Kathy and TiTi
Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-4-titi-6-411-amps-449-7-618-pmps-682-8-672.15
She's dropped 250 points since early morning
She's dropped 250 points since early morning
RATS!
I just fed her
Numbers in the 70s are OK. The issue is whether her numbers are still dropping and/or whether it's safe to shoot. By feeding, numbers usually rise so it's harder to know whether it's safe to give insulin.
I'd still re-test in 20 - 30 min.
Also, what was the issue with the coding on your meter? Does the manual say what the effect on TiTi's numbers would be if the coding was wrong? If it doesn't, you may want to call the manufacturer and find out.
That's on the AT2.Numbers in the 70s are OK. The issue is whether her numbers are still dropping and/or whether it's safe to shoot. By feeding, numbers usually rise so it's harder to know whether it's safe to give insulin.
IT should be in the notes I put on my SS. I was testing, while my meter was incorrectly coded at 8; the true coding on the strips was supposed to be 38.
I changed it to 38, which is why you see the note, and the 2 listings for 6/5.
My meter was set up by a vet tech, who was misinformed about the coding for Alphatrak2 .
Harvey advised me that the differences in the 2 codes were not great.
That's on the AT2.
Kathy...I agree you might want to stall if you can be behind on the shot a bit and gradually work back to it each day. Test every 30 mins and when you see a rise, post to see if it's enough to be able to shoot. Try not to feed her anymore until we see if you can shoot sometime in the two hours after her normal shot time.
I indicated yesterday that the difference between my AT2 and the reading the vet tech got on theirs with the wrong code was not that different but meters vary. That was a singular observation so I wouldn't extrapolate that to every situation and I should have mentioned that.
Also....sometime later today, could you please update the SS so we know the units you are shooting? Thank you.![]()
That's on the AT2.
Kathy...I agree you might want to stall if you can be behind on the shot a bit and gradually work back to it each day. Test every 30 mins and when you see a rise, post to see if it's enough to be able to shoot. Try not to feed her anymore until we see if you can shoot sometime in the two hours after her normal shot time.
I indicated yesterday that the difference between my AT2 and the reading the vet tech got on theirs with the wrong code was not that different but meters vary. That was a singular observation so I wouldn't extrapolate that to every situation and I should have mentioned that.
Also....sometime later today, could you please update the SS so we know the units you are shooting? Thank you.![]()
Ok. well I got this too late. She got her normal dose at noon, 15.5. after testing at BG 164
Now how do I calibrate getting her back to her normal AMPS and PMPS times?
You are doing a good job of getting most of it but, no, we don’t necessarily have to wait six cycles. As Sienne said, she has a very large depot and you might not even see much of a change from a shot that was three hours late or, if you do, it will likely be in a subsequent cycle. To tell you the truth, with my Gracie, if I shot late...even two hours, she never skipped a beat.So finally she's in low number, and it might not be a bounce, . However, 3 hours late counts as a dose reduction, right? so her numbers will rise, either from a bounce, or from a lowering of the dose, or both. Right? and so now we wait 6 cycles (3 days) more , before we can tell what's up? Have I got that right?
You are doing a good job of getting most of it but, no, we don’t necessarily have to wait six cycles. As Sienne said, she has a very large depot and you might not even see much of a change from a shot that was three hours late or, if you do, it will likely be in a subsequent cycle. To tell you the truth, with my Gracie, if I shot late...even two hours, she never skipped a beat.
Because you are still feeding dry food, then you would be following the SLGS approach. Under this approach, a 90 on a human meter earns a reduction. Human meters read lower than the AT2 so, theoretically, with a 73 on an AT, you should reduce the dose. Normally with a larger depot like this, we reduce the dose by more than 0.25u so you might see a normal reduction for this high of a dose being 0.5u or down to 15u for TiTi.
If you like, I can do the SS for you to illustrate how we would do the delayed shot. Please just let me know.
Actually I increased from 13Units to 15.5 units. So I don't think I am on the slow thing. Another problem is that my syringe has only whole units, It's simple to do a half unit reduction, but not possible to do a .25 or 1/4 reduction.
Someone, was it you? suggested that I shoot 1 hour early, and then 1/4 hour earlier for each shot, until I am back on my regular schedule. Is that correct? And if it is, then do I also do the reduction?
Wait a minute. I will be on the alphatrak2 for 2 more days, then switching to a human meter. I think some of this latest instruction from you involves re-calibrating for a human meter. Is that so?
There are a couple different things going on which might be confusing. First, there is the appearance that she is high dose so it doesn’t make sense to keep raising her by 0.25u and that’s why we suggested you increase such a large amount. That is separate from how long you hold doses.
If she is still eating any dry food at all, you should be using SLGS regarding reductions and also the length of time for which you hold doses. So each dose should be held for seven days and a curve done afterwards unless she earns a reduction. Reductions are earned under SLGS whenever kitty drops below 90 on a human meter. We do not have any BG parameters for SLGS and pet meters so that is another selling point for you to switch to a human meter besides it being a lot more cost efficient.
