6/6 Tessie Lou PMPS 95 +.5/103 +1.5/111 +5/116

Status
Not open for further replies.

tessielou

Member Since 2010
Here is what happened last night:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=44852

Today:
AMPS: 225
+5/103

PMPS: 95

I think I should wait 15 minutes and try again to see if it comes up (I fed her the usual meal after testing). Would that be the right thing to do?

I sure could use some advice about now!
Standing by....
 
Re: 6/6 Tessie Lou PMPS 95 - Help Please!

when you're stalling to decide if the number is rising or not, you want to hold off feeding - just for future reference. i've done the same thing!

i think someone more experienced than me will be by . . . so i'll just bump you up.
 
Re: 6/6 Tessie Lou PMPS 95 - Help Please!

the directions for how to handle a low-pre-shot number is in my sig line, sandy. take a look at that and you might be able to decide what to do.
 
Re: 6/6 Tessie Lou PMPS 95 - Help Please!

Kitty on a mission. How about stalling for a bit and see if numbers are coming up. You shot 122 last night. If Tessie is at 100, how about shooting?
 
Re: 6/6 Tessie Lou PMPS 95 - Help Please!

Hi Julie,
Oh no, I messed that up I guess. I'm going to reshoot in about 5 minutes and see where she's at. The PMPS was 122 last night, so I shot the full dose, and she never did come down any lower. If it comes up to 120 or so, I guess I'll shoot the full dose again. I just don't know what is happening with her.

Edit: Hi Sienne, our posts must have crossed. Yes, I'll post her number in 5 minutes. If it's 100 or higher, I'll shoot the full dose. Thanks!
 
Re: 6/6 Tessie Lou PMPS 95 - Help Please!

Hi again,
Well, she was 103 at +.5, so I shot full dose. I've got 26 strips left. Better reorder tonight the way things are going!
 
Re: 6/6 Tessie Lou PMPS 95 - Help Please!

Nice shooting!! Please get a +1 and +2.

Reorder with next day delivery or pay the totally outrageous over the counter price at a pharmacy.
 
Re: 6/6 Tessie Lou PMPS 95 - Help Please!

Yep, the strips at Walgreens are high, but it's only 5 minutes away. Hocks used to be a bargain, but since it was sold, the price has gone up twice!
I use the One Touch Ultra meter.

Sienne, what's your take on Tessie's numbers through the night last night?
 
Re: 6/6 Tessie Lou PMPS 95 - Help Please!

I hate buying strips at Walgreens. I pay 3 times as much. I bought strips on Amazon and they disappeared in the mail. So much for that seller.

I think last night was a very pretty blue cycle! It seems like Tessie is doing that a lot. Are you home during the day? I'm wondering if Tessie was lower than what you caught this afternoon.

What are you feeding and when are you feeding? I saw your note about weight loss. You may want to look at the fat content of whatever it is you're feeding.
 
Re: 6/6 Tessie Lou PMPS 95 - Help Please!

Nice shooting! and very nice numbers for Tessie Lou. :-D :-D I would get a +1, and a +2 also.

So agreed on the pricing at hocks. have you tried amercian diabetes wholesale? not too bad... nice though that your pharmacy is close. I too cringe at paying their prices... i had a chuckle - i panic when i'm down to my last 3 test strip bottles... :-D
 
Re: 6/6 Tessie Lou PMPS 95 - Help Please!

I feed her strictly Merrick's canned--the Cowboy Cookout, Grammy's Pot Pie, Surf & Turf, and Southern Delight. I would have to go back and check on the fat content, but I think it's pretty low. I know Wellness is high. I made that mistake when she had the pancreatitis attack. I did just realize that she has been getting 2 Pill Pockets a day for the past 6 days, because she is on Amoxycillin and I also give her Pepcid AC daily. So, possibly that and the few extra treats with all the extra pokes lately? It just blows my mind that she has gone from 11 oz a day to 7.5 oz and still can't take any weight off. Of course, she does absolutely NO activities, other than walking from livingroom to kitchen and back for meals! :lol: Oh, and out the livingroom window to get to the porch twice a day.

I'll check her now and post in a minute...
 
Re: 6/6 Tessie Lou PMPS 95 - Help Please!

Michelle and Mannie said:
Nice shooting! and very nice numbers for Tessie Lou. :-D :-D I would get a +1, and a +2 also.

So agreed on the pricing at hocks. have you tried amercian diabetes wholesale? not too bad... nice though that your pharmacy is close. I too cringe at paying their prices... i had a chuckle - i panic when i'm down to my last 3 test strip bottles... :-D

Hi Michelle,
I'll check out their price and see how it compares to americandiabetic.com, where I just ordered. They were $37.50 for a bottle of 50, with free shipping.
That's funny about your panicking at 3 bottles! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 6/6 Tessie Lou PMPS 95 - Help Please!

