6/7 ~ Coco ~ AMPS ~ 389 ~ Acro/Lev/R

Status
Not open for further replies.

CocoButterBall

Member Since 2011
AMPS 389 this morning :]
+1 - 409
+2 - 315
+3
+4
+5 - 185
+6 - 196
+7 - 388
+8 - 445 1.5uR (couldnt resist, i think he needs it too much lol)
+9 - 353
+10
+11
PMPS - 468 4.25u Lev
+1
+2
+3
+4
+5 - 291

I am thinking this might be a good day to try no R so you guys can see a cycle without it.. he might not need it anyway.. some cycles he doesn't go above 400ish (still high but not as high as it can go)

I think this might help you guys help me because atm i think I'm just causing bounces :[

Also about the N insulin from the 6/6 thread. Coco used to be on N before Lantus. and he was built up to 16 units with 0 effect lol. so im kind of leaning towards never using it ever again xD

If i do have to resort to different dosing times (TID) It will be after i see there is no way R wont work with Lev for coco.. and I was def leaning toward TID rather then the other options of alternative dosing.

but who knows .. maybe all he really does need in a lev increase. I just see the low blues at nadir and don't see how i can though.. maybe that is where TID kicks in..

but thats why im going to do less or no R for a few cycles. so you guys can see his true cycles.. R is keeping him higher i think which makes it seem like needs an increase.
 
+1 is 403. come on lev D: kick in kick in kick in, lol

I got a few pics also.. the first one is coco.. pre-diabetes. the second is coco with diabetes ._.

180813_1858019696994_1435947984_32142242_2492349_n.jpg


196859_1931339889953_1435947984_32253129_3401407_n.jpg
 
Hello Andrea & Coco and welcome!!! We have never stopped by to say hello. The pictures side by side are amazing! That is how Tarragon was, but we didn't realize it since we were around him every day. Hopefully you will get a path forward that includes only healing for Coco!
 
oh my, that is a shocking contrast. but i'm hopeful that with some guidance and tinkering with the insulin you'll be able to get him back looking like his pre-diabetes self with that nice lush fur. i'm wanting to reach out and pet him!

it's great to hear there are so many options to try. i just went straight up the dosing schedule following the protocol. punkin did get low a few times but it was never a problem to pull him up. i realize that may change as time goes by, but it has kept him in a pretty healthy zone most of the time. but i know ecid! it's all about what works for each one. you'll be able to get there!

just curious - you probably have already done all this, but is the rest of him healthy? he's had the usual blood tests, he's had a dental cleaning - all of that?
 
julie1220 said:
oh my, that is a shocking contrast. but i'm hopeful that with some guidance and tinkering with the insulin you'll be able to get him back looking like his pre-diabetes self with that nice lush fur. i'm wanting to reach out and pet him!

it's great to hear there are so many options to try. i just went straight up the dosing schedule following the protocol. punkin did get low a few times but it was never a problem to pull him up. i realize that may change as time goes by, but it has kept him in a pretty healthy zone most of the time. but i know ecid! it's all about what works for each one. you'll be able to get there!

just curious - you probably have already done all this, but is the rest of him healthy? he's had the usual blood tests, he's had a dental cleaning - all of that?

They dont feel safe doing a dental on him. nor do I with a grade V heart murmur.. they didnt say he needed one anywayz. so i assume he doesnt. last blood check was all pretty normal..high cholesterol though.. has enlarged kidneys.. but the values were still in range last we checked.. i plan to get another full panel in august. maybe july if the money comes up..
 
One thing I noted on the spreadsheet - sometimes, when he between 70 - 120, you've given him high carb food. I'm wondering what the rational was, as a BG of 70 - 120 is "normal"
 
BJM said:
One thing I noted on the spreadsheet - sometimes, when he between 70 - 120, you've given him high carb food. I'm wondering what the rational was, as a BG of 70 - 120 is "normal"

well he has Acro and the other group taught me to feed greens to be safe.. i want to keep him mainly blue at lowest . .. 70 is a little.. low for him imo..

he is very responsive to HC food though. i only need to give him a tbs or 2 to get him into blue without going too high

if i fed a number over 100 it was because he was still dropping at a fast enough speed to where i didnt feel safe not feeding him
 
Oh Andrea...seeing those pics makes me understand so much better why you are so frustrated...(((hugs))) I'm so glad you came back to LL, I hope and believe that you will make progress with Coco here. Hang in there, it may take a bit of time to sort things out, but it will be worth it. He is a stunning cat....

