6/8 Boomer AMPS 113 +2 59 +3 34 +3.25 54 +3.5 77 +7 151 +6 92 +7 151 +9 175 PMPS 211 +3 178

Status
Not open for further replies.

Judy and Boomer

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
Good morning!
AMPS 113 shooting 1.5u No increase for Booms; at least not yet :rolleyes:

Boomer ate all of his overnight fuds but called me at 3:30 to mix fowl ball into his 2:00 ff. :rolleyes:
Allen ate about half of his overnight fuds (I give him lots). Funny, each dish was half turkey pate and half something else. He ate the turkey pate in each and left the "something else".

On Boomer's menu today: AMPS turkey pate +3 ff turkey and giblets +6 and +9 chicken pate

Since he came down so much from last night's PMPS my hope is to keep him in blue today. I still want to go out very shortly but will be back in a couple of hours and DH may be back before me. I will be leaving in about 15 minutes and will leave a plate of fowl ball (4%) out which will hopefully keep Boomer from going lower. (gee I never thought I'd be trying to keep him out of greens lol :rolleyes:)

Yesterday DH and I took advantage of Boomer's levels and went for a short ride to a carolinian forest about half an hour away. It's on private property but they allow visitors. I saw my first Pileated woodpecker! Not a terrific shot; it was high up and many trees in-between me and it but it is what it is lol. Picture attached.

Back later to visit some condos!
 

Attachments

  • Pileated Woodpecker.jpg
    Pileated Woodpecker.jpg
    55.8 KB · Views: 84
Great shot of the woodpecker. The ones we have are not to smart, they peck on our metal AC unit :banghead:

Good to see a beautiful start Bommer! Hopefully you're tired of the trampoline and back to surfing buddy.
 
Came home early from my walk; kept thinking about Boomer. So I got home at +2, tested, 59. Ok then :rolleyes: so much for the extra plate of fowl ball (4%) keeping him blue. Gave him some more food to try to keep him from going lower but he may have already dropped enough to start yet another bounce. MAN! lol sometimes you just can't win.
they peck on our metal AC unit
We have a pair of Downy Woodpeckers in the neighbourhood that sometimes peck at our house (brick). :rolleyes:
 
Doing ok? Give it a bit of time for the syrup to work. Lather, rinse, repeat. I'm watching if you need help.

And decrease the dose tonight;)
Yes I'm doing ok.
He's going in and out of the litter box but doesn't seem to be doing anything in it. Dragging his bum across the floor after. He sometimes does this but I've seen him do it twice in the last few minutes but not seeing anything in the litter boxes.
 
Much better! Nice response to the syrup.

I'd feed him again but give him some low or medium carb.....something to hold him up when the Karo wears off. You know him best so you can decide what will work for him.

Since it will still be just approaching mid cycle when the syrup wears off, he might drop back down.

Looks to me like he started to clear a bounce last night and decided to really get it out of his system today!
 
Getting out my higher carb foods one is 12% the other 13%
Boomer didn't want to eat his +3 because he's had two extra meals this morning but I did get him to eat it by fork feeding him.
 
Getting out my higher carb foods one is 12% the other 13%
Boomer didn't want to eat his +3 because he's had two extra meals this morning but I did get him to eat it by fork feeding him.
Hmmm....perhaps the potty issue is affecting his appetite??

I would have been ready to increase his dose as well. I think the bounce clearing is what dropped him down. Therefore, you will likely find you need to decrease the dose, let any bounce clear, see where his nadir goes, and then increase the dose, if he doesn't land in green.

Wait and see but I've seen this pattern before....a lot...in my LBG.
 
I know he doesn't have to poop; he had a good one either last night or this morning before I got home from my walk.
This morning there was something bugging him...he was kicking one of his back legs then he'd flop down and wash it.
 
Hmmm....perhaps the potty issue is affecting his appetite??

I would have been ready to increase his dose as well. I think the bounce clearing is what dropped him down. Therefore, you will likely find you need to decrease the dose, let any bounce clear, see where his nadir goes, and then increase the dose, if he doesn't land in green.

Wait and see but I've seen this pattern before....a lot...in my LBG.
I had stopped thinking it was a bounce because it was lasting so long!
 
He just gobbled down the ff with gravy :rolleyes:
Good.....I think you've got it under control now. Feeding gravy can work well but when the gravy wears off, the BG can also come back down. You want him up safely but careful to not overcarb or he will lose duration this cycle. Such a fine line
IMG_0620.GIF
IMG_0620.GIF


I had stopped thinking it was a bounce because it was lasting so long!
It was a long bounce for him so I can understand why today looked like he was back to business. Guess he was....just the wrong kind
IMG_0619.GIF


Please read my post 17 when you get a chance :)

I've got to get Liv ready to go to the vet for a knee recheck but I will check back in with you in 30 mins.
 
In each condo, the posts are numbered in the bottom right corner so someone doesn't have to wade through a whole condo if they know which one to scroll to.

+3.5 77
And he was in the lb again. Not straining. But there's only one little spot of pee.
Good number.

Ugh on the pee. While most cats doing that is probably sterile cystitis and not a UTI, a diabetic cat doing it always throws up a red flag esp because he's been above renal threshold. Time to talk to Dr. Larry.
 
Well, now Boomer, that is quite enough of a scare! Glad he came down (though not that far down). That was quite a long bounce if that is indeed what it was.

Hope there are no other issues (LB behavior).
 
Taking Boomer in to see Dr Larry re the peeing problem....appt is in 45 minutes. Dh will be home by then.
Will take BG a few minutes before leaving and possibly feed but will have supplies/corn syrup with me.
 
Taking Boomer in to see Dr Larry re the peeing problem....appt is in 45 minutes. Dh will be home by then.
Will take BG a few minutes before leaving and possibly feed but will have supplies/corn syrup with me.
Good luck and pls keep us posted.

Looks like the HC is already wearing off a bit so good idea to take some syrup and testing kit with you to Dr. Larry's. Vines for no UTI!
 
Tested Boomer once we got to vet....65
Official weight 16.2 lbs
Very slight fever.
They're doing b/w and a urine culture and they did an X-ray to make sure he didn't have stones. He doesn't; everything looks good re bladder, kidneys, bowels, etc.
Dr Larry thought the urine looked a bit cloudy so we're starting him on an antibiotic right away instead of waiting for the test results.
He also has plaque build up so we will need to schedule his dental.
Tested Boomer prior to leaving Dr Larry's.....92.

We're home and I gave Boomer his +6 fuds right after the first antibiotic and I was pleasantly surprised when he actually ate; he was really stressed at the vetty and was panting a lot of the time there and most of the ride home

Boomer will get a reducie tonight (assuming he is high enough to shoot).

And I sure am glad I listened to my spidey sense this morning and came home at +2!!! I can't believe he dropped down so low at +3 with 2 extra helpings of 4% carbs in him!
 
And I sure am glad I listened to my spidey sense this morning and came home at +2!!!
Me too. That is what scares me to death leaving every morning for work. Fingers crossed that the AB resolves any issue (UTI?) and glad everything else checked out. Gotta get that dental done and maybe Boomer will be back on the OTJ hunt! :bighug:
 
HI Judy

I used to have a kitty who had chronic UTI's - glad the vet did a urine culture, this way you can switch antibiotics if needed once you have those results back. Give Boomer a hug!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top