6/7/22 - Kaz - Feeding Schedule/ BG is All Over

Status
Not open for further replies.
Are you planning on starting the vacation dose tomorrow? I’d go with 2.0 and see if that gets the right range. It will give us time to see if an adjustment is needed. See what the consensus is on that.
 
Are you planning on starting the vacation dose tomorrow? I’d go with 2.0 and see if that gets the right range. It will give us time to see if an adjustment is needed. See what the consensus is on that.

I'm planning on starting it once Bron told me what I should be going with.

Yutong will be coming tomorrow evening to administer her first dose and I wanted her to draw the dose too and it would be much easier for round numbers.
As long as 2 is in the safe zone. Not hugely different to what I am giving him now.
Kaz's numbers have started dropping again. It's the reason why I am not currently sleeping I need to test him again in half hour to make sure he has not dropped too low as that's when the insulin peaks.
 
That’s not too low. He has not dropped under 50. With a reduction 2.0 which he hasn’t earned he must likely won’t go as low as he is now. If he does then you will lower to 1.75. You gave 5 days to see.
 
Hi Claire,
I have spoken to a group of experienced people about Kaz and we think that 2 units is a good vacation dose.
If you start the new dose at the next shot, we will be able to see before you go if it is a good dose.

Please keep posting every day and telling us how it is going so we can monitor the SS before you go. Remember if the BG drops below 50 you must reduce the dose immediately as per the TR dosing method.

I would start feeding him now with the food you are intending to give him while you are away so that the conditions will be the same.
As @tiffmaxee said, if we find the 2 units drops the BG too low, we can reduce the dose to 1.75 units.
  • Make sure you have the sample syringe ready with the 2 unit dose in it for Youlang to look at and compare with the dose she draws up each time.
  • I think it might be an idea to also have a sample syringe with 1.75 units in it just in case the dose needs to be dropped, but I would keep that syringe away somewhere else until and if it is needed. Also mark that one clearly that it is a sample syringe with the dose and not to be used.
  • Clues that Kaz might be nauseated include sniffing and walking away from the food, smacking his lips, and not wanting to eat. I would write that down for Youlang and Laurie and tell them the dose and how often the cerenia can be given of he is showing these signs.
  • Check daily for ketones until you leave please and put results into the remarks column of the SS thanks!
 
Last edited:
Hi Bron

I have switched to the 2 units this morning. Kaz does not care for most of the foods in the 5-6% range as they are mostly fish based. I made him eat one this morning but he definitely did not want it and he will never do it for this girl. This means I have to stay in the 3-4% for all pre meals this way I know Kaz will eat. This is a 100% higher than he has been getting as all pre meals have been Tiki with very minimal exceptions. It is much easier to feed the cats the same food at the two main meal times. If Kaz gets something different he gets upset and tries to eat Sam's food as he want the Tiki. However the food in the 3-4% he actually likes so I don't think there will be an issue .
So based on my cat and knowing what he will eat I am going to use the following eating schedule for each meal.

Hoping that we don't need to go to a 3/4 dose or a 1/4 dose on the insulin as this is much harder to draw on the syringe. Round numbers or .5 numbers are the easiest.
As you can see Kaz bounced this morning and I would guess that 6% food is not going to help these numbers.

It's early here and I've been up with Kaz on and off as worried about number so going back to bed for a couple hours.


upload_2022-6-11_6-6-24.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-6-11_6-6-24.png
    upload_2022-6-11_6-6-24.png
    8.7 KB · Views: 285
This means I have to stay in the 3-4% for all pre meals this way I know Kaz will eat.
Ok. It’s better to give him a food you know he will eat..

So based on my cat and knowing what he will eat I am going to use the following eating schedule for each meal.
Ok that looks good. If you can feed that schedule these next 5 days we can see how he goes.

Hoping that we don't need to go to a 3/4 dose or a 1/4 dose on the insulin as this is much harder to draw on the syringe. Round numbers or .5 numbers are the easiest.
I hope we don’t have to change the dose either but if we do we don’t want to reduce it too far as we have to think about ketones as well.
I would tell Yutong that if the BG drops there could be a change of dose so that she is prepared.