BJM...Coco is an acro cat. They have a functioning pancreas, so feeding LC food may actually cause numbers to drop. Some people believe that acro cats should not see green numbers. You might want to go to the HD ISG and read about HD conditions.....there's lots of info there about acromegaly.
 
i wish i knew more about that, laurie. (can i hijack for a second, andrea?) because before i had punkin tested he got down even to 32 and he responded to high carbs easily. he's been in greens a zillion times. so does that response vary as they progress down the acro "road?"

now our goal has changed and i'm no longer trying to get him below 100, but i don't think i would worry (now) if he did, just because i've seen him respond to it.
 
Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
BJM...Coco is an acro cat. They have a functioning pancreas, so feeding LC food may actually cause numbers to drop. Some people believe that acro cats should not see green numbers. You might want to go to the HD ISG and read about HD conditions.....there's lots of info there about acromegaly.

That is why I asked. I was sure there were probably reasons, since each cat is different; I just couldn't tell from the spreadsheet.
 
CocoButterBall said:
AMPS 389 this morning :]
+1 - 409
+2 - 315

I am thinking this might be a good day to try no R so you guys can see a cycle without it.. he might not need it anyway.. some cycles he doesn't go above 400ish (still high but not as high as it can go)

I think this might help you guys help me because atm i think I'm just causing bounces :[

Also about the N insulin from the 6/6 thread. Coco used to be on N before Lantus. and he was built up to 16 units with 0 effect lol. so im kind of leaning towards never using it ever again xD

If i do have to resort to different dosing times (TID) It will be after i see there is no way R wont work with Lev for coco.. and I was def leaning toward TID rather then the other options of alternative dosing.

but who knows .. maybe all he really does need in a lev increase. I just see the low blues at nadir and don't see how i can though.. maybe that is where TID kicks in..

but thats why im going to do less or no R for a few cycles. so you guys can see his true cycles.. R is keeping him higher i think which makes it seem like needs an increase.

Coco is beautiful Andrea. Whatever you do, do not lose hope. My cat was a healthy looking boy in August of 2009 and a scrawny mess in September. I was afraid he would break a bone every time he laid down. Now he is chubby. REALLY!

Your instincts are so good. You have to try one thing at a time, which you are doing, to come to a conclusion about what to do next. I agree that keeping Coco out of the greens is important. An Acro isn't supposed to go there. That is why I suggested that you increase the lev by a drop or two...not even .25. I understand that the protocol doesn't say anything about that but sometimes you just need to experiment(safely) to see what works. Where .25 may make a big difference...a tiny drop may help. or it may do nothing. But it can't hurt Coco. And you are right..R is keeping him higher because he keeps bouncing from it.
I'd rather see him at a flat pink than bouncing from blue to yellow to pink to red in 24 hours....and he would feel better too. From there you could try for the yellow. It just takes time.

TID is just another way of dosing...when you shoot that way the dose is lower. Alex was high and flat for quite some time before he started to really get results. Because it's tricky you really need to be cautious with that. it's a lot to learn. Like I said it really is just a way to increase longevity and in doing so accustom the body to lower numbers and hopefully keep the bounces to a minimum..but ya gotta know what you're doing.

I think you're doing great today...fwiw :)
 
julie1220 said:
i wish i knew more about that, laurie. (can i hijack for a second, andrea?) because before i had punkin tested he got down even to 32 and he responded to high carbs easily. he's been in greens a zillion times. so does that response vary as they progress down the acro "road?"

now our goal has changed and i'm no longer trying to get him below 100, but i don't think i would worry (now) if he did, just because i've seen him respond to it.
I don't know the answer to your question about change in response to HC as they progress down the acro road. It's an excellent question! But I don't think that I would expect Punkin's response to HC to change overnight because he got the acro label, Julie.

Yes, the goal is different, there is no need to try to keep your cat in the healing range, because their pancreas does not need to heal. But you do want to keep their numbers below renal threshold as much as possible to minimize organ damage, and if they dip into green, it won't hurt them as long as you can control it. That's where knowing your cat's response to food becomes very important. As with any FD cat, it's a balancing act...your target range is just a little higher.

