subbing for my normal vet; she was familiar with Lantus but not Vetsulin). She wanted to make sure Vetsulin was out of her system, without either of us putting together that the Vetsulin was probably already out of her system by that time.

I posted a question about the dosing switch, but on a string that was probably no longer being watched by those who had been helping me (which is totally understandable!). By the time I got the advice that I should do a full 3 of Lantus, her dosing time had passed and I had only done the 1.
 
I understand. Please post everyday and attach your previous days post to the beginning of your new post (if that makes sense). Your Chloe is in super high numbers and she needs help. I am too new to offer dosing advice and it looks like you just took her to 3.5 units which is good. Keep her on that dose for now. Hang in there and if you ever have a question, or need attention, put a "?" in front of your daily post. Your girl needs more attention. We need to eliminate those black and red glucose numbers. I'll try to keep and eye on her daily posts so I can tag some folks who might be able to help you. @Bandit's Mom or @Wendy & Neko or @tiffmaxee @Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
By any chance are you testing for ketones? If you are, could you put a note regarding the results on Chloe's spreadsheet? If you're not could you start testing? The high numbers are making me a bit nervous.
 
I understand. Please post everyday and attach your previous days post to the beginning of your new post (if that makes sense). Your Chloe is in super high numbers and she needs help. I am too new to offer dosing advice and it looks like you just took her to 3.5 units which is good. Keep her on that dose for now. Hang in there and if you ever have a question, or need attention, put a "?" in front of your daily post. Your girl needs more attention. We need to eliminate those black and red glucose numbers.

Thank you. I have been doing this and have successfully used the question feature in this forum in the last couple of days. I also want to get her numbers down safely.

By any chance are you testing for ketones? If you are, could you put a note regarding the results on Chloe's spreadsheet? If you're not could you start testing? The high numbers are making me a bit nervous.

I did a ketone test 2 days ago when she was eating less than usual that came back negative. I have added that note to the spreadsheet. Her appetite has returned to normal, but I'll test next time I see her go to the litterbox. Should I be testing daily for this?
 
Thank you. I have been doing this and have successfully used the question feature in this forum in the last couple of days. I also want to get her numbers down safely.



I did a ketone test 2 days ago when she was eating less than usual that came back negative. I have added that note to the spreadsheet. Her appetite has returned to normal, but I'll test next time I see her go to the litterbox. Should I be testing daily for this?
I will let @Sienne and Gabby (GA) address this but I think you might want to test as much as possible for ketones. Once a day. She is really high and we want to eliminate the threat of DKA.
 
Testing for ketones is one of the best bits of prevention you can do if a kitty is in high numbers. I'm glad you're on top of this.

I want to suggest that we do a bit of fast-tracking with Chloe. I would really like to see her leave those high numbers behind. With SLGS, you raise the dose every 7 days. I'm not comfortable with waiting this long. How about if you increase every 3 days/6 cycles until Chloe is in a better range?
 
Testing for ketones is one of the best bits of prevention you can do if a kitty is in high numbers. I'm glad you're on top of this.

I want to suggest that we do a bit of fast-tracking with Chloe. I would really like to see her leave those high numbers behind. With SLGS, you raise the dose every 7 days. I'm not comfortable with waiting this long. How about if you increase every 3 days/6 cycles until Chloe is in a better range?

Yes, I was encouraged to do TR dosing a few days ago by Wendy&Neko and Bandit's Mom on my 6/6 post so that I could adjust the doses faster and slightly larger.
 
I think it's a good idea. You can always slow things down when the numbers look better. High numbers, for some cats, are a risk for DKA. Having had a DKA kitty, it's not something I'd recommend.
 
I appreciate the guidance. If there are other things I can do to bring her BG down to a safe number sooner, I'm all ears and eyes! But it seems like right now I'm at the wait-and-see part of her treatment. :(
 
Alex and Shane. Switch to TR. You will be able to adjust Chloe's doses quicker. You will still have the power of these folks behind you if you become concerned. Since Chloe just had an increase today I would think that even though she is super high that you should wait a couple of days to see what this new, increased dose is going to do. I hope others agree.
 
We are on our 7th cycle of TR, and no she only gets what’s in my signature. She’s not even interested in treats (freeze dried chicken and salmon).
I'm not familiar with the FF flaked chicken/tuna or whitefish but it looks like it is just fine. Under 10% carbs. Sounds like you are doing everything you can at this point. It also sounds like you are pretty smart about what Chloe needs. Just keep with the dose of 3.5 units and lets see where it takes her. What is the Onsior for? Looks like you just gave the last dose. Maybe that was raising her glucose. I'm going to bed as my Susie is having a really bad day with high glucose despite an increase a couple of days ago. I figure I might want to take advantage of this now because sleep can be really elusive when you get your kitty in to good numbers and you have to constantly monitor them. I think we are only about 1 time zone apart. I am in Florida and you are in TN. I will look forward to seeing your post tomorrow morning, Alex and Shane. Goodnight!
 
What is the Onsior for?

Onsior was for pain. Her last vet visit (6/4) they spot checked her teeth. She didn’t have a full dental, but they thought maybe the plaque buildup or a broken tooth (no nerve exposure) was hurting her. I was hoping I could get her BG down before bringing her in for the full scan. Time will be the deciding factor on that, though.

Goodnight :-)
 
If you do want to do the fast tracking, you can actually increase every 4 cycles, as long as she not seeing anything under 300. Since you don't know if there was a fur shot last night, that would mean increasing the day after tomorrow, provided you don't see better numbers before then. And since you've seen a big drop to +2 tonight, I think it would be a really good idea to get a later test tonight if you can. A big drop at +2 can be a sign of a more active cycle that needs more monitoring.
 
If you do want to do the fast tracking, you can actually increase every 4 cycles, as long as she not seeing anything under 300. Since you don't know if there was a fur shot last night, that would mean increasing the day after tomorrow, provided you don't see better numbers before then. And since you've seen a big drop to +2 tonight, I think it would be a really good idea to get a later test tonight if you can. A big drop at +2 can be a sign of a more active cycle that needs more monitoring.
I’m usually up at least once in the middle of the night, so I was planning on checking then.

Thank you!
 
Back
Top