I suggested you shoot one hour early if she was higher by +11 tonight. Sienne then suggested that you shoot 15 minutes early each cycle thereafter until you are back on schedule. However, you can also shoot 30 mins early one cycle a day but if you do this, do not do it the same day you shoot an hour early.
There is really no reason to stay on the AT2 any longer. My recommendation on the dose reduction is because she dropped lower than the equivalent of 90 on a human meter and you should be doing SLGS. The amount I suggested you reduce is due to the size of the depot and has nothing to do with type of meter.
I’m not sure if anyone let you know that Walmart has the ReliOn brand of syringes quite inexpensive and they have 0.5unit markings which make dosing easier. Or, you can keep the ones you have and dose more consistently with calipers.
You said you shot at noon today and midnight tonight so that is still 12 hours. You could have shot at 11 p.m. The cycles are 12 hours each. Tomorrow morning, if she is still high, you could shoot at 11 a.m. and if she has dropped back down, you would shoot at 11:45 if you want to shoot 15 mins early each cycle or 11:30 if you want to shoot early once a day.
I'm from Texas so I realize how far some things areThe "Hill Country" encompasses a large area including an area near San Antonio and also Austin so I didn't know if you were near one of the cities.
You'll get used to the Bayer; after I had been using a meter like that for a long time, it was odd to use the AT. It's just what we get used to. But you don't really have to hold the Bayer upside down. Just let it sip from the bottom of the blood drop. In other words, if you hold the meter in your hand so the strip is at the top, then continue to hold it like that to sip from the drop of blood.
I certainly share your concern for leaving her at high numbers but the requisite for doing the TR protocol includes that she must be entirely on a low carb canned or raw food.....no dry food. It is a safety factor built into the TR protocol, which is a more aggressive method. If you remove the dry food and ensure she can't get it, you'd be able to do TR.
There are a couple different things going on which might be confusing. First, there is the appearance that she is high dose so it doesn’t make sense to keep raising her by 0.25u and that’s why we suggested you increase such a large amount. That is separate from how long you hold doses.
If she is still eating any dry food at all, you should be using SLGS regarding reductions and also the length of time for which you hold doses. So each dose should be held for seven days and a curve done afterwards unless she earns a reduction. Reductions are earned under SLGS whenever kitty drops below 90 on a human meter. We do not have any BG parameters for SLGS and pet meters so that is another selling point for you to switch to a human meter besides it being a lot more cost efficient.
I suggested you shoot one hour early if she was higher by +11 tonight. Sienne then suggested that you shoot 15 minutes early each cycle thereafter until you are back on schedule. However, you can also shoot 30 mins early one cycle a day but if you do this, do not do it the same day you shoot an hour early.
There is really no reason to stay on the AT2 any longer. My recommendation on the dose reduction is because she dropped lower than the equivalent of 90 on a human meter and you should be doing SLGS. The amount I suggested you reduce is due to the size of the depot and has nothing to do with type of meter.
I’m not sure if anyone let you know that Walmart has the ReliOn brand of syringes quite inexpensive and they have 0.5unit markings which make dosing easier. Or, you can keep the ones you have and dose more consistently with calipers.
I feel your sense of urgency, but you don't want to throw safety out just because she's been diabetic for 2 years. I didn't realize that she was actually eating dry food. I thought that I'd read earlier that the "dried food" in your signature line was freeze dried meats, not regular cat food. The thing is that following the Tight Reg Protocol requires that the cat is only eating raw or low carb canned food.
REQUISITES WHEN FOLLOWING A TIGHT REGULATION PROTOCOL WITH LANTUS OR LEVEMIR:Ah, and I see Marje just posted saying the same thing.
- Kitty should be monitored closely the first three days when starting Lantus or Levemir.
Blood glucose levels should at least be checked at pre-shot, +3, +6, and +9.
More monitoring may be needed.- It will be necessary to test kitty's blood glucose levels multiple times per day.
- Learn the signs of and how to treat HYPOGLYCEMIA and prepare a HYPO TOOLBOX.
- Test regularly for ketones and know about DIABETIC KETOACIDOSIS (DKA).
- Use U-100 3/10cc syringes with half units marked on the barrel for fine dosing.
- Feed a high quality low carb canned or raw food diet.
- Feed small meals throughout the day. Although, some kitties will adapt well to free feeding.
Some people switch all of their cats to low carb canned so the diabetic cat in the house can't get to dry food. We had one cat, Scooter, who wasn't fed dry food, but the other 12 cats in the house were fed crunchies up on top of high tables. He couldn't get up there. But when the dry food left the house entirely and all the cats were switched to low carb canned, Scooter went from 5.5u per shot to off of insulin in 1.5 very long days. Dry food, even snitched from a mate's floor crumbs, can really raise blood sugar and keep it there.
That would be a place I'd start with for getting control of TiTi's blood sugar.
Why are we now going down on the insulin? Is the assumption that she could not possibly need more than 15.5 insulin? Therefore, we go downward seeking her best dose? Is there something I'm not understanding?
I was just going on your post #9 above where you stated:Oh, no, no . I shot AMPS at 1pm today, so I stepped back to midnight for PMPS
Ok. well I got this too late. She got her normal dose at noon, 15.5. after testing at BG 164