BJM said:
Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
BJM...Coco is an acro cat. They have a functioning pancreas, so feeding LC food may actually cause numbers to drop. Some people believe that acro cats should not see green numbers. You might want to go to the HD ISG and read about HD conditions.....there's lots of info there about acromegaly.

That is why I asked. I was sure there were probably reasons, since each cat is different; I just couldn't tell from the spreadsheet.
Totally understandable...I hope that's helpful.
 
Caryl and Alex said:
CocoButterBall said:
AMPS 389 this morning :]
+1 - 409
+2 - 315

I am thinking this might be a good day to try no R so you guys can see a cycle without it.. he might not need it anyway.. some cycles he doesn't go above 400ish (still high but not as high as it can go)

I think this might help you guys help me because atm i think I'm just causing bounces :[

Also about the N insulin from the 6/6 thread. Coco used to be on N before Lantus. and he was built up to 16 units with 0 effect lol. so im kind of leaning towards never using it ever again xD

If i do have to resort to different dosing times (TID) It will be after i see there is no way R wont work with Lev for coco.. and I was def leaning toward TID rather then the other options of alternative dosing.

but who knows .. maybe all he really does need in a lev increase. I just see the low blues at nadir and don't see how i can though.. maybe that is where TID kicks in..

but thats why im going to do less or no R for a few cycles. so you guys can see his true cycles.. R is keeping him higher i think which makes it seem like needs an increase.

Coco is beautiful Andrea. Whatever you do, do not lose hope. My cat was a healthy looking boy in August of 2009 and a scrawny mess in September. I was afraid he would break a bone every time he laid down. Now he is chubby. REALLY!

Your instincts are so good. You have to try one thing at a time, which you are doing, to come to a conclusion about what to do next. I agree that keeping Coco out of the greens is important. An Acro isn't supposed to go there. That is why I suggested that you increase the lev by a drop or two...not even .25. I understand that the protocol doesn't say anything about that but sometimes you just need to experiment(safely) to see what works. Where .25 may make a big difference...a tiny drop may help. or it may do nothing. But it can't hurt Coco. And you are right..R is keeping him higher because he keeps bouncing from it.
I'd rather see him at a flat pink than bouncing from blue to yellow to pink to red in 24 hours....and he would feel better too. From there you could try for the yellow. It just takes time.

TID is just another way of dosing...when you shoot that way the dose is lower. Alex was high and flat for quite some time before he started to really get results. Because it's tricky you really need to be cautious with that. it's a lot to learn. Like I said it really is just a way to increase longevity and in doing so accustom the body to lower numbers and hopefully keep the bounces to a minimum..but ya gotta know what you're doing.

I think you're doing great today...fwiw :)

the main problem is that he wouldnt remain flat pink ._. lol I would totally go for flat pink over what he has now.. just now he can be over 600 for 4+ hours at at time without R.. it kind of sucks that both directions have pro's and cons.. and all seem to effect coco. so for now maybe today and tomorrow. i will not give R so we can get some pure lev cycles going on.. I have been extra loading his food with water incase he goes into one of his episodes at high numbers.. got keto sticks rdy and everything xD I haven't tried to not use R in a while so who knows maybe it wont be as bad.

I think if i did raise lev.. i would prolly just do .25 or .5 Drop measuring is pretty non-consistent for me. Thinking .25 if its determined he needs an increase.. Feeding his possible greens isn't hard. he LOVES his HC food and it only takes a spoon full. :]

_________________________

I was at the dentist so i didnt get a +3 or 4... im prolly over testing anywayz.. but +5 is 185
 
Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
Oh Andrea...seeing those pics makes me understand so much better why you are so frustrated...(((hugs))) I'm so glad you came back to LL, I hope and believe that you will make progress with Coco here. Hang in there, it may take a bit of time to sort things out, but it will be worth it. He is a stunning cat....

