6/8 Bogey AMPS 242 -- Acrocat continuing on wet only

Status
Not open for further replies.

ajouteast

Member Since 2011
Hi All,

Just wanted to do a quick check in to report Bogey's progress. Since switching him to wet only last Thursday night (with the Acro dx on Friday) he has stayed in the pinks and yellows. Definitely an improvement. Basically he hasn't been over 350 since the switch to wet only (and upping his dose to 8 units BID). Looks like he'll need a few dose increases yet, but he seems to be doing better. He's more engaged, which is great. But, still is having poo problems and remains on the Miralax.

Feel free to take a look at his SS and offer any comments, thoughts, etc. Thanks again for the support!

Amy & Bogey
 
Hi Amy! Just wanted to drop in with some encouragement for you and Bogey. I don't have acro experience so I'll leave the advice to the experienced, but I think you and Bogey both are doing a great job!
 
hey amy, one thought on the constipation - maybe you're already doing this, but i add a lot of water to punkin's canned food. it's nearly 50-50, although i leave some chunky so he's got a little bit to bite and doesn't just lap it up. my husband basically purees it with a fork.

even though he does it "wrong" i try not to correct him to do it the right way. my way, as in. :lol: :lol: :lol:

fortunately punkin could care less and eats it either way. ;-)
 
i looked at his ss - nice to see some yellows popping up. with yellows coming up you might be getting closer to a good dose and you might want smaller increases in doses, like .5 increases instead of whole units. maybe one of the more experienced people can comment on that - obviously you're not over-dosing him yet, of course! i'm just wondering about moving forward.

ps - and it's nice to see you and bogey! :YMHUG:
 
As far as the poo problem... he already drinks tons of water a day. I refresh their water bowl at least twice a day. As for going potty, he now has softer poo, which is good. But he only goes like once every three days or so and then you'd swear he was a Great Dane or something. Hahaha. Poor guy. (And poor me!)
 
With regard to the poo issue, does your vet have any thoughts on Bogey's 3-day cycle? Is everything moving at the speed at which it should be moving? One thought is to maybe add a little pumpkin puree to his diet. (Not pumpkin pie filling -- plain pumpkin.) It has fiber and may help but I'd check with your vet.

Those yellows are looking good!
 
Interesting... the pumpkin... I'll ask!

The vet thinks perhaps he stretched his colon when he was soooooo backed up that perhaps he just has the ability to fill up more before he has to go. We're not sure.

Amy
 
you know, that is tickling my brain. i believe one of the studies i read in the past week about acromegaly referred to "mega colon" as being one side effect. hmmmm - i'll look and see if i can find it. the question is where to look, because i looked at alot of articles.
 
ajouteast said:
As far as the poo problem... he already drinks tons of water a day. I refresh their water bowl at least twice a day. As for going potty, he now has softer poo, which is good. But he only goes like once every three days or so and then you'd swear he was a Great Dane or something. Hahaha. Poor guy. (And poor me!)

I've noticed with Jazzy (acro) that her stools are HUGE. I wish they were only every 3 days since she leaves them everywhere except the litter box. :-x But they are definitely much, much bigger than my other cats. They used to always be loose, but now they are usually formed but gigantic.
 
Well, and a little TMI, but I'm going to share anyway. Bogey's poos have never been particularily stinky. Well now I can tell the moment I walk in the front door that there is a present waiting for me in the BASEMENT. OMG! Two nights ago it actually woke me up from a dead sleep it was so bad! It's killing me. :lol: Seriously, my eyes were watering the other night!
 
i shouldn't laugh, but that totally cracked me up. could it be something he ate? a med? or is that the once every 3 days effect? usually the harder it is the less it smells . . .

well i've spent the last 2-3 hours since i posted looking for what i'd seen before and i can't find it. i tried googling feline+diabetes+megacolon and got some hits, but nothing super helpful. sorry about that.

it would make sense though, given the airway thickening thing, that his colon could've thickened as well and be less flexible. part of the effect of the growth hormone is the growth of the soft tissue - that happens before the growth of the bones, apparently. i would guess this is one of those that you just treat the symptom by using pumpkin or miralax.
 
It sounds like something that might resolve itself as you go forward.

Ella

Hi Bogey, Camp Stu has a nice outhouse with a screen door!! Tomorrow I'm throwing a party at Camp. It would be neat if you could come and meet the other kitties. Mannie will pick you up in the kitty bus. See you tomorrow?
Rusty
 
screen door, rusty? that's very thoughtful of you to invite bogey to the screen-door outhouse! :lol: :lol: :lol:

we love bogey, even if he has, uh, special issues. everybody has them sometimes! :-D
 
Hello AMy,
My name is Patti - I'm one of the older acromoms. My Merlin was dx back in 2007 with acro and was one of the original ones who started the acro group here on fdmb. I'm sorry I'm so late here but just learned your kitty had been diagnosed with acromegaly. I don't know if you've had a chance to read the sticky over in the acro/iaa/cushings group here on fdmb.

I'm not good anymore at helping with dosing advice as back then I used a different insulin with Merlin. Now I have Boris that used Lantus but a very low dose. Guess I go from one extreme to another - lol.

However, FWIW - I know a fair amount about other health issues - heart, kidney, liver - both from my own experiences with my own animals but also from the work I do. So if I can ever help you with any of that - please let me know.

Many acrokitties - because of their large bellies they develop due to the large organs - have trouble with constipation. We learned over the years that Miralax helps alot! 1/8 tsp mixed in their food 2x/day helps alot. it's pretty tasteless. Most don't even notice.

I hope this helps you a little.

I'd like to add your name to our list of all acromoms/dads. Also we do an acrocalendar now. Last year was our first. And it would be wonderful if you would be a part of it. Please let me know!

I wish you and your ktty all the best. If you don't mind - I'd like to check in when I can - just to see how you are doing if that's ok!
xxx
patti - and always in my heart - Merlin
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top