6/7 Tiger PMPS 154;+1.75=58;+2=48;+2.5=78;+4=206

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tiger(GA) and Ruth

Member Since 2014
Tiger has been slightly constipated last night and this morning. We took her to the vet because as she seemed to be straining at the lb; urinating normally but became less and less. Appt was at 2:20. Vet said she had UTI- administered a 2 week antitiotic covina. I have been reading scary things, but could this have to do with Tiger's sudden drop in BG tonight? She is not showing symptoms, I just gave 2t high gravy at 58; tested again at +3 and gave a 1 of karo. Could this be the result from the antibiotic shot??? Kinda freaking out here, thanks for any hlep!

Sorry, here's our last condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=119811
 
Re: 6/7 Tiger PMPS 154;+2.75=58;+3=48

Ruth

It looks to me like she is just clearing a bounce. I don't think the shot could have an effect on the infection this fast.

How did the vet dx a UTI? Normally the sample needs to be obtained by cystocentesis so it's sterile and they do a culture and sensitivity but the vet could have potentially seen some bacteria in the sterile sample.

Convenia is typically given for skin conditions and is not the best a/b for UTIs. It works for about 2-3 weeks but can stay in the system much longer.

I'd stay on top of the numbers until she's staying up without food. And she earned a dose reduction to 3.75u. :-D

If she bounces in the morning, you can shoot through the bounce once with 4u and then reduce tomorrow night.

I hope she, and your DH, are better.
 
Re: 6/7 Tiger PMPS 154;+2.75=58;+3=48

I don't think the Convenia would cause Tiger to have low blood sugar, unless the antibiotic was working against an infection that is causing higher BG's. A bad reaction to Convenia is usually like an allergic reaction.

Good job tonight on the high carb food. If she ate again at that 48, I'd test again in 20-30 minutes after she ate. It takes about that long for the carbs to do from being eaten to the blood stream.
 
Re: 6/7 Tiger PMPS 154;+2.75=58;+3=48

i hope your husband's doing better - i haven't heard for a few days.

you doing ok with the low numbers, ruth? repost and we can help you if you need it. Boomer's low tonight too.
 
Re: 6/7 Tiger PMPS 154;+2.75=58;+3=48

Thanks Marje, about a week, plus or minus ago, Tiger was urinating very small amounts, and did get dx's with a UTI, the culture was not a "clean" draw however, she peed all over the vet and the table. They wanted to give her antibiotics but she was symptom free by the time the vet called with the lab results. That culture also indicated E coli but I did not know this a week ago. Thanks for that info, I was wondering if the high numbers meant a bounce or whatever. Thanks for your help, DH is getting better, a little stronger each day. He went to work Friday, against my better judgement but he said he couldn't lay around another day.

Thanks Wendy, Tiger has never had a UTI before, but the reason I was freaking out is that now that I had time to read, I don't like the sounds of covina. But I'm glad it isn't affecting her BG though! I just tested at 9:30, she went up to 78. I'll test her again in another 20 minutes. Thanks for both of your help, you've no idea how comforting this is!!
 
Re: 6/7 Tiger PMPS 154;+1.75=58;+2=48;+3.5=78

Thanks Julie, I was just hoping her numbers weren't the result from the covenia. I was just surprised how fast she dropped from PMPS. I will feel better when it's 1:00AM! nailbite_smile
 
Re: 6/7 Tiger PMPS 154;+1.75=58;+2=48;+3.5=78

BGs can wobble, ruth, so you want 2 tests that are rising or flat after you've stopped giving food, just to make sure she holds her numbers up.

so glad DH is doing better!
 
Re: 6/7 Tiger PMPS 154;+1.75=58;+2=48;+3.5=78

We'll be here and wait for your next test result. That 78 is good. The gravy and karo can wear off and numbers could go back down again so you may be up for a bit.
 
Re: 6/7 Tiger PMPS 154;+1.75=58;+2=48;+2.5=78

Do you have any more tests Ruth? Congrats on that dose reduction.
 
+2=48
+2.5=78
+2.75=93
+3=150
+4=206

I wish I had not given the 1t karo, I should have just stuck with the FF Gravy Lovers at +2 and +2.5, but now I just have to hope she doesn't bounce too high, when will I learn! :YMSIGH: I think we're fine now, but I will watch her until 1 or so, but I want to say thanks a million for all your support, this is the best forum ever! :smile:
 
ya gotta never look back with FD! i think hindsight is horrid - i imagine all of us overcarbed at the beginning. i looked at punkin's spreadsheet today and can see where i reduced his dose when i had a perfect preshot that didn't need a reduction, or i made other mistakes that are quite obvious to me now. *sigh*

the good thing is you pulled Tiger up and she's doing fine now. :-D next time you can decide to use a lighter touch with the carbs. some cats will come up from the 40's with low carb, even. you'll have to experiment to see what works best with tiger.
 
Looks like the next bounce has started. :roll: It's always good to test a couple hours after the last high carb just in case though.

Next time, you can do a drop or two of karo. :lol: We've all overdone it the first time or two that our cat goes low, it can be scary. You did a great job tonight Ruth. :-D You might want to put notes in your SS as to how much of what kind of food you gave and when. This'll give you an idea of what works or not and is information you can use next time Tiger goes low. I hope you get to sleep soon.
 
Julie, I panicked and went for HC when LC would have been fine, but I was so freaked out with the antibiotic thing, I over-reacted! I know my biggest mistake was leaving Tiger at the lower doses for way too long! I did not understand the concept of Tight Regulation, if I could change one thing, i wish I had a better understanding back then! Thanks for all your help!
 
Thanks Wendy, indeed, I am afraid I created this next bounce, I just hope she clears it quickly. This is a scary disease isn't it? One minute they're fine, then they're not! Or so it seems. You should go to bed now, I am going to sit with her at least until 1 or so, just in case. She's sleeping peacefully here, and I was biting my nails all night :-D
 
Hi Ruth. I panic and give too high carbs at times as well. I think until we are really comfortable and know how our cats react to food better it is bound to happen. You are in good company. I hope your husband is doing better.
 
we all overdo the carbs when we get scared. they pass though, and in the meantime we've kept our cats safe. i don't think that's a bad mistake at all. as wendy said, if you make notes on what you did and even suggest what you'll want to do next time, it will help you the next time you see low numbers.

it very well might be a bounce and not from the carbs you gave. if she keeps going up, you'll be sure it's a bounce.

nighty night!
 
Hi Elise and thanks! DH is resting comfortably. As a matter of fact, he slept through all of our drama tonight LOL :smile: I get afraid when she drops so quickly like that, I am so thankful for the support here, thanks for your reply!
 
have you tried feeding her mini meals at preshot, +1 and +2? the 100 point drop in 45 minutes is fast enough to trigger a bounce no matter what the numbers are. it's the speed of the drop. some people routinely give food spread out on that schedule to try to slow drops and prevent bouncing.

glad your husband missed the excitement! :-D
 
LOL Julie, yeah, I know DH will be glad he slept through all of this! :-D

I typically do feed 6-7 mini meals, but I do this primarily during the day. This is the first time Tiger has dropped at night so fast. I typically don't even do a check until +2 or so. That's why the 58 at 1.75 caught me off guard. So maybe I will have to divide her food into more mini meals in the evening.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top