BJM...Coco is an acro cat. They have a functioning pancreas, so feeding LC food may actually cause numbers to drop. Some people believe that acro cats should not see green numbers. You might want to go to the HD ISG and read about HD conditions.....there's lots of info there about acromegaly.

its sad to see him dwindle away right in front of me.. those pics were taken about 2 months apart. He always looks a little sick to me, but hopefully when this is all sorted he will improve :] I would love to see him gain weight back. all i feel are bones
 
CocoButterBall said:
Caryl and Alex said:
CocoButterBall said:
AMPS 389 this morning :]
+1 - 409
+2 - 315

I am thinking this might be a good day to try no R so you guys can see a cycle without it.. he might not need it anyway.. some cycles he doesn't go above 400ish (still high but not as high as it can go)

I think this might help you guys help me because atm i think I'm just causing bounces :[

Also about the N insulin from the 6/6 thread. Coco used to be on N before Lantus. and he was built up to 16 units with 0 effect lol. so im kind of leaning towards never using it ever again xD

If i do have to resort to different dosing times (TID) It will be after i see there is no way R wont work with Lev for coco.. and I was def leaning toward TID rather then the other options of alternative dosing.

but who knows .. maybe all he really does need in a lev increase. I just see the low blues at nadir and don't see how i can though.. maybe that is where TID kicks in..

but thats why im going to do less or no R for a few cycles. so you guys can see his true cycles.. R is keeping him higher i think which makes it seem like needs an increase.

Coco is beautiful Andrea. Whatever you do, do not lose hope. My cat was a healthy looking boy in August of 2009 and a scrawny mess in September. I was afraid he would break a bone every time he laid down. Now he is chubby. REALLY!

Your instincts are so good. You have to try one thing at a time, which you are doing, to come to a conclusion about what to do next. I agree that keeping Coco out of the greens is important. An Acro isn't supposed to go there. That is why I suggested that you increase the lev by a drop or two...not even .25. I understand that the protocol doesn't say anything about that but sometimes you just need to experiment(safely) to see what works. Where .25 may make a big difference...a tiny drop may help. or it may do nothing. But it can't hurt Coco. And you are right..R is keeping him higher because he keeps bouncing from it.
I'd rather see him at a flat pink than bouncing from blue to yellow to pink to red in 24 hours....and he would feel better too. From there you could try for the yellow. It just takes time.

TID is just another way of dosing...when you shoot that way the dose is lower. Alex was high and flat for quite some time before he started to really get results. Because it's tricky you really need to be cautious with that. it's a lot to learn. Like I said it really is just a way to increase longevity and in doing so accustom the body to lower numbers and hopefully keep the bounces to a minimum..but ya gotta know what you're doing.

I think you're doing great today...fwiw :)

the main problem is that he wouldnt remain flat pink ._. lol I would totally go for flat pink over what he has now.. just now he can be over 600 for 4+ hours at at time without R.. it kind of sucks that both directions have pro's and cons.. and all seem to effect coco. so for now maybe today and tomorrow. i will not give R so we can get some pure lev cycles going on.. I have been extra loading his food with water incase he goes into one of his episodes at high numbers.. got keto sticks rdy and everything xD I haven't tried to not use R in a while so who knows maybe it wont be as bad.

I think if i did raise lev.. i would prolly just do .25 or .5 Drop measuring is pretty non-consistent for me. Thinking .25 if its determined he needs an increase.. Feeding his possible greens isn't hard. he LOVES his HC food and it only takes a spoon full. :]

_________________________

I was at the dentist so i didnt get a +3 or 4... im prolly over testing anywayz.. but +5 is 185

Please don't misunderstand me...R is not bad...it's very useful when used correctly in conjunction with the correct dosage of basal insulin. I use it too. It's all a matter of learning and you will. Believe me...If you saw me a year ago :) just sayin'.....
 
Caryl and Alex said:
Please don't misunderstand me...R is not bad...it's very useful when used correctly in conjunction with the correct dosage of basal insulin. I use it too. It's all a matter of learning and you will. Believe me...If you saw me a year ago :) just sayin'.....

yeah i think its a nice thing to have.. , I just have had no guidance on it yet, was doing it on my own so i probably messed up somewhere lol
 
CocoButterBall said:
Caryl and Alex said:
Please don't misunderstand me...R is not bad...it's very useful when used correctly in conjunction with the correct dosage of basal insulin. I use it too. It's all a matter of learning and you will. Believe me...If you saw me a year ago :) just sayin'.....

yeah i think its a nice thing to have.. , I just have had no guidance on it yet, was doing it on my own so i probably messed up somewhere lol

with no guidance anyone would mess up...goodness knows I sure did. Alex's ss was a mess. R all over the place and I never knew why I was giving it or what it was supposed to be doing. I just wanted to force the numbers down and keep ketones away(he is very ketone prone and I was scared). All of a sudden it will click and you'll say 'aha...that's why I should use it now"...you'll see :)

ETA: you didn't use any today? Very nice +5 :) :razz:
 
it's good to see you thinking things through. :smile: I'm also glad to see you taking a little break from hourly testing. Data is good, but you have to take a break sometimes too.

