6/8 Cain PMPS 75; +2 69

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jennifer&Cain(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's thread

Hello!

AMPS is 75.

Is he due for another reduction soon? I've been counting the spreadsheet cycles after that 124 near nadir on the 31st and he's not been that high at nadir since while Cain's been on the .5u dose.

Meanwhile over here I thought it wasn't going to rain today and scheduled it to be a lawn mowing day. I just woke up to hear thunder. And now it's raining. Go fig huh? Well we need the rain.
 
Re: 6/8 Cain AMPS 75 Dosing question

It all depends on what you consider normal range as to weather Cain is due for another reduction.
Reducing the dose:
•If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
•If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
•Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.
from the TR protocol sticky.

I use Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diabetes_in_cats#Blood_sugar_guidelines Which says 40-130 for normal non-diabetic range.

You had a 136 on 6/2, so this 6/8 AM makes the 12th cycle with normal numbers. The decision is a squeaker, but if you want to try the reduction to 0.25U, go for it. :cool:
 
Re: 6/8 Cain AMPS 75 Dosing question

If a kitty is in a normal range (we typically consider 50 - 120 as normal range) for a week, that qualifies for a dose reduction. In other words, it's time to reduce Cain's dose. What I would suggest is that you shave the dose since Cain is on a small dose already. At this point in the game, I lean toward shaving the dose for two reasons. First, a full 0.25u reduction would drop the dose by 50%. That's a big reduction. Second, keeping Cain on insulin for as long as possible helps to insure that his pancreas is getting as much support as it needs for as long as possible.

Good luck with the reduction.
 
Re: 6/8 Cain AMPS 75; +2 78 Dosing question

+2 78

@Deb - I had to re-read that paragraph again cause I was thinking at first "isn't Lantus dosing based off of the nadir" but I see that yeah even the +2s need to be good as well. Those blues that snuck in were weird. I'm glad he seems to be out of that phase so far.

@Sienne - Ah okay. I do worry about reducing too much that he pops into blues again until the pancreas catches up. So I would need to have the top of the plunger just in front of the .5u?
 
Re: 6/8 Cain AMPS 75; +2 78 Dosing question

We earned most of our reductions the slow way. So I agree with Sienne to shave.
Give support for as long as you can.
 
Re: 6/8 Cain AMPS 75; +2 78 Dosing question

However you want to measure the dose is fine as long as you can be consistent. The consistency is the key!
 
Re: 6/8 Cain AMPS 75; +2 78; +5.42 91; +7.60 87

+5.42 91
+7.60 87

I feel that I'm slacking on getting tests lately. Particularly at night. >_> Hopefully these random tests are good. I think it's just the perpetual lack of sleep. :-D Thankfully Cain is doing so good and keeping mostly flat most days.

@Sienne - Okay. I will try for consistency. :D

@Rhiannon - Good idea.

Are shaved doses are marked with a sk?
 
Re: 6/8 Cain AMPS 75; +2 78; +5.42 91; +7.60 87

They can be but if you are at 1.25u, for instance, then a shave might put you at a f1u (fat 1u).

Congrats and food luck with the decrease!
 
Re: 6/8 Cain PMPS 75

PMPS 75

He really likes those numbers for PS lately.

Ok I hope I have it written down correctly in the SS about the shaved dose. I feel like I need to put the f after the number.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top