6.6 Trouble PMPS 66

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carrie & Trouble

Active Member
I'm going to watch close to see if we hit the 40s. I get so nervous shooting at such a low number. He is eating good as usual though!
 
Please get a +1 and a +2 so you have some sense of whether numbers are dropping.

Do you have HC and extra strips in the house should you need them?
 
I have HC dry which Trouble loves, but if he won't eat it I will put Karo on his regular wet. I just bought more strips yesterday.
 
Please pick up some canned HC food. The Fancy Feast grilled and marinated varieties are over 15% carb (but check on Janet & Binky's list to make sure).

Dry food does not raise BG levels quickly nor is it out of a cat's system quickly. When you need to steer numbers immediately, HC canned food if infinitely better. Is there any way you or someone can pick some canned food up for you this evening? I don't know if you're going to need it tonight but you are going to need it soon.
 
My husband has just taken our car out to buy a new battery for our SUV. Hopefully, he will not be out long and I will send him for the HC wet. Are there any people food alternatives I might have in the house? Bread, chips, cooked noodles...
His numbers would go low when I am stranded home w/o a car! We'll see here in another 20 minutes.
 
I would get a +2. We would normally expect +1 to be a little higher than PS. Since it's not, we'll want to see if +2 is dropping or rising.
 
Carrie & Trouble said:
Are there any people food alternatives I might have in the house? Bread, chips, cooked noodles...
Does Trouble like HC people food? There are a couple of LL kitties who have been known to steal bagels, cupcakes, cookies, etc.

I tend to think that the foods you mentioned would not be appreciably different than dry food. Putting a few drops of Karo or other syrup into LC food will work to bump up BG. The hard part with using Karo is that you don't know how much or how little to add. It also wears off fairly quickly but, it does the job. So you're good to go with having it in the house as a back up to HC food.
 
+2 = 58

Looking steady so far! Let's hope for no sudden drops.

He's outside "bird hunting" and getting quite irritated with me!
 
He is munching as we speak. I feel like I can't leave the house anymore since Trouble has been in the 50s. I just get too nervous.
 
Hi

Max's nadir is at about +4 to +5, so it's neither good or bad, ECID (every cat is different), some cats only peak at +8. You need to try and run a proper curve when you can. Test him every 2 hours for a whole day, morning and evening. That will be your best indicator as to when he really peaks, sometimes they can even peak at one time in the AM and at a later/earlier time in the evening. He seemed to handle the low shot number just fine, and feeding him a bit was great. He surfed it nicely, but at 2.5units you need to be ready with data for when you start to decrease the dose
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top