6/7 Gizmo AMPS - 424

Status
Not open for further replies.
Nice to see that yellow but you may need a slight increase, however no nighttime tests to go by (most kitties go lower at night). I am no pro by any means, hopefully others chime in. Are you following SLGS or TR?
 
Right now, I am just following what his vet has told me to do. It seems closer to SLGS. The only difference is that his dose is increasing by 1 unit. The prescription I was given for needles is only marked in whole units, so at this point I am unable to give him smaller dose increases.

He is currently given his am shot at 8am and his pm shot at 8pm. He is eating Friskies canned food (only Ocean Whitefish & Tuna). He gets half a 5.5 ounce can with both shots. He gets a quarter can as a snack at 2pm and before I go to bed at night (usually between 10-11pm). He is still slightly hungry close to food times, but this schedule has seemed to keep his weight consistent while keeping his hunger at bay (for the most part). He actually probably gets slightly more than that because he finishes whatever my other cat doesn't eat. She only gets a quarter can at each feeding.

I will have to try to get some night time tests to see what is happening overnight.
 
Some states require a prescription for syringes. Some do not.

http://www.isletsofhope.com/diabetes/state-law/state-prescription-laws.html

If your state does not require you can get syringes with 1/2u hash marks from Wal-Mart (I think they are ReLion). Or you can order them on line. If your state requires a prescription you will need to get one from your vet and then you can get them.

Texas does not require an RX. I order them online. These are what I get.

https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/16367/carepoint-vet-u-100-pet-syringe-31g-half-unit


ETA - this sticky has syringe and dosage info

LANTUS & LEVEMIR - SYRINGE & INSULIN INFO: HANDLING, DRAWING, & FINE DOSES
 
Hello and welcome!!!
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
I'm glad you decided to post, I think most of us lurk a while before posting for the first time.

I do agree with what others have said regarding 1u increases, you run the risk of missing a good dose.

Good job getting the SS up and running, great job testing.

I notice that you sometimes don't get a pre shot, I would very strongly recommend that you always test before you give insulin, it's very important to know if it's safe to shoot.
Bronx's dad mentioned testing in the pm cycle, I would reinforce that, often kitties will go lower at night, getting a pm test, say just before you head to bed, will be very helpful, especially when it comes to making dosing decisions.

It's almost 1am for me so I'm hitting the sack, please ask as many questions as you want, we are here to help. If you have a question, when posting your thread, you can use the drop down list and delete this the ?? Prefix, that will help you get more eyes on your query.

Night for now.
 
My state does require a prescription. I am waiting to hear back from his vet.
Ok, once you have it be sure to make a copy of take a picture. The RX is usually good for a year. If you decide to order online you can email it and the will keep it on file so you don't have to submit it every time. And you will have a copy just in case you need to pick some up locally.
 
My state (NJ) also required a prescription but all it took was one fax from my vet to the online site to be good for every order and all I had to do was to place an order for syringes & listed my vet and the online store did the rest as far as contacting my vet and getting the RX. Here is a link to the site and the syringes many here use: https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/16367/carepoint-vet-u-100-pet-syringe-31g-half-unit. I am going to try these syringes next, heard they are really good: https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/2552/monoject-ultra-comfort-insulin-syringes
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top