6/7 Jinx AMPS 348, +5 259, PMPS 411, Dosecrease?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, Ann and Melissa. Unfortunately, his liver isn't cooperating right now.

I'm not sure how his recent ups and downs factor in to the dosecrease protocol. Do you all think he's due for a .25u increase tomorrow morning?
 
Geee, hard to answer that dose-crease question because of the Pred. To me, and I am not an expert at reading BG charts, it looks like the every other day you gave the Pred Jinx's BGs went up.

I am concerned that if you increase and then you possibly have too much on board for the off day from the Pred. :?

When will you be discontinuing the oral Pred and moving to the inhaler?
 
Cathy has a valid point except I'm not seeing him in lower numbers on the non-pred days.

IMHO, because you monitor him, I'd take him up. The challenge is that the protocol states for a failed reduction, take them back up to the last good dose but the last good dose is not the one that got him to 68 on an AT. While the general thought is there is a 30 mg/dl difference between the AT and a human glucometer, it does seem to vary. Have you compared your OT to the AT at lower numbers? If they are close and the 68 might have been near 50, then 3.25u might be his last good dose. If they are not close so that 68 was more like a low 40s number, you might want to try fattening his dose.
 
Marje, I only have one AT test strip left and will use it on his next low number to compare. I ordered more for future comparisons but haven't gotten them yet.. By fattening his dose, do you mean somewhere between 3 and 3.25u?

Cathy, I've been administering 2 puffs of 110mcg Flovent twice daily for two weeks now. And I recently reduced the pred from every day to every other day. I'm going to see how he does with that for a week or so, and then try every 3 days. If he does have any breathing attacks with pred every 3 days for a week or two, I'll take him off it completely and see how he does on just the Flovent. Also, Melissa (Tarragon) sent me a 250mcg Flovent and I'm going to get some advice on a feline asthma board she referred me to regarding whether to up his dose to two puffs of the 250mcg twice daily.

So, if all goes well, Jinx will be off the pred and solely on the Flovent in about 3 wks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top