6/7 Latte AMPS-417, PMPS-335, +5.5-194

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolynandlatte

Very Active Member
Last night:
PMPS-345
+2 and +6 - 347 (or within a point)

Yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=16533

I came home late morning yesterday and couldnt find Latte. I looked in all her spots (throne, under piano, bathroom, litter boxes, etc) a few times. Never dawned on me to look UP. After three rounds, there she was sitting on the computer chair next to the couch. I sat next to her, but that only lasted 20 minutes before she retreated to the bathroom for the next 12 hrs. She got up 1-2 times, that I remember to pee. She has currently chosen to sit next to me on the chair as I type this.

Latte ate not barely 1/2 can of wellness yesterday a.m., and after 3hrs of spoon feeding on and off, she finally finished a jar of babyfood in the evening. I was amazed with the volume of urine she had, despite the fact she had nothing to drink from morning on. does not look like she really drank over night either.

I woke to the sound of vomit about 3am. it was clear foamy. no doubt due to an empty tummy.

This morning she has been given everything possible to help her tummy and increase her appetite. Its been over an hour since her shot and all she has eaten is 2tsp of babyfood. Oh wait! She just got off the chair to try some wet food. EIther the appy stim kicked in early or she has just started clearing her bounce. One of my main concerns is that she is able to keep all she eats down while I am both here and gone today.

This is probably one of the handful of times in over three years she has felt dehydrated. I gave extra fluids, earlier than usual, this a.m.

I think i would like to increase her insulin a drop. Im worried, however, if she is not eating well and Im not home that it could cause other problems. On the other hand, she has a long way to go before getting "low" as she sits in the 2, 3, and 400's.

Ketones have not been checked yet today.
 
Re: 6/7 Latte AMPS-417

Hi carolyn .. thanks for stopping in last night in mocha's condo ... I hope that latte decides she wants to eat better for you today ... I know it is hard when we can't make them understand why they need to eat ... I don't have any advice on increasing her dose but hopefully others will be around soon to help figure out what is best for latte ....
 
Re: 6/7 Latte AMPS-417,+2.25~260

It looks like the bounce broke. I hope this means that Latte decided that food was a good thing.
 
Re: 6/7 Latte AMPS-417,+2.25~260

Pretty yellow Latte girl! Hope you can eat today and keep your belly full.
Take good care of yourself, won't you? Call us if you can... :YMHUG:
Raja
 
Re: 6/7 Latte AMPS-417,+2.25~260

hey Carolyn,

Probably should PM you, but I've been having issues with my messages just sitting in my outbox for days. When I took Blue in for surgery, the vet mentioned Metacam for aftercare and I flipped out, having read that Latte is a survivor of Metacam induced kidney failure. I mentioned that and he said that they would carefully screen Blue and there were some alternative meds (bupe) but they were having trouble getting them from the supplier. I don't have time to do all the research - is Metacam a definite "NO!" for cats, in your opinion? I ask, since I know you have first hand experience with it...
 
Re: 6/7 Latte AMPS-417,+2.25~260,+10.5~322

This will be our pm check in, since I have to leave right after her shot until later tonight. Will post actual pmps then.

Latte did eat about 3/4 can food + little wet and kibble while I was gone. Glad the appy stim worked and so far she has kept it down.

Im wondering if the bathroom thing is related to me. She was under the piano when I gor home. Fter greeting me and some skritches, she went to the bathroom. Ive been on her a lot with meds and testing lately. She may have reached her limit. She did sit on the chair next to the couch with me for a while this a.m.

I think her legs/back are hurting. She looks pretty sorry. I will give bupe at bed tonight. Just dont want it to interfere with her ability to get up and eat. She has drunk little water, and peed a handful of times.

I will increase her dose to a f1.0 tonight. Im not around to get checks the next few days, but it seemed like she has leveled off in a high range. She is bouncing from blues almost immediately after hitting the range, so Im feeling ok that she will be safe. The bounces wont be fun. Hopefully if she can hit high to mid blues more regularly, they will stop sooner than later.

I dont see a whole lot of light in her eyes.
I suspect overall, she is winding down. Thats coming from my gut and heart. Strangely enough I think Im feeling a very, VERY small sense of peace about it too. Its weird.
 
Re: 6/7 Latte AMPS-417,+2.25~260,+10.5~322

Is your bathroom floor cooler than her other places? Bear has been lying on the floor lately, and it's often in the bathroom. I know what you are saying about winding down. (((Carolyn))).
 
Re: 6/7 Latte AMPS-417, PMPS-335

Apparently I did NOT have to work tonight! Love when I do that! ohmygod_smile
Im going to take a stab in the dark and guess that this am's cycle was pretty much the same as yesterdays.

Linda- She is sleeping on the rug in the bathroom, leaning against the tub most of the time. Not sure if I feel its cooler in there. This is hard to say, but...for her entire life, every night I take a bath. And every night she joins me in the bathroom on a pile of clothes, or in the last year against the bath tub (so I can pet her). And I do mean EVERY night. Lately, she leaves the bathroom as soon as I get in the tub. :cry:

She is under the piano tonight, sleeping peacefully. Im not going to bother her, since all her meds have been given because I thought I had to be at work.
 
Re: 6/7 Latte AMPS-417, PMPS-335

That's a tough one, Carolyn. On the one hand, Latte needs to be with you, on the other hand, she needs to distance herself from you. We experienced something similar with our Alice. I think it's something that our dear kitties have to play out for themselves in their heads. Alice came back to us wholeheartedly. I know that Latte will do the same for you.

Many hugs to you both,

Ella & Stu
 
Always reactive to the first dose of an increase.
This will surely make her bounce, as she probably has a wee bit more dropping to do...unless mr liver gets to it first. I just hope its not the 500-600+ bounces she has seen from blue in the last month or so.

She has had a fairly decent night, all things considered. I tweaked and added a lot of meds today, so who knows what it was that helped. She does seem a little more comfortable and IS eating fairly well. I guess thats what counts at this point of the game.

Heading off to bed a little earlier than usual, despite my curiousity of her numbers. I will be lucky to get 12-15hrs of sleep thru Thurs a.m....so an extra hour is going to be much welcomed.
 
I hope she doesn't bounce tonight since this high blue looks really nice for her. And she ate a little better which is encouraging. I know you will do the best for your sweet Latte and my heart goes out to you. I hope she does seek you out for comfort at times... even if she needs to be alone at other times.

All my best. (((Hugs to you)))
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top