I just looked at American Diabetes Wholesale...even with Hock's price increases, ABW was a lot more expensive for the One Touch Ultra strips, and they had a $100 minimum for free shipping.

Good to know about AmericanDiabetic.com.

Nice shootin' with Miss Tessie Lou tonight! BTW, I just love her avatar...it's such a sweet little portrait!
 
Re: 6/6 Tessie Lou PMPS 95 +.5/103 +1.5/111

Back again...she's going up slowly I think.

Trixie's Mom, thank you for the compliment about Tessie Lou's avatar. :-D She is a very sweet girl, and she communicates with her eyes, which is what made me fall in love with her at the animal shelter.

Sienne, forgot to answer your question about earlier today. DH and I went to a movie, so I checked her at +5 just before we left. I wonder, too, if she had an earlier nadar than +5 and went lower. Usually, I am home during the day, luckily. Oh, and as far as her feeding times, I feed her 6 times a day: 8am, noon, 4pm & 8pm are 1.5 oz; then a 1.0 oz snack at midnight, and a .5 snack in her feeder at 4am. Once, I tried to stop her 4am snack to cut calories, and her AMPS went up to the 300s immediately. When I resumed the snack, she went right back down to the 200s. I think my only hope is to get her outside for walks. I have a leash now, just need the right weather...
 
Re: 6/6 Tessie Lou PMPS 95 +.5/103 +1.5/111

Hi guys - interesting on ADW - I don't use the strips you do, use maxima, and for them ADW is cheaper. I guess one really has to shop around to get the best pricing. Good luck! oh, and yes on the minimum order needs to be $100.00 for their free shipping - that is true. I guess when you are a test-a-holic, like me, you are usually meeting the shipping reqs. :lol: :lol:

Good luck tonight - looks like Tessie Lou will have a great cycle.
 
Re: 6/6 Tessie Lou PMPS 95 +.5/103 +1.5/111

Thanks Michelle! You have a good evening. I hope to visit your condo and see what's new in Mannie's world, too! We had such a busy weekend with house painting, I've missed the LL news, and things change pretty quickly around here, don't they? The condos are habit forming, for sure! :-D
 
Re: 6/6 Tessie Lou PMPS 95 +.5/103 +1.5/111

Nice shooting Sandy!!!! Bet that gave your heart a stop for a minute!!!

I use the One Touch Ultra Mini and always buy my strips on ebay. I only buy from the highest rated sellers. I usually get them for about $25/box and most of the good sellers offer free shipping. I've always received them within a couple days.
 
Re: 6/6 Tessie Lou PMPS 95 +.5/103 +1.5/111

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Nice shooting Sandy!!!! Bet that gave your heart a stop for a minute!!!

I use the One Touch Ultra Mini and always buy my strips on ebay. I only buy from the highest rated sellers. I usually get them for about $25/box and most of the good sellers offer free shipping. I've always received them within a couple days.

Hi Marje! You better believe it did! :lol: I was fairly sure the night dose wouldn't do much though--it never does. I see other kitties go diving at night, but it doesn't work that way on Tessie Lou. Which is kinda nice, cause I do rather like my sleep! Still and all, something is changing in her little body lately. It's weird cause of the recent growth on her tummy, and you would just not expect numbers to drop if there is an infection or that "c" word. Time will tell, huh?

Interesting on the test strips. I would have never thought of ebay, and that is a great price! I just paid $37.50 on americandiabetic.com with free shipping. But are the boxes sealed when you get them? I would worry slightly about tampering.
 
Re: 6/6 Tessie Lou PMPS 95 +.5/103 +1.5/111

I buy my strips on ebay also. I just received my second order of 300 strips (6 boxes of 50). I spent $100 each time which works out to $16 a box. I use the Accu-Chek Aviva and those strips are EXPENSIVE. They cost $56 for a box of 50 at Walmart which is CRAZY!! The boxes from the ebay sellers are always factory sealed and they tell you the expiration dates before you buy them. The sellers are usually diabetics who get their strips through Liberty home delivery and they get way more than they need so they sell their extra strips. Just like Marje, I only buy from sellers who have a 100% rating. I've been buying stuff on ebay for years and have never been cheated!! Kind of amazing in this day and age!
 
Re: 6/6 Tessie Lou PMPS 95 +.5/103 +1.5/111

Ok, I'm sold on ebay! Too late for this time cause I already ordered, but next month, I'll be there. Thanks for the tip, guys!
 
Well, this old bean is badly needing some zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzs so I'm off to bed. I can't wait to see what my girl's amps will be!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top