Regarding stopping R for a cycle or two, if that will help you feel better then go ahead. It worries me, though, when you say he becomes unresponsive when he is high. He has been fairly flat for the last couple of days and I would hate to see him get sick. Be careful, ok?
 
Alright +6 was 196.. and +7 388 x.x I think we are going to be pretty high for the end cycle.

I think he will be ok, hopefully.. He is full of water and everything i made sure of that in case.. the episodes of him being unresponsive happened after a few cycles of being high. so I'm hoping since I've had him on R the past few weeks. that it wont happen . but its something i don't want to keep doing. i just want to get you guys a few cycles of just lev :]

but i really dont know because I have been giving R every day sinse i noticed the unresponsive episodes happening. this will be the first day i do not give R

today is turning into a typical no R coco cycle.. very messed up looking... lol.
 
Caryl and Alex said:
CocoButterBall said:
Caryl and Alex said:
Please don't misunderstand me...R is not bad...it's very useful when used correctly in conjunction with the correct dosage of basal insulin. I use it too. It's all a matter of learning and you will. Believe me...If you saw me a year ago :) just sayin'.....

yeah i think its a nice thing to have.. , I just have had no guidance on it yet, was doing it on my own so i probably messed up somewhere lol

with no guidance anyone would mess up...goodness knows I sure did. Alex's ss was a mess. R all over the place and I never knew why I was giving it or what it was supposed to be doing. I just wanted to force the numbers down and keep ketones away(he is very ketone prone and I was scared). All of a sudden it will click and you'll say 'aha...that's why I should use it now"...you'll see :)

ETA: you didn't use any today? Very nice +5 :) :razz:

no R so far.getting nervous though because of the 388 for +7 , I prolly wont mentally be able to do this again lol. its eating at my conscious.
 
I've been studying Coco's spreadsheet and have a few thoughts. First, I'm nervous about not using R. It's your decision, but it does seem to help him quite a bit. I don't want him to be sick, and you're doing such a good job of holding him flat. The small amounts more frequently seems to be doing good things so far. Remember that R doesn't have a shed, it's in and out. For that reason, it's not hard to "read" his spreadsheet around the R so you don't need to withhold it for us. What it does do is hold his preshots lower so the Lev has a better number to work with.

Also, I do believe you have room for an increase in his Lev dose to 4.25 units BID. He is getting to low 100s, and you have said he dips his toes into high greens occasionally. You're able to test during the day, and you say he responds easily to carbs, so I don't see any danger in trying a small Lev increase to see if that will pull his range down slightly. If it's too much, you would catch it easily and pop him right back up with some food. I agree with you that he doesn't need to come down very much, though. A bit more Lev might help him overcome his bounces more easily too, but until he learns to do that, at least you have R to help him.

What do you think? All we want is to keep Coco well.
 
I think im going to cave and give R im too paranoid D: lol and ill increase lev tonight also.

so +8 is 445 and uhm.. 1.5 i think ill give 1.5u R

I think he just needs it too much to refuse it too him D: lol I feel horrible knowing i can give it to him but dont. so i just did it xD
 
one phrase that i've heard on here, more than anywhere else in my life; it's so true though - "this is just another opportunity to gather data and learn." my paraphrase, but it's pretty smart.

your job is to advocate for your kitty and that's what you're doing. you're a great mom to coco! i can't wait to see him refluffed and chunky! he'll get there.
 
no R so far.getting nervous though because of the 388 for +7 , I prolly wont mentally be able to do this again lol. its eating at my conscious.