Remember to test for ketones daily before you go please so we can see how they go.
It sounds as if you are pretty organised with everything Claire. Well done!
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Suzanne & Darcy
@tiffmaxee


I HAVE WHAT MAY BE A REALLY STUPID QUESTION.


I have been using the Monoject needles which i got from vet (really expensive) So after speaking with the pharmacist at Chewy I received the red ones to the right.
Now this may sound stupid but it looks like the liquid quantity is different between the two?
So my really stupid question is 2 units on both these needles the same quantity of liquid????
I was going to have the girl use the red needles tonight but something tells me that they are not the same hoping I'M WRONG



upload_2022-6-11_17-58-52.png
upload_2022-6-11_17-59-21.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-6-11_17-58-52.png
    upload_2022-6-11_17-58-52.png
    189.4 KB · Views: 411
  • upload_2022-6-11_17-59-21.png
    upload_2022-6-11_17-59-21.png
    275.6 KB · Views: 396
Elise is correct Claire. Those red syringes are definitely not the correct ones. They are for a different insulin and will give a bigger dose when drawn up to the same level. I am very surprised that a pharmacist would make that mistake. Well spotted!
 
I am so glad you asked. No question is stupid. Those are not the right syringes. You need U100. You need to return those.
Sadly syringes can not be returned I guess I will have to stick wit the vets which are nearly $50 a box but at least I know I am getting the right syringe.
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Suzanne & Darcy
@tiffmaxee


I HAVE WHAT MAY BE A REALLY STUPID QUESTION.


I have been using the Monoject needles which i got from vet (really expensive) So after speaking with the pharmacist at Chewy I received the red ones to the right.
Now this may sound stupid but it looks like the liquid quantity is different between the two?
So my really stupid question is 2 units on both these needles the same quantity of liquid????
I was going to have the girl use the red needles tonight but something tells me that they are not the same hoping I'M WRONG



View attachment 64496 View attachment 64497
What the heck? U40 syringes are the wrong ones for Kaz’s insulin.
 
Sadly syringes can not be returned I guess I will have to stick wit the vets which are nearly $50 a box but at least I know I am getting the right syringe.
For now yez. You will have to use the vet’s expensive syringes as long as they are U-100. In the future, I recommend ordering from ADW Diabetes Supply.
 
For now yez. You will have to use the vet’s expensive syringes as long as they are U-100. In the future, I recommend ordering from ADW Diabetes Supply.
I'm on hold with chewy would the one above be the correct ones??

upload_2022-6-11_19-10-42.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-6-11_19-10-42.png
    upload_2022-6-11_19-10-42.png
    91.1 KB · Views: 372
They are correct for Lantus insulin but if they don’t have Half unit markings then your pet sitter will have to eyeball it.
 
Yes. Good. A nice slim needle. I used that gauge. Small. Nice for cat.
Thanks I'm going to order box from Chewy then if I don't have them by Wednesday I can pick up a box of the expensive ones there.
Sadly I have to wait for the
Those dimensions are the same exact ones that I sent in my photo. The needle is long enough but not too long. Slim gauge and it’s U 100 and has half unit markings. It’s all good as far as I can tell.


Thanks everyone for the quick responses. I can only thank the sky's that I had the sense to check these before I left.
I hate to think what could have happened if I had left and she had injected with these needles.
Just told Chewy that their pharmacist should not be offering advice if they do not know what they are doing. I literally read the current prescription to them over the phone and asked if U-40 was the same as I was confused. I was told that it meant that one syringe could simply hold more liquid than the other but the doses were the same. She could have killed my cat if I had not checked.
Bit upset about the whole thing.
 
Just told Chewy that their pharmacist should not be offering advice if they do not know what they are doing. I literally read the current prescription to them over the phone and asked if U-40 was the same as I was confused. I was told that it meant that one syringe could simply hold more liquid than the other but the doses were the same. She could have killed my cat if I had not checked.
Bit upset about the whole thing.
Claire you are quite correct.
They gave you the wrong syringes. The U40 syringes are for a different insulin. They are wrong on saying the doses are the same. 2 units on the U 40 syringes have 2 1/2 times the amount of insulin as if it was drawn up to the 2 unit mark on the U 100 syringe when using Lantus.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top