6/6 Rory +9 106 +10 144 +11 142 pm148

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/6 Rory am292 +2 257 +4 117 +5 94 +6 77 +7 79

OK Im hitting greens but need to know if its safe to leave him for a couple hours I am suppose to go out and I am already late
 
Re: 6/6 Rory am292 +2 257 +4 117 +5 94 +6 77 +7 79

He seems to be surfing some beautiful numbers now! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Well done you two. :-D

Feed him just a little bit of his regular food. We don't want him eating too late in the cycle, but a couple tsp will help him keep surfing there while you are gone.
 
Re: 6/6 Rory am292 +2 257 +4 117 +5 94 +6 77 +7 79

Nice greens, Rory! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: It looks like he's at nadir. Maybe feed him a tablespoon of LC before you go. Great job, Var-ee! :-D :-D
Liz
 
Re: 6/6 Rory am292 +2 257 +4 117 +5 94 +6 77 +7 79

ya he is eating OK today I did give him some tuna because I made it for myself and it seemed the thing he wanted.. I do water it down
he wont eat any carb food so Im stuck there.. it just makes him ill.. I did put a tiny amount on honey on my finger and on his lip.. he wasnt impressed, I tried to put it in a tiny amount in his food and he wouldnt eat it.. so looks like it will be put on his gums when the time is needed
 
Re: 6/6 Rory am292 +2 257 +4 117 +5 94 +6 77 +7 79

He doesn't need high carb at this point. Those 70's are great numbers.

Try to see if you can pick up a medium carb food next time you hit the pet food store. That might be easier. Some people have resorted to syringing syrup if needed. Might be safer than sticking fingers in near his teeth.
 
Re: 6/6 Rory +4 117 +5 94 +6 77 +7 79 +10 106

Something between 8-12% carbs would be a good medium carb food. I use Wellness Chicken and Lobster.
 
Re: 6/6 Rory +4 117 +5 94 +6 77 +7 79 +10 106

Im half an hour late giving Rory his shot and he is still surfing :(
now what?? I just fed him
 
Re: 6/6 Rory +9 106 +10 144 +11 142 pm148 dose help needed

I cant be around all night.. I dont want to shoot.. its not going to work
 
Re: 6/6 Rory +9 106 +10 144 +11 142 pm148 dose help needed

You should be fine to shoot -- Rory is surfing.

If you're not sure whether or not to shoot, for the future, don't feed. If you have to stall, you don't want your re-tests to be influenced by food.
 
Re: 6/6 Rory +9 106 +10 144 +11 142 pm148 dose help needed

his n umbers are already influenced by food though.. my mom fed himat least 1.5 hours ago then I fed him 20 mins ago hoping to shoot but he is not going up and I go through this every night.. I end up more than an hour late to shoot then the next morning comes and its the same.. the waiting game again
...frusterated
 
Re: 6/6 Rory +9 106 +10 144 +11 142 pm148 dose help needed

It is frustrating, I know how you feel. :-x If you skip the shot tonight, then you can shoot at any time in the morning.
Liz
 
Re: 6/6 Rory +9 106 +10 144 +11 142 pm148 dose help needed

maybe I will shoot him at 3am that way I will be OK to give him an evening shot by 5pm.. seems to be the way..
 
Re: 6/6 Rory +9 106 +10 144 +11 142 pm148 dose help needed

If you shoot at 3 AM, your next shot will be at 3 PM. If you stall until 5 PM, then your AM shot will be at 5:00. If you are constantly having to stall, we may want to think about reducing the dose so you can shoot in 12-hour intervals.

Also, you do not want to feed 2 hours prior to shot time. The food can influence your pre-shot number if you are feeding between +10 and your pre-shot test.
 
Re: 6/6 Rory +9 106 +10 144 +11 142 pm148 dose help needed

thats what I tried to do and I keep getting told to increase.. I have to stall at least 1-3 hours every time or skip entirely!!
 
Re: 6/6 Rory +9 106 +10 144 +11 142 pm148 dose help needed

It would be helpful if you could note how much your stalling on your SS. Without going back though all of your condos, the only way to have that information is on the SS. When you put the actual time on your SS, there's no way to know how many minutes/hours late your shot is. If you put it in +time, we'll be able to tell how long the delay is. Alternatively, if you routinely note all of your shot times, we can tell if you're shooting late

Frankly, your PMPS was fine to shoot. There really wasn't a need to stall or skip tonight. Most of the times when you're skipping or stalling, you would have been OK to shoot. If I can ask, are you really nervous about shooting below 150?
 
Re: 6/6 Rory +9 106 +10 144 +11 142 pm148 dose help needed

I have to agree with Sienne. Rory is actually looking great on this dose and if you are able to shoot on time I stead of stalling/skipping, he might really be giving you some gorgeous cycles with less bouncing.

It's our goal to help you shoot lower gradually. But, as Sienne said, if you are not able to shoot consistently, then you might want to decrease. His numbers will likely climb back up but hard to say whether he will just stay in blue or increase over that.

But you must think of your own heslth and responsibilities, too.
 
Re: 6/6 Rory +9 106 +10 144 +11 142 pm148 dose help needed

I cant stay awake all night to check Rory anymore.. I am not getting sleep myself because he goes green very wee hours of the morning or late at night..and that makes me stay in bed too long the next day... I am not in the greatest health myself so its hard on me too.. I love Rory and want whats best for him but sometimes he continues to go lower even after I skip dosing him, however he always ends up in pink when I do a check at next dose time, I am not really scared to shoot at 150 but I am scared to shoot him at this dose at 150 because he wont eat carb food... at all.. he just WONT eat it.. it makes him sick and constipated for ages... doing unusual things like pooping in the hallway .. he NEVER did that before
also when Rory is low it isnt always about not giving him a dose.. he wont eat.. he wont eat all day and night. I wont give insulin if I cant get any food in him.. I do if I can get a LITTLE food in him though
 
Re: 6/6 Rory +9 106 +10 144 +11 142 pm148 dose help needed

That information is VERY helpful.

I can't give Gabby gravy-type food. It gives her diarrhea. Some cats are sensitive to gluten and Rory may be one of them. In your Friday condo, can you let us know what kind of HC you've tried? I'm assuming you tried to give Rory Karo/corn syrup and maybe honey. There are lots of products that have sugar. We just need to find something that we know Rory will eat.

Are there foods that Rory likes? What did he eat before he was diagnosed with diabetes?
 
Re: 6/6 Rory +9 106 +10 144 +11 142 pm148 dose help needed

I gave him fancy feast sliced or grilled, the ones with gravy. Sorry for the delay answering I havent been here in a couple days.
before he was diagnosed he ate a lot of dry and barely would touch wet food. we always had to chuck it out.. now he only gets wet carb free and nothing gets wasted normally except since this last increase. he sometimes wont eat anything at all
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top