I totally agree. One day is enough for you to see what you needed to see. No one wants to see Coco get sick. Like I said, I have a ketone prone cat and I know how it feels to be worried sick.
I think today was a GREAT learning experience for you and you did a great job. You saw exactly when Coco begins his rise...at about +8 and THAT is when you should (or when I would) give the R. That was when Alex used to start to lose momentum also...around +8. If you catch the rise before he goes up into the 400's and 500's it will give the Lev a better place to start(as Libby said) and the little raise in the Lev will help too(Yay).Unfortunately you may not be able to catch his PM +8 if you are sleeping and you may see high numbers in the morning but don't get depressed(if you look at the first page of Alex's ss you'll see red numbers at every PS for a very very long time and I was as or more frustrated than you). But this is how you start to flatten a curve to lower numbers on a cat who is having these problems. See what a little data collecting can show you? and don't panic if the increase in Lev causes wonky numbers for a day or two..you know that can happen but it will settle. You did great today :)

btw..this was my Alex a few months after he was dx'd...pretty pathetic huh? Talk about bony :( He was always a big athletic cat

skinnyalex.jpg


This is him now..healthy looking,huh? There IS hope!
alexnow.jpg
 
Yeah. I knew he kinda spikes at +8 but sometimes, since its never set in stone.. he can be over 400 by +7 ._.

do you think its possible to give R at 250 ish .. and keep him even without causing a bounce.. or is that trying to control the Lev a little too much? Maybe 250 is an unrealistic goal...

and this is where im confused. even at +8 tonight.. i gave him R.. but its worn out now.. and he will probably be 500 something b4 the New lev kicks in becuase i only gave 1 R shot.. I am thinking i might need 2 r shots to keep him lower.. i think tmr ill try two 0.5u R shots.. maybe the 2 smaller doses wont cause the bounce.. I hope today doesn't cause one.. we'll see i guess.

Im going to try to test a little less tonight.. I am running out of strips (shocker! xD) til tmr morning. I have like 5 left o.o which i can make work for me.. just wont get these nice hourly, or every 2 hour tests lol. If he runs low, ill go get some in the middle of the night.. not like i haven't done that several times before lol

Yeah your Kitty did gain weight back :o I srsly hope coco does, that's a little encouraging to see though

_______________________________

PMPS = 468

giving 4.25u Lev
 
CocoButterBall said:
Yeah. I knew he kinda spikes at +8 but sometimes, since its never set in stone.. he can be over 400 by +7 ._.

do you think its possible to give R at 250 ish .. and keep him even without causing a bounce.. or is that trying to control the Lev a little too much? Maybe 250 is an unrealistic goal...

and this is where im confused. even at +8 tonight.. i gave him R.. but its worn out now.. and he will probably be 500 something b4 the New lev kicks in becuase i only gave 1 R shot.. I am thinking i might need 2 r shots to keep him lower.. i think tmr ill try two 0.5u R shots.. maybe the 2 smaller doses wont cause the bounce.. I hope today doesn't cause one.. we'll see i guess.

Im going to try to test a little less tonight.. I am running out of strips (shocker! xD) til tmr morning. I have like 5 left o.o which i can make work for me.. just wont get these nice hourly, or every 2 hour tests lol. If he runs low, ill go get some in the middle of the night.. not like i haven't done that several times before lol

Yeah your Kitty did gain weight back :o I srsly hope coco does, that's a little encouraging to see though

_______________________________

PMPS = 468

giving 4.25u Lev

Yep..I think 2 doses of R is too much. If Coco peaks early he will plummet into the greens and then bounce high again. It takes 4 hours for R to leave the system. Even if it SEEMS to you that it hasn't done anything, it probably has kept Coco lower than he would have been. It doesn't matter if he is at 468 at PS..Lev will bring him down. Even if he goes up to 500 he will come down from the insulin. Esp now that you increased his dose not a good idea to give more R unless Coco has ketones and I assume he doesn't? High PS numbers may be something you have to deal with for a little while as you gather data. If you don't let the insulin do it's thing you won't get 'real' information on when the Lev is actually working like you did today. Yeah...250 is not a number that you need to give R at....
according to what i have seen 468 isn't so awful compared to some of the higher numbers on the ss. Use the R wisely and give the Lev a chance.You don't want to start a bounce cycle again either. Everyone is here to talk you down...ya know? You're doing great....just keep up the good work. Of course if Coco seems 'sick'..then all bets are off. As long as he eats drinks pees and purrs..well you knows your kitty cat_pet_icon

If my little almost 9 pound bag of bones gained weight(he is now almost 14 pounds again and I never would have believed it)..I have great hopes for Coco as well..btw Alex has heart issues too
 
