6/7 Pudge AMPS 271 +3 254 +5 259 +6 234 +8 226

was going to test +3, +6, +9?.. but since the depot takes time to build, does this just show if its working for the day or not until day 3 when you can really see change (if im understanding everything correctly?.. idk. o_O)

realizing too.. should one just get comfortable w treating low numbers? im doing my best rn and things are tight but doing all we can.. (do have some supplies.. could use more strips.. ok to pop in to the store sometime today/next day or two, or need to be home as much as possible?.. ugh. *cries)

:woot::cat::blackeye:
 
Last edited:
Some cats show some action on the first cycle of an increase, some don't. I'm glad you got that +3. It shows him coming down, but not a huge amount. Maybe get a +6 and decide then if you need more.
 
Saw your point about strips. Try to have at least one extra bottle around, maybe keep it in the hypo kit for "just in case".

As for treating low numbers, I wouldn't say you get comfortable, but as you get experience you become more confident in your own abilities. Once you learn his blood sugar patterns and response to food, it becomes easier. You'll learn how much of what carb food to give at what point in the cycle to get the desired effect. Any time you give extra food, note what and when in the Remarks section of the spreadsheet, so you can see what worked or didn't work last time. Cats vary quite a bit in how much carbs they need to give then a boost. We all start with too many carbs (for safety) and work our way down.
 
was able to get a few more tests in :cat: dropped a bit more and then more too by +8.. o_O small decreases tho. which is good right i think :woot:

thinking to do just 1 tonite.. know its best here to have it even but for a few reasons.. spoke to vet and understand more where coming from; since dropping to lower 200s is also looking at things as a DAILY dose thats split up.. (1/1 is 2 U a day.. 1.5/1.5 would now be 3 U day..) wants to go really slow w it. also think its safer doing 1.5/1 (2.5 u; can adjust future by trying then for 1.25/1.25.. tho theyre really of the opinion 1.5/1 is fine.. eh) for first day just to see what happens as nighttime im sleeping and activity/eating levels potentially different/less.. also of opinion just doing so only the first day shouldn't affect depot as much and can also gauge things better based on how the morning looks.. :bookworm: we also dont have much data and know where the peak is possibly yet..

admit am considering. :blackeye: just for today, as first day.. idk. :)
we trying here.
 
Saw your point about strips. Try to have at least one extra bottle around, maybe keep it in the hypo kit for "just in case".

As for treating low numbers, I wouldn't say you get comfortable, but as you get experience you become more confident in your own abilities. Once you learn his blood sugar patterns and response to food, it becomes easier. You'll learn how much of what carb food to give at what point in the cycle to get the desired effect. Any time you give extra food, note what and when in the Remarks section of the spreadsheet, so you can see what worked or didn't work last time. Cats vary quite a bit in how much carbs they need to give then a boost. We all start with too many carbs (for safety) and work our way down.
right need to go store for it.. ugh. :blackeye: and knowing patterns/responses sounding good.. just ugh. hes got some food sensitivities tho so.. trying to find food. do have FF GL turkey.. But it got fish. o_O have NutriCal from vet.. this ok instead of syrup?.. was thinking to add to food somehow.. read on sticky adding some syrup to lc food is ok, but that its not usually enough.. MC, HC food better. do have a bit of raw honey.. :/
 
Would you please update your spreadsheet? If you are uncomfortable with 1.5 as I noted you could give 1.25 both cycles.
 
Pudge was basically flat today, all within meter variance. Meters can be up to 20% variance with numbers. Meter variance of 250 ranges from 200 to 300.

All I can say is that in my time on FDMB, I have seen a LOT of people try different doses AM and PM, and for none of them has it actually worked. I think your options are to go with 1.25/1.25 or 1.5/1.5 as Elise suggested. She's also seen more than 10 years worth of spreadsheets.

Adding syrup/honey/karo to food is plenty enough carbs. Just vary the size of the drop. I used that when Neko got below 40 to boost her fast. For people whose cats have food sensitivities, syrup/honey works fine. My girl had an allergy to wheat, so I couldn't use the typical gravy foods, unless the carbs came from potatoes or rice.
 
well what to do now tonite? dose is very soon.. already given 1.5 u this morning. option is to give another 1.5.. or?.. can't go back down now. :/ understand about changing doses AM/PM.. they just want to see how he does just for tonite; then will see on what to do tmw depending on where he is. thoughts?
 
if do just 1 tonite cause things wonky and trying to decide what's best and do what you all suggesting.. (talking to vet made me nervous because points were fair.. they don't want any events since it was 2 u a day would now be 3 u a day..) ok to do 1.25/1.25 tmw? im so confused w everything. :( depending on what his reading is.
 
far as I can see now.. option based off what's happened so far, give either 1 or 1.5 tonite.. then see tmw. if do 1, and based off numbers, can then start 1.25 tmw, AM/PM.. oh idk. how do i start the 1.25 schedule now?
 
We've given you suggestions. You hold the syringe.

We don't dose by how many units per day, Lantus doesn't last that long in the cat (unlike in humans).
 
Back
Top