6/7-6/10 George ProZinc

Status
Not open for further replies.
His nadir is anytime between now and +7 usually, so I'd keep a close eye. Check 30 mins from your last test, so probably close to now. In the 50s, give 1-2 tsp medium carb food. In the 40s, 1-2 tsp high carb. Then check again in 20-30 mins. Continue the 1-2tsp of food and checking every 20-30 mins until +7.
 
The goal is to keep him flat, or going down very little. Once you hit +7, as long as he's above 60, I'd try no food, test after 30 and see if he's going up. If he is, awesome, past nadir so should be ok.
 
His nadir is anytime between now and +7 usually, so I'd keep a close eye. Check 30 mins from your last test, so probably close to now. In the 50s, give 1-2 tsp medium carb food. In the 40s, 1-2 tsp high carb. Then check again in 20-30 mins. Continue the 1-2tsp of food and checking every 20-30 mins until +7.
I just tested him and he’s at 78 so I’m feeling better about it. He ate quite a bit of his regular food right after his last test so my guess is that it had enough of an effect for now. I’ll test him again in another 30 just to be sure.
 
I just tested him and he’s at 78 so I’m feeling better about it. He ate quite a bit of his regular food right after his last test so my guess is that it had enough of an effect for now. I’ll test him again in another 30 just to be sure.
Great! He's doing exactly what he should be, eating as numbers start to get low. Mr Kitty is same way, gives me a bit of peace of mind. As long as he's not in a crazy drop, he feeds his own curve basically (like today)
 
Great! He's doing exactly what he should be, eating as numbers start to get low. Mr Kitty is same way, gives me a bit of peace of mind. As long as he's not in a crazy drop, he feeds his own curve basically (like today)
Well, we’re at 177 at amps today. I decided to go with 3 units based on how low he went yesterday at 3.25 and it being my first time shooting almost a full dose in the blues. We’ll see how today goes!
 
Sounds good. I'd grab another quick test to see if he may still be heading down from a bounce break.

When you think shot time may be in the middle of a bounce break, it helps to catch a +11 to see where he's going
 
Sounds good. I'd grab another quick test to see if he may still be heading down from a bounce break.

When you think shot time may be in the middle of a bounce break, it helps to catch a +11 to see where he's going
He’s at 226 now a half hour after breakfast. I will heavily monitor him today to see how the 3 units is working.
 
Sounds good. I'd grab another quick test to see if he may still be heading down from a bounce break.

When you think shot time may be in the middle of a bounce break, it helps to catch a +11 to see where he's going
Looks like 3 units is working out pretty well so far today. He’s eating now at 75 BG, so seems like he’s feeding his own curve again today.
 
If we’re in the blues again at pmps do you think I should stick with the 3 units? (Agree, hopefully not jinxing it!)
Yes I would stick with 3. Technically on MPM you don't reduce until they go below 50, so there's still some wiggle room.
 
Yes I would stick with 3. Technically on MPM you don't reduce until they go below 50, so there's still some wiggle room.
We’re at 125 right now. 10 minutes until pm shot time. He’s really giving me baptism by fire with these blues all of a sudden.
 
Good job shooting the full dose! It's nerve wracking the first few times.

If you see this in time, try to grab a +11/11.5 so you can see if he's falling...he may break the bounce coming into the AM shot. I probably won't be around, you can always post again asking for help.

As long as he doesn't have too much downward momentum I'd try to do full shot and stay on schedule if you can. But if he's dropping pretty good, see if you can stall until he flattens out a bit without getting too off schedule.

What you want to avoid is adding to that downward momentum, seeing as he's been having nadirs in the 60s/70s. If he's breaking a bounce at shot time and keeps dropping, then the insulin onsets, it can be a double whammy. As always hard to predict :rolleyes:
 
Good job shooting the full dose! It's nerve wracking the first few times.

If you see this in time, try to grab a +11/11.5 so you can see if he's falling...he may break the bounce coming into the AM shot. I probably won't be around, you can always post again asking for help.

As long as he doesn't have too much downward momentum I'd try to do full shot and stay on schedule if you can. But if he's dropping pretty good, see if you can stall until he flattens out a bit without getting too off schedule.

What you want to avoid is adding to that downward momentum, seeing as he's been having nadirs in the 60s/70s. If he's breaking a bounce at shot time and keeps dropping, then the insulin onsets, it can be a double whammy. As always hard to predict :rolleyes:
We’re at 167 for pmps today…he was at 172 at +11, so down slightly from then but mostly flat? He hasn’t had a noticeable nadir today. I’m thinking I will test again in 15 to make sure he’s going up or still flat.
 
We’re at 167 for pmps today…he was at 172 at +11, so down slightly from then but mostly flat? He hasn’t had a noticeable nadir today. I’m thinking I will test again in 15 to make sure he’s going up or still flat.
Accounting for meter variance, that's flat. Another test certainly doesn't hurt.

If he ate in that mid part of the cycle that may have kept him flat without much of a nadir...you may also be seeing a bit of longer duration right now. With any luck this is him settling into the dose instead of bouncing so much
 
Accounting for meter variance, that's flat. Another test certainly doesn't hurt.

If he ate in that mid part of the cycle that may have kept him flat without much of a nadir...you may also be seeing a bit of longer duration right now. With any luck this is him settling into the dose instead of bouncing so much
Ok sounds good. I figured that was about as flat as possible but just wanted to make sure. He was at 162 after stalling so still very close to those numbers. I think I’ll go ahead and give him the 3 now.
 
Just peeking in, looks good so far!

Cam you do me a favor and:
- Start a new thread at AMPS if needed, with a title of "6/10 George ProZinc AMPS <BG here>". If you need help, put HELP STALLING at the front.
- Edit the title of this one to say "6/7-6/10 George ProZinc"

We're getting an influx of users and it's getting a little hard to prioritize who needs help and in what order, as well as the insulin they're on.
 
Just peeking in, looks good so far!

Cam you do me a favor and:
- Start a new thread at AMPS if needed, with a title of "6/10 George ProZinc AMPS <BG here>". If you need help, put HELP STALLING at the front.
- Edit the title of this one to say "6/7-6/10 George ProZinc"

We're getting an influx of users and it's getting a little hard to prioritize who needs help and in what order, as well as the insulin they're on.
I updated all of my titles…I didn’t know how to do that before!

George seemed to have a good night last night staying in the blues and greens all night without dipping too low. I tried to get a +7 too but he was up eating his Friskies and wasn’t having it…I assume that was his nadir since he’s been so good about eating at his nadir. We have a nice AMPS of 137 today so I’ll continue to monitor…I’ve had my hypo kit out on the counter for three days just in case haha. I’ll start a new thread if anything comes up later today :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top