Jen&Eddie
Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo
Today: AMPS/181, +3/121, +4/140, +5/106, +5.5/89, +9/169, +10/306, PMPS/370, +1/384
Hi LL and Happy Caturday
I never got back to posting on Eddie's condo yesterday, but wanted to discuss what to do next to help with these maddening bounces.
Hi Marje! Yep, food control and trying to prevent reductions has been discussed a couple times on Eddie. I've tried with varying degrees of success, but as of late (like within the last week or so since these reductions have all happened so quickly in the last three weeks), I hadn't been trying too hard to stop Eddie from earning a reduction. This is partly because I have no idea if he's still trying to go down the dosing ladder and party because I don't really know how I'm going to be able to steer to prevent reductions during the work week.
Despite the low numbers and the reducie on Thursday, Eddie actually had a pretty nice AM cycle yesterday, but shot up at the end into yet another bounce for the PM cycle. He waved the pink flag again, Wendy. ;-) This morning, he had already cleared the bounce, and started at a 181 for AMPS. By +3, it looked like he was dropping pretty fast, so I fed some extra 12%, then 7%, then 10%. I had to be gone from +5.5 until +9 this afternoon, so I have no idea what he did after hitting greens at AM +5.5. He had 10% in the autofeeder at AM +6, and some 7% at AM +7. He had already shot into a bounce by AM +10. :cry: I don't know if he's bouncing because he hit some lows today, or if the dose petered out.
Here's my quandry...he hits pinks before he goes low and he has held reductions - at least he keeps having nice nadirs. I don't know if he's reached a dose yet that he's happy with, and that his bounces are continued warnings that he's going to drop more, or if the dose is not enough to hold back the bounces. My thought was to try to find a dose where he's giving me good nadirs, without going into the 40's with minimal food and then to bump the dose back up and add more carbs, but I'm just not sure.
Here's the other thing I have been chewing on - because insulin downregulates the insulin receptor cells, is it possible that the big ugly flat bounces that hang on for a cycle or two (waving the pink flag) is indicative of more basal insulin than he needs? Particularly since he tries to earn a reduction almost every time he bounce clears as of late? Just for clarity sake - I'm not referring to Somogyi or chronic rebound or anything like that. I'm referring to the fact that insulin down regulates its receptor cells and a constantly increased amount of circulating insulin means that there are reduced numbers of available receptor cells to intake the insulin and trigger glucose receptor cells - basically temporary insulin resistance - flat bounce cycles. Here's one article that discusses this: http://care.diabetesjournals.org/content/31/Supplement_2/S262.full. So, since I've been studying this topic, perhaps I'm just looking for some assurances that this is NOT what is going on with Eddie...or something. confused_cat
Hi Wendy!
Thankfully, Eddie mostly does his swimming in the deep end of the lagoon at night, but he has dropped low during the day a couple times. While we were still on ProZinc, I came home for lunch to a BG of 32 one time. :shock: Recently, when I was trying to get on the road to leave for the lake, he hit 40 before I could get him to come back up and surf so we could pack up and go. I dread the daytime drops when I'm at work. nailbite_smile
Today: AMPS/181, +3/121, +4/140, +5/106, +5.5/89, +9/169, +10/306, PMPS/370, +1/384
Hi LL and Happy Caturday
I never got back to posting on Eddie's condo yesterday, but wanted to discuss what to do next to help with these maddening bounces.
Marje and Gracie said:I am sorry I can't remember if this has been brought up (I wish I had time to read back through all the condos but I don't). My suggestion would be to really try and flatten him out and keep him from earning those reductions. When he starts dropping like he did last night, increase the carbs. You might not have to increase them much. It depends on Eddie. Instead of feeding him the lower carb foods you were giving him as he was coming down, I would have tried to slow that drop starting at +5 with that 125.
Hi Marje! Yep, food control and trying to prevent reductions has been discussed a couple times on Eddie. I've tried with varying degrees of success, but as of late (like within the last week or so since these reductions have all happened so quickly in the last three weeks), I hadn't been trying too hard to stop Eddie from earning a reduction. This is partly because I have no idea if he's still trying to go down the dosing ladder and party because I don't really know how I'm going to be able to steer to prevent reductions during the work week.
Despite the low numbers and the reducie on Thursday, Eddie actually had a pretty nice AM cycle yesterday, but shot up at the end into yet another bounce for the PM cycle. He waved the pink flag again, Wendy. ;-) This morning, he had already cleared the bounce, and started at a 181 for AMPS. By +3, it looked like he was dropping pretty fast, so I fed some extra 12%, then 7%, then 10%. I had to be gone from +5.5 until +9 this afternoon, so I have no idea what he did after hitting greens at AM +5.5. He had 10% in the autofeeder at AM +6, and some 7% at AM +7. He had already shot into a bounce by AM +10. :cry: I don't know if he's bouncing because he hit some lows today, or if the dose petered out.
Here's my quandry...he hits pinks before he goes low and he has held reductions - at least he keeps having nice nadirs. I don't know if he's reached a dose yet that he's happy with, and that his bounces are continued warnings that he's going to drop more, or if the dose is not enough to hold back the bounces. My thought was to try to find a dose where he's giving me good nadirs, without going into the 40's with minimal food and then to bump the dose back up and add more carbs, but I'm just not sure.
Here's the other thing I have been chewing on - because insulin downregulates the insulin receptor cells, is it possible that the big ugly flat bounces that hang on for a cycle or two (waving the pink flag) is indicative of more basal insulin than he needs? Particularly since he tries to earn a reduction almost every time he bounce clears as of late? Just for clarity sake - I'm not referring to Somogyi or chronic rebound or anything like that. I'm referring to the fact that insulin down regulates its receptor cells and a constantly increased amount of circulating insulin means that there are reduced numbers of available receptor cells to intake the insulin and trigger glucose receptor cells - basically temporary insulin resistance - flat bounce cycles. Here's one article that discusses this: http://care.diabetesjournals.org/content/31/Supplement_2/S262.full. So, since I've been studying this topic, perhaps I'm just looking for some assurances that this is NOT what is going on with Eddie...or something. confused_cat
Hi Wendy!
Wendy&Neko said:Has he ever done one of those during the daytime? :lol: :lol:
Thankfully, Eddie mostly does his swimming in the deep end of the lagoon at night, but he has dropped low during the day a couple times. While we were still on ProZinc, I came home for lunch to a BG of 32 one time. :shock: Recently, when I was trying to get on the road to leave for the lake, he hit 40 before I could get him to come back up and surf so we could pack up and go. I dread the daytime drops when I'm at work. nailbite_smile