Caryl and Alex said:
CocoButterBall said:
Yeah. I knew he kinda spikes at +8 but sometimes, since its never set in stone.. he can be over 400 by +7 ._.

do you think its possible to give R at 250 ish .. and keep him even without causing a bounce.. or is that trying to control the Lev a little too much? Maybe 250 is an unrealistic goal...

and this is where im confused. even at +8 tonight.. i gave him R.. but its worn out now.. and he will probably be 500 something b4 the New lev kicks in becuase i only gave 1 R shot.. I am thinking i might need 2 r shots to keep him lower.. i think tmr ill try two 0.5u R shots.. maybe the 2 smaller doses wont cause the bounce.. I hope today doesn't cause one.. we'll see i guess.

Im going to try to test a little less tonight.. I am running out of strips (shocker! xD) til tmr morning. I have like 5 left o.o which i can make work for me.. just wont get these nice hourly, or every 2 hour tests lol. If he runs low, ill go get some in the middle of the night.. not like i haven't done that several times before lol

Yeah your Kitty did gain weight back :o I srsly hope coco does, that's a little encouraging to see though

_______________________________

PMPS = 468

giving 4.25u Lev

Yep..I think 2 doses of R is too much. If Coco peaks early he will plummet into the greens and then bounce high again. It takes 4 hours for R to leave the system. Even if it SEEMS to you that it hasn't done anything, it probably has kept Coco lower than he would have been. It doesn't matter if he is at 468 at PS..Lev will bring him down. Even if he goes up to 500 he will come down from the insulin. Esp now that you increased his dose not a good idea to give more R unless Coco has ketones and I assume he doesn't? High PS numbers may be something you have to deal with for a little while as you gather data. If you don't let the insulin do it's thing you won't get 'real' information on when the Lev is actually working like you did today. Yeah...250 is not a number that you need to give R at....
according to what i have seen 468 isn't so awful compared to some of the higher numbers on the ss. Use the R wisely and give the Lev a chance.You don't want to start a bounce cycle again either. Everyone is here to talk you down...ya know? You're doing great....just keep up the good work. Of course if Coco seems 'sick'..then all bets are off. As long as he eats drinks pees and purrs..well you knows your kitty cat_pet_icon

If my little almost 9 pound bag of bones gained weight(he is now almost 14 pounds again and I never would have believed it)..I have great hopes for Coco as well..btw Alex has heart issues too

Alright. ill give it a chance at 1 dose of R then for a while. but i just dont see this pattern changing lol. I really think if all i can do is give 1 R without him bouncing.. he is going to end up on TID cycle.. willing to give this a go for a little bit though.. but its really the same thing ive been doing on my own then for the past few weeks.. the high spikes dont seem to be slowing down at all.. maybe the 4.25 will do something. but i don think he will get to a high enough lev dose to do enough for the spikes with only 1 dose of R

maybe i should try 2 doses of .5 R first o.O maybe the dose i gave was just too high?

coco does not have a ketone problem.. thus far.. I still occasionally check in the 400+ zone to make sure..
 
Alright. ill give it a chance at 1 dose of R then for a while. but i just dont see this pattern changing lol. I really think if all i can do is give 1 R without him bouncing.. he is going to end up on TID cycle.. willing to give this a go for a little bit though.. but its really the same thing ive been doing on my own then for the past few weeks.. the high spikes dont seem to be slowing down at all.. maybe the 4.25 will do something. but i don think he will get to a high enough lev dose to do enough for the spikes with only 1 dose of R

maybe i should try 2 doses of .5 R first o.O maybe the dose i gave was just too high?

coco does not have a ketone problem.. thus far.. I still occasionally check in the 400+ zone to make sure..
Ya' know, it's possible that tid MAY be the answer for Coco at some point but sticking with this for a while is the only way to know if nothing else will work. That really should be a last resort....you have to know how the basal insulin works on Coco before you start messing around with that. I wouldn't say that if I didn't mean it for Coco's own good....as much as you don't want these high numbers you don't want a hypo(I mean a REAL hypo either). And giving R more than once in a cycle isn't a good idea either either. Heck Coco got to 185 by himself yesterday....that's pretty good. Dose increase can cause wonky numbers...please keep that